Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Evening of the Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Really good

    If you love animals and if you love Dean Koontz, you will LOVE this book. A little tamer than some of his past works, but I actually enjoyed that about it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Goldens and Dean's books

    This book is Dean Koontz at his best. But then again, all his books are. There are few authors that I enjoy as much as I do Dean Koontz and have read them all evr since the first one I picked up; The Watchers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Twisted

    The book was wonderful. You fall in love with the personality of all of the characters. The bad characters give you a weird detached from the world feeling, and the good one's give you the same feeling. It is a very grabbing book, I could hardly put it down to go to work. Definitely worth the read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Guilty as charged.

    Koontz is my guilty indulgence. He draws you in and makes it impossible to stop reading. He's pretentious, though. In this book, he did a great job explaining how dog rescues work within the context of the story. However, when educating readers about Second Life or the inner workings of lighthouses, he writes in a condescending tone. Granted, his books aren't scholarly works or anything, but should he, as the author, really be assuming total idiocy of his readership? This is a common problem, not exclusive to this book. A problem with this book in particular is just the way it all wraps up way too quickly and conveniently in the end. One of the things I loved about Koontz was that his books all had a scientific explanation, or if they had a supernatural bent it was more of a suggestion or possibility. I got really frustrated with the lack of mystery in this novel. All that said, I read the book in less than a day and enjoyed doing so very much. GREAT beach read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Darkest Evening of the Year

    Dean Koontz is a master of keeping you on your toes. I have read many of his books, but this one is so touching. Any fan of Mr. Koontz should read this. In my opinion, it's one of his best. You will laugh, cry and get angry all at once.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for dog and miracle lovers

    It was hard to read at first with all the jumping around and learning characters that you didn't understand why you were learning about them but it all makes since in the end. It was a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed reading

    This book was really good, however, it would have been even better if the ending didn't feel so rushed. I enjoyed the characters immensely and thought that the story line was unique and well thought out. I must say that there are some really violent scenes in this book that might be disturbing for some people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    please read

    i loved this story. not typical koontz, maybe that is what makes it special.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A-MAZING

    Absolutely amazing, this book has it all, love, hate, cruelty and passion. but it is not for the faint of heart. id like to say id recomend it to everyone, it may be hard for some to follow. it has all the elements of a good mystery, but yet its more realistic fiction, so see for yourself and read The Darkest Evening of the Year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I really loved this title, much more so than Mr. Koontz's last two releases, THE GOOD GUY and THE HUSBAND. Although this title follows in the same vein as regards to time (it only covers roughly 48-hours), it has characters who are easier to relate to and a chilling, supernatural-based storyline.<BR/><BR/>As the other reviewer mentions, it's a kind of memorial to Mr. Koontz's own Golden Retreiver, Trixie, who has passed away. In the book, a dog named Nickie is at the center of the story, along with the humans that she must protect.<BR/><BR/>This is an emotional thriller with some pretty messed-up bad guys, and if you like that type of story, you'll love this one, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    amazing

    I couldnt put it down. It was just an amazing page turner. Awesome ending. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    not a big fan of Dean koontz but this book was good

    not a big fan of Dean koontz but this book was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This was undoubtedly the stupidist book ever written. I had to r

    This was undoubtedly the stupidist book ever written. I had to read the whole thing to see if it ever got any better or made any sense. I even gave it to a friend to have another opinion.
    Same thing, a very badly written book. I will not read another Dean Koontz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Meh

    It's no "Watchers". Too creepy for me...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    I own the hard copy of this and I didnt think I would like it, but, it kept me on my toes wondering what was next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    loved it

    great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A great nook purchase. Dean Koontz again at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Dean Koontz at his best!

    This book has twists and turns galore and will get you hooked from the very beginning. There are definitely some disturbing characters and situations, but the good in the story definitely shines through. Don't miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great book

    :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11