Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Evening of the Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This was undoubtedly the stupidist book ever written. I had to r

    This was undoubtedly the stupidist book ever written. I had to read the whole thing to see if it ever got any better or made any sense. I even gave it to a friend to have another opinion.
    Same thing, a very badly written book. I will not read another Dean Koontz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    I have read most of his books and have been quite pleased. This was a complete disappointment. Basically, it was all about his love affair with the Golden Retriever dogs, with the flimsy plot line added as an afterthought. The story line had good potential (but undeveloped) - the dog story should have been a supporting theme not the other way around.<BR/>Is this a dissertation on the cruel treatment of dogs or a novel?<BR/>Very mixed up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    it was just..okay

    I did read it in one day. I did like the message about shelter dogs and dog breeders. If one person gets a shelter dog after reading this book, that would be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Worst Koontz ever

    This will be the last Koontz book I will ever read. He has two predictable plot lines that have been overused for years: 1) two people in a scary situation, then he spends the rest of the book explaining why and 2) some kind of government conspiracy that he spends the rest of the book explaining. Add to that the droning on and on about dogs and how wonderful they are - he spends more time and emotion on the death of a dog than the death of a child - makes this one of the most boring books I ever read. The ending is completely unbelievable, and reads like he just threw it in without any thought. He may as will have said 'And everyone lived happily ever after. The End. But the thing I hated most about this book was the way he used one of my favorite author's characters as aliases for the bad guy. Billy Pilgrim, Eliot Rosewater and Dwayne Hoover are all characters in Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. books. Vonnegut was a genius at humor and cynicism. I think he was the Mark Twain of my generation, and Koontz should be ashamed for using him in such a way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Skip It!

    I was so eager to read this book, but once I started I had to force myself to finish it! It was not at all what I expected, with far too much fantasy and not enough mystery, and the inclusion of morbid abuse of a mentally handicapped child really turned me off! Skip this title, folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    what in the world?

    I started this book and I could not finish it. It was so boring. The opening scene is awful and by the middle I just gave up. Not one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    'Skip it' is absolutely correct. I am very disappointed in Mr. Koonz latest novel and in fact found it so unpleasant to read I stopped halfway through and put it in the trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    VERY disappointing

    No character building in this book, so you don't grow fond of any of the characters. The story goes round and round without anything happening to keep you interested. I've read every book published by Dean Koontz and this book is obviously pushing the limits. Great disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Not worth the price

    I love dogs, and I was intrigued to see a book that incorporated the love of dogs into the theme. On the other hand, I was completely horrified to find out that this was a drawn out book about nothing. I was unable to connect with the characters, and the plot was not inspiring. I read the whole book hoping for something to grab me, but nothing did. I wish I would have invested my time in something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1