BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Evening of the Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Meh

    It's no "Watchers". Too creepy for me...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    For the first time I was not happy

    I love Dean Koontz's writing. Been reading his books for over 20 years. I especially love any book that features a dog as a supporting role (and as you know, he has many that do). This particular story was engrossing, exciting, funny, sad, and I could not wait to find out how it ends. How it ended was nothing short of a disspointment. It was as if Mr. Koontz realized he had only 2 pages of print left and had to end it fast. Right up until the very end it held me in its grips and then dropped me like a hot pototoe. I realize that not every book will be 5 Stars. But I feel it's only fair to spare someone the agoney I felt if possible. The same goes for Breathless -- just finished -- save your time. Read the Frankinstien Books instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Koontz is Reaching

    I'm a Dean Koontz fan, but this book seems like. . .well, filler, as if he just needed to get another book out so he rehashed a common book theme and used it as a platform to talk about animal abuse. It was slow, and hard to get through and the ending was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    LUDICROUS

    This book was simply ludicrous. And I never understood why Nickie didn't protect the first family (battered wife and children). The one thing going for this novel is the message against puppy-mills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    (cough) One Door Away From Heaven (cough)

    Although I am a big Koontzer,but I found 2007 to be a horrid year for the big guy. The Good Guy was just horrible, and The Darkest Evening of the Year is simply a darker version of One Door Away From Heaven. The stories have many parallels and are simply done with a few new subplots. It's still entertaining, but nothing new or that great here. It's okay to leave this on the shelf, just pick up the Odd Thomas series because those are still fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Don't judge a book by it's cover

    I bought this book because I thought it would be a change of pace from my usual genre(Nora Roberts). It was disappointing and a bit confusing. Anti-climactic in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    silly

    received as a present - enjoy most books by this author but this one was a complete snooze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Descriptive Disaster

    I received this novel as a present having previously enjoyed his book 'Watchers,' but as I turned the pages I found that this time his book about a Golden Retriever lacked substance and creativity. Koontz tried to develop a cyclical plot but instead ended up spiralling down in to the final predictable fizzle. His vivid descriptions of the setting initially catch the readers' attention, but then it dries up as he overdraws his imagination and reuses the same metaphors repeatedly. While conceptually appealing, the book was poorly executed resulting in just another mediocre novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Not my favorite Koontz book

    This book never quite took flight. The villains, really evil with no real explanation, and the heroes are never fully illustrated. When one pivotal memory is recounted, it's a letdown. The ending fizzles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Here He Goes Again

    Oh look! Koontz has written another book with humans and dogs--how original. If you read Watchers, then you read a great novel but since then, the majority of Koontz's novels have dealt with a man, a woman, and a dog mixed in with a cataclysmic event. He needs to stop rehashing old plot lines and start writing new material--and until he does, I'll just keep bypassing him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    to much cruelty

    The story wasn't bad but a little hard to follow. I didn't like the cruelty that was depicted in the book but this seems to be a Koontz format. Burning people alive in their home, torturing a young girl. Isn't there enough horrible things going on in our world without giving people more ideas?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Not his best work

    I am used to great character development, to the point where I typically become attached and cannot wait to turn the page. I bought this because I like the Dean Koontz style. This was like reading the work of an up and coming apprentice and not the master I know him to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Possibly Koontz's worst book

    If you like books dealing with burning people's houses down and listening to them burn to death, torturing a Down's Syndrome child, senseless killing just for fun, this is the book for you. If, however, you find things like this disgusting, skip this one. Koontz failed this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Where is the old Koontz

    This book was hard to finish, heard early reviews and thought t would be so much better, skimmed alot, story was hard to get through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2