Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Edge of Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Darkest Edge of Dawn

I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Better Part of Darkness) prior to reading this installment. I've been looking forward to this release and was not disappointed. Charlie investigates a dangerous murder mystery, while she is struggling through ...
I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Better Part of Darkness) prior to reading this installment. I've been looking forward to this release and was not disappointed. Charlie investigates a dangerous murder mystery, while she is struggling through the evolution of her alien-manipulated DNA. Reading about parts of Charlie's ordinary life struggles to raise a preteen daughter who is powerful in her own right, is a nice change from the average fantasy heroine who is usually super power, super rich and gets everything handed to her. Not to mentioned, said daughter has her very own hellhound! Who says young girls only dream of owning ponies? My only complaint for this installment is that sometimes Charlie is too dense for her own good. However, what keeps my patience and my attention is no matter how narrow-minded Charlie's view becomes, she compensates by actually learning a lesson and she doesn't repeat the same old patterns. I can't tell you how many series I've banished from my reading list, based solely on the heroine being too-stupid-to-live. I would categorize this as a light SF/heavy dark urban fantasy. In this series the preternatural are actually "off worlders" not just in another dimension but are from a different planet altogether. Some are even from a dark world with a dying moon. The story was twistedly-dark (just like I like 'em) and moved quickly. The action and dark-humor were plenty. There were a few slow parts but they were still interesting. For those Hank lovers........this installment is a must read! Hank is back, and hotter than ever! Having Hank commandeer some interesting matters into his own hands really put some spark and pizzazz into this installment. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book The Hour of Dust & Ashes due out summer of 2011. I'd also like to recommend J.A. Saare- Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between (Barnes & Nobles unfortunately doesn't carry this novel)

posted by kitkat3ny on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing UF with intense characters

I'd give this one 3.5 stars.

Charlie Madigan may be one of the main reasons why the city of Atlanta has endured non-stop darkness for the past few weeks, but she's also trying to desperately fix it. As a special forces cop, Charlie and her siren partner Hank, are onc...
I'd give this one 3.5 stars.

Charlie Madigan may be one of the main reasons why the city of Atlanta has endured non-stop darkness for the past few weeks, but she's also trying to desperately fix it. As a special forces cop, Charlie and her siren partner Hank, are once again called to investigate a mysterious murder only to find that the victims include several high-ranking and highly-powerful off-worlders. Desperate to keep the news of this latest threat under wraps for fear of sparking an all-out war, Charlie and Hank begin searching for clues among the trails of left-over magic. And if the deaths themselves weren't enough to spur them on, the Druid King has set a time-limit on their solving the case before he exacts vengeance for himself. Tricky and delicate.

And if that wouldn't keep a girl busy enough, Charlie's facing some growing pains in her home life as well. Still clueless as how to tell her young daughter Emma that her ex chose to bargain his life with a revenant (who has since taken control of said body), she's flat-out shocked to discover her baby girl wielding some hefty magic of her own. Add in a vivacious sister who has suddenly gone off the deep-end after involuntarily becoming addicted to ash and a partner who'd like to turn their relationship to more than just a professional one and you've got a mess. Charlie's keeping it all together - but only just.

As in THE BETTER PART OF DARKNESS, I was utterly enthralled by the myriad descriptions of the two alien races - the Elysians and Charybdons - and their mythologies. Kelly Gay has crafted an intensely detailed culture for both races and even though I was frantically trying to refresh my memory as to their names/beliefs for the first 50 pages or so, I was still fascinated by all the descriptions. Due to her newly altered DNA, Charlie's got a little bit of both races in her and the constant warring of the disparate magics would be enough to drive anyone crazy but she explains her confusion and self-doubt beautifully. That said, the pacing was still not what I would have liked - usually on the too slow side - but I did like the added bonus of a love-interest for Charlie. Romantic tension was basically zilch for THE BETTER PART OF DARKNESS and I was happy to see that was fixed in THE DARKEST EDGE OF DAWN. In all, a decidedly intriguing urban fantasy with characters to love; you know I'll be watching for book three.

posted by SeeMichelleRead on September 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Darkest Edge of Dawn

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Better Part of Darkness) prior to reading this installment. I've been looking forward to this release and was not disappointed. Charlie investigates a dangerous murder mystery, while she is struggling through the evolution of her alien-manipulated DNA. Reading about parts of Charlie's ordinary life struggles to raise a preteen daughter who is powerful in her own right, is a nice change from the average fantasy heroine who is usually super power, super rich and gets everything handed to her. Not to mentioned, said daughter has her very own hellhound! Who says young girls only dream of owning ponies? My only complaint for this installment is that sometimes Charlie is too dense for her own good. However, what keeps my patience and my attention is no matter how narrow-minded Charlie's view becomes, she compensates by actually learning a lesson and she doesn't repeat the same old patterns. I can't tell you how many series I've banished from my reading list, based solely on the heroine being too-stupid-to-live. I would categorize this as a light SF/heavy dark urban fantasy. In this series the preternatural are actually "off worlders" not just in another dimension but are from a different planet altogether. Some are even from a dark world with a dying moon. The story was twistedly-dark (just like I like 'em) and moved quickly. The action and dark-humor were plenty. There were a few slow parts but they were still interesting. For those Hank lovers........this installment is a must read! Hank is back, and hotter than ever! Having Hank commandeer some interesting matters into his own hands really put some spark and pizzazz into this installment. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book The Hour of Dust & Ashes due out summer of 2011. I'd also like to recommend J.A. Saare- Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between (Barnes & Nobles unfortunately doesn't carry this novel)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing UF with intense characters

    I'd give this one 3.5 stars.

    Charlie Madigan may be one of the main reasons why the city of Atlanta has endured non-stop darkness for the past few weeks, but she's also trying to desperately fix it. As a special forces cop, Charlie and her siren partner Hank, are once again called to investigate a mysterious murder only to find that the victims include several high-ranking and highly-powerful off-worlders. Desperate to keep the news of this latest threat under wraps for fear of sparking an all-out war, Charlie and Hank begin searching for clues among the trails of left-over magic. And if the deaths themselves weren't enough to spur them on, the Druid King has set a time-limit on their solving the case before he exacts vengeance for himself. Tricky and delicate.

    And if that wouldn't keep a girl busy enough, Charlie's facing some growing pains in her home life as well. Still clueless as how to tell her young daughter Emma that her ex chose to bargain his life with a revenant (who has since taken control of said body), she's flat-out shocked to discover her baby girl wielding some hefty magic of her own. Add in a vivacious sister who has suddenly gone off the deep-end after involuntarily becoming addicted to ash and a partner who'd like to turn their relationship to more than just a professional one and you've got a mess. Charlie's keeping it all together - but only just.

    As in THE BETTER PART OF DARKNESS, I was utterly enthralled by the myriad descriptions of the two alien races - the Elysians and Charybdons - and their mythologies. Kelly Gay has crafted an intensely detailed culture for both races and even though I was frantically trying to refresh my memory as to their names/beliefs for the first 50 pages or so, I was still fascinated by all the descriptions. Due to her newly altered DNA, Charlie's got a little bit of both races in her and the constant warring of the disparate magics would be enough to drive anyone crazy but she explains her confusion and self-doubt beautifully. That said, the pacing was still not what I would have liked - usually on the too slow side - but I did like the added bonus of a love-interest for Charlie. Romantic tension was basically zilch for THE BETTER PART OF DARKNESS and I was happy to see that was fixed in THE DARKEST EDGE OF DAWN. In all, a decidedly intriguing urban fantasy with characters to love; you know I'll be watching for book three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Really great

    Watch out laurell k. Hamilton... thers a new girl in town who gives what u no longer can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Love it!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Kelly Dawn is fun. I wouldn't read it alone, start with the first one in the series. Started the third one as soon as I finished Darkest Edge of Dawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I am Enjoying these books.

    This series is different and nice to read. Strong story line. Good showing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action packed magical read

    Two months after the darkness came from the night Mynogan performed the ritual, in which Charlie played a huge part, the darkness is still hanging over Atlanta. Relations between the Charbydon and the law enforcement then between the Charbydon and Elysians is rather shaky. The darkness is making all in the town edgy. Charlie is doing her best at learning to handle and use her newly engineered off-worldly abilities with the help of Aaron. Charlie and Hank are members of a new elite part of the law for dealing with the unruly off-worlders. They are now investigating a dead body, and a case to find six missing top elite Elysian's of the Adonai (a race that will not go down with out a fight, if they even go down) had disappeared to without a trace. The deeper Charlie and Hank go the more they find out, and they are standing in the middle of a deadly battlefield between two powerful races. The secret history of all the races is important. The further Charlie and Hank dig into this case and history they could jeopardize their lives, friends lives, and many relationships... including theirs. Can Charlie solve her case and stop the war from happening? She has one week to do so.

    We dive into the book right as Charlie and Hank are entering the warehouse where one dead body was found. And with in the beginning of the first few chapters you are dropped right into the action and start getting trails for the investigation.

    I have to say Kelly is amazing at filling a book packed full of action. When the actions not in full swing we are digging deep into the great world building. I learned more of the myths and history of the different races. The history and cultures are very nicely drawn out for you to understand, more so towards the end of the book you learn the most.

    As a second book in the series Kelly dives us into the action and gives us the little drops of information to refresh our memories. I like that Kelly doesn't rehash everything from the first book right up front, but uses the events happening now to share that information. This brings us right back up to speed, not even knowing that's what shes doing. The book at times seemed to sway from the plot some, but that is to build the characters more.

    Overall, this is a wonderful action read. I would suggest this book to anyone loving lots of action in their Urban Fantasy reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    AN INTESTING URBAN FANTASY!

    THE DARKEST EDGE OF DAWN by Kelly Gay is an Urban Fantasy set in futuristic Atlanta.It is a follow up to The Better Part of Darkness but is easy to read as a stand alone. It is well written. The plot and dialog is easy to follow, has turns, twists, is fast paced and a page turner. It has kick butt action, sirens, dragons, black magic, Druids, betrayal, explosive secrets,ancient myths,a race against time to stop evil, revenge, power,confrontation,keep the peace, and bring light into a darken Atlanta. The characters are believable, easy to follow,strong, determined, kick butt hero and heroine. If you enjoy fantasy you will enjoy one this because it has everything strong characters, a strong plot and great dialog. This book was received for review from the publisher and details can be found at Simon and Schuster and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!

    This book was my first foray into urban fiction and I must say that I am totally hooked! With kick butt action this is one of those stories that you read so quickly that your finished long before you want to be.
    I didn't read the first book in this series and it took me a bit to figure out backgrounds of the characters but after a few chapters I was given enough info to follow this story easily.
    I loved the protagonist in this story, Charlie is a very strong character but has vulnerabilities just like the rest of us, she is a single mom with ex-hubby issues that makes her character very easy to relate to, and who knows about the relationship between her and Hank, heck he's funny and sexy with an unpredictable edginess, whats not to love?
    I loved when the hell hound attacked Hank early in the book and then turns on Charlie, but instead of attacking her it actually starts licking and drooling all over her because it smelled her hell hound , Brimstone on her and then making sure the hell hound was returned to Charbydon instead of being destroyed showed Charlie's softer side.
    A book with hell hounds, sirens, nymphs, and necromancers raising the dead all I can say is I loved it, and for anyone who likes edgy, fast paced,urban fantasies with unstoppable action pick up this book you won't regret it!
    I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher for review but in no way does that alter my opinion of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Rockin' UF Read!

    I have to say that I really enjoyed the second installment of Charlie Madigan's story. Not only does the cover rock but so does the action. The first book, The Better Part of Darkness we were first introduced to Charlie, her family and friends as well as her enemies. These characters are back in non-stop action which doesn't let up until the last few pages of the book. Plus, what is great is that it does open things up for another book in this series without leaving you with a cliffhanger. Oh, and I so do want to read more in this series.

    What I also liked is that we get to know a bit more about her yummy Siren partner, Hank. Just with them exploring their relationship as friends and surprisingly and hopefully more (okay, I'm hoping for more) you find times of humor and a little bit of sexy tension. Their relationship can only get more complicated and more interesting as the series goes on.

    I also HAVE to mention the hellhound, Brimstone. Since I'm someone who clearly loves large dogs I couldn't help rooting for the sweet slobbery dangerous hellhound we found at the end of the first book. He reminds me of a misunderstood pit bull. Loveable and loyal to the family, but protective until the end.

    I give this book 5 stars. You will be on a fast and dark ride from page one until the end. Can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charlie Madigan Maintains Feminity While Kicking Butt!

    The Darkest Edge of Dawn by Kelly Gay

    Charlie Madigan is a female protagonist that takes no prisoners. In a world that deals with off world beings who have inspired a great deal of human mythology, Charlie thought she was normal. In he first book of this series she discovers that normalcy may not be attainable. In this book she and her partner, Hank, deal with an egocentric off world being with delusions of grandeur.

    Charlie is a single mother for all intents and purposes. Emma her daughter and Bryn her sister are her points of vulnerability. She has a love/professional relationship with Hank. Charlie worries whether her attraction to her partner is a result of succumbing to his abilities as a siren and extraordinarily handsome or due to him being a genuinely good guy. Charlie's self expectations are well beyond reason, she cuts herself no slack. I enjoyed the complexity of her feelings which Gay clearly showed. Most endearing is her loyalty and love for family and those close to her. Least appealing is her unwillingness to let her self reliance slack and get help from those who want to help her.

    The off world influence on human mythology and history is an intriquing aspect to the series. I recommend that you read The Better Part of Darkness which is the first book in the series. I have linked to my review of that book below. They can be read out of order but I think you will enjoy both books more if you read them in order.


    I love butt kicking female protagonists and Charlie kicks butts with as much gusto as Jennifer Estep's Gin.

    I highly recommend the book.

    Web Site: http://www.kellygay.com/

    Urban fantasy, crime, murder, aliens, dragon, nymph,

    http://bookrevues.blogspot.com/2009/12/blog-post.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3