Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Evening of the Year

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Really good

    If you love animals and if you love Dean Koontz, you will LOVE this book. A little tamer than some of his past works, but I actually enjoyed that about it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for dog and miracle lovers

    It was hard to read at first with all the jumping around and learning characters that you didn't understand why you were learning about them but it all makes since in the end. It was a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed reading

    This book was really good, however, it would have been even better if the ending didn't feel so rushed. I enjoyed the characters immensely and thought that the story line was unique and well thought out. I must say that there are some really violent scenes in this book that might be disturbing for some people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    please read

    i loved this story. not typical koontz, maybe that is what makes it special.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A-MAZING

    Absolutely amazing, this book has it all, love, hate, cruelty and passion. but it is not for the faint of heart. id like to say id recomend it to everyone, it may be hard for some to follow. it has all the elements of a good mystery, but yet its more realistic fiction, so see for yourself and read The Darkest Evening of the Year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    I own the hard copy of this and I didnt think I would like it, but, it kept me on my toes wondering what was next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Nice!

    This is a super book, especially if youre a dog lover. I loved it! Well, Im only haf way done...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    awesome.

    great book. hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was Disappointed!!!!

    I was DISAPPOINTED at the end!!! It worked you up for this huge ending then it let you down!!! VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    The Darkest Evening of the Year Dean Koontz

    This book is about a young woman who goes and saves animals that are being abused in the beginning she finds a golden retriever that has been being abused and so have the kinds and the mother of that family. She takes the dog, kids, and mother and takes them to a safe place.
    Description and summary of main points
    The story will keep your interest quite well you find out about more of the characters in around chapter 10 or 11 and it gets kind of hard to fallow but you understand as you keep flipping the pages.
    Evaluation
    More less you find out about many different things at different times.
    Conclusion
    You get to finally find out what happens and at the end you find out exactly why this book is called the darkest evening of the year.
    Your final review
    My final review on this book is that it's really good it will make you want to keep turning pages to find out what is going to happen. I think that this book is good for 8th and up because it has a bit of language in it and has some violence and other things that happen might not be appropriate for younger ages. I thought this book was really good even though at first it was kind of hard to fallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    The Darket Evening of the Year is a great book

    The Darkest Evening of the Year<BR/>Chapter 62<BR/><BR/>The title of this book is referring to the night that the climax of the book happens in.<BR/><BR/>The whole book is suspenseful, but I like this chapter because the suspense in this chapter was better than the rest of the book. I also like this chapter because it has a lot of action which continues into the next couple of chapters. The action in this chapter includes shooting and a car chase. <BR/><BR/>One symbol that I found was the poem lines that keep being repeated.<BR/>They are symbolizing one of the characters thoughts and his memories. They are also symbolizing that the end is near, meaning something bad is going to happen to him.<BR/><BR/>One literary device in this chapter is simile. In some of the poem lines that keep being repeated, there are similes. They are using like in the sentences to compare two things that are not similar, but can be in one important way. It is important because it is symbolizing something.<BR/><BR/>I think this book is appropriate for the 14 through 16 year age group.<BR/>I really liked this book because it has suspense, action, and it is thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    People Who Love Dogs Go to Heaven...

    As always, Koontz does not disappoint. His love of his golden retriever, whose sweet presence is shown with Mr. Koontz on the inside back cover of every one of his books I think, shines in every page of this piece. Everyone who has dearly loved a pet will appreciate the main characters in this work! What better way to show unconditional love and a glimpse of heaven than to use a sweet golden as a center character in Koontz's typically intricate web of stories that reveal threads of good and evil, that make you shudder at the evil inside yourself, but that bring a tear of joy in the end when the good triumphs. I just know Dean Koontz is a bright, positive, and marvelous spirit because even in his darkest portrayals of human nature there is hope and faith in something better that's coming. And at the end of this book as with all the others I wept with thankfulness for that hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    A Good Read

    I confess...I'm a big Dean Koontz fan. Every time a new Koontz thriller comes out, I eagerly rush out, purchase it, and read it in just a few days. His books have always had interesting twists and turns, good character development, and they're just plain fun. When I discovered The Darkest Evening of the Year, I was thrilled. A new Koontz novel, and an added bonus: it features a beautiful dog. I love dogs, so the combination sounded perfect. Unfortunately, the book did not live up to all of my expectations. The Darkest Evening of the Year did provide some interesting plot turns and for the most part, was an interesting read. I was quickly drawn into the story and wanted to learn what evil was lurking just behind the door. The main characters are Amy Redwing, a dog lover who rescues golden retrievers, and a dog she finds in an abusive situation, Nickie, who enters the story in the first few chapters. There is something very odd about this wonderful dog, but what is it? This book is not one of Koontz' best. It's not unsatisfying, but it has a few flaws. It was a fast read and I truly enjoyed the plot. What I had a real problem with were the breaks in the story to preach about dogs and dog rescue. These frequent breaks completely killed the mood of the book and instead of being drawn into the mysterious world of Amy and Nickie, I felt like I was reading a manual on proper dog care. Yes, Mr. Koontz, I understand, you're a dog lover, as am I. But you don't need to preach, especially in a suspense novel. These interjections of 'save the dogs' off-plot mini lectures really broke the flow of the story. For example, one passage read 'Amy Redwing knew that dogs who were sent to shelters had little chance of ....' and then continued for over a page about the horrible fate of shelter dogs. Please leave the dog preaching to dog rescue groups and just tell a good story. I also found the ending weak and disappointing. It was as if the author suddenly got tired of the story and wanted it finished immediately. The way the book concluded left me wanting a more detailed explanation of what happened. Quill says: A fun read but definitely not up to Koontz's usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    A Good but slower paced story!

    This book was good but it was usually slow paced for Koontz. It was almost like his passion in this one was putting dogs into the story somehow and wrapping the rest around that. The ending was good by adding a bit of the afterlife into the story. I can see him adding a second part to this one because it seemed to me that the story was barley told but I may be wrong on that. I would say check it out if you have the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Loved it

    This was the first Dean Koontz novel I've ever read and I was blown away. My brother in-law lent it to me for the flight home and I couldn't stop reading it. I loved the story, loved the characters, loved it all. Was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    DIFFERENT BUT GOOD!

    I did enjoy this book very much it was a real page turner. This book does seem different then a lot of dean kootz's sci-fi style. The only thing i will say is that i got to the climax of the book and was kind of disapointed by the ending, too far fetched. If you read dean kootz a lot you will know most of his books seem far fetched. I think he could have found another way to end it that seemed a little more believable. The other thing in this book that kind of annoyed me is he goes on and on about dog lover's and their interpritation of dogs. I do find with a lot of his books can be too detailed, but i still like him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Really Great

    I got this book and couldn't put it down. It is really a wonderful story and has a strange ending. A good suspence novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Highly addicting

    The Darkest Evening of the Year, by Dean Koontz, is a suspense thriller that once again captivates the minds of all that read. Koontz is wildly popular for being able to pull in a reader from the first page and making it nearly impossible for the reader to put the book down. Every single page turned uncovers a new twist to the plot, and reveals so little of what is actually going on. Amy Redwing is an avid dog lover, caring woman, and particularly curious at times. Through either fate or pure luck, Amy happens upon a beautiful golden retriver that takes her through many mysterious experiences throughout the book. Every single person who meets the new dog, named Nikkie, seems to be completely and utterly spellbound by her, and some are captivated even though they have never seen her. One writing style typical of Koontz is telling the same story from multiple points of view at the same time, which can make the book even more captivating as you can see for yourself what each person is the story is thinking, and what it is like to see the world from their point of view. Not only does the story focus on Amy and Nickie, but also upon a few other characters as well, such as Harrow, Moongirl, and Vernon, who all have their seperate yet important parts in the main plot. The story keeps unfolding as many strange and unexplainable events begin to happen, and every character is effected my them. The plot throughout the book slowly twists and turns just enough to make it completely impossible to predict what is soon to come, and nearly every page brings a whole brand new surprise to you. As you progress through the pages of the book, you will slowly uncover all of the secrets of the events that have been happening, and eventually discover the secret behind the mysterious dog. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody that enjoys a suspenseful, yet captivating story that will keep you turning the pages long after you determine you are going to stop reading. Nothing is perfect, however, and there was one major downfall that I found in the book. The ending of the book is very abrupt, and doesn't seem quite as well thought up as the rest of the book. But regardless of how the book ends, it is well worth reading. This certainly isn't the best Dean Koontz book I've ever read, but it's a good read by a good author, who always manages to keep my ensnared in his storytelling web.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Loved it!

    I was a little reluctant to read this. I am a dog lover. But this was a really good read. Don't let the cover stop you from picking this one up. You won't be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Different but still great

    This is certainly one of the most unusual but ultimately satisfying thrillers I've come across recently. Koontz's greatest triumph is creating such an improbably complex and engaging character in Nickie. The suspense builds at a masterful pace as we become ever more emotionally involved in the story. By the time I turned the last page, I was glad to have taken this journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3