Customer Reviews for

Darkest Hour (Cutler Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Why Lillian hates Dawn

    Since everyone is wondering why Lillian hates Dawn so much, heres why: Lillian's husband raped Randolph's wife Laura Sue and she became pregnant with Dawn and it brought great shame to the Cutler name so she makes Daddy Longchamp and Sally "kiddnap" Dawn. And when Lillian dies she says that Dawn is her curse. So stop givin Lillian a hard time. basically the cause of the whole curse is Lillian causing Violet to die in childbirth is the start of the family curse. And it goes down to Dawn and then to Christie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    It has been almost twenty years the last time I read this book. Funny when you think you can remember the stories that you had read but when I saw that this series was available I was so excited. It was like reading a new book and I could not wait to read it again. I felt compassion for Lillian even when I had read the first three books of the the Cutler series. You just hoped that she stayed that wonderful girl as a woman but then we would never have the first four awesome books. You must read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Good Book

    I took two stars because for one, it doesn't explain why Lillian was so cruel & nasty to Dawn. If anything, I hated Lillian even more after reading this book. I don't understand why she felt the need to torture Dawn & send her to that devil of a sister knowing how she was. What did Dawn ever do to her? Also, I am pretty annoyed by the lack of justice in VC Andrews books. Emily eventually dies of a heart attack, but overall, she never paid for any of the horrible things she did to Dawn or Lillian. They never got their justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Very Good! I highly recommend the whole series.

    As always, I couldnt stop reading! All the horrible things that happened to Lillian are so sad. But it still left me with some unanswered questions. Why was Lillian so cruel to Dawn? Why hadnt she taken Charolette when her father died? How come she never talked about writing Henry or Luella and recieving letters to tell us what happened with them? (I know its not as important but I still wonder.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    When i got to the last of the cutler books and saw what it was about it, i didn't want to read it

    but i happen to always read the whole series and this couldn't be the exception. So i went ahead and read, it was boring at first. But towards the mid-beginning it got so good, i couldn't stop reading. I like this book, it's also very sad, but i wonder how come Lillian was so evil to Dawn, since she had a similar past. Wasn't she supposed to be loving and caring? And why didn't she return to the plantation after her Papa's death to get Charlotte? I would only recommend this book if you read the four previous ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    Darkest Hour (Cutler Series #5)

    I've read the first two books and the fourth book in the Cutler series and the final book was just as amazing as the others. This time though, we take a look into the life of Lillian. She was Dawn's Grandmother in the first two books. Taking a look into her life made me feel much sympathy for her. She lived on a plantation with slaves, but she was very kind to everybody. Her older sister Emily was an evil god-fearing tyrant, just like Lillian's father. Darkest Hour followed the usual VC Andrews plot, the main character is irrsitably beautiful and everyone loves her. She gets older, hits puberty early, falls in love, loses a loved one, get's raped, has a secret child, get's married. Although this book tried to break out of the ordinary, which was a good change. We were allowed into Lillian's mind and felt her emotions. I cried when she cried, and laughed when she laughed. This is an excellent novel if you just want to take a day and relax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Darkest Hour (Cutler Series #5)

    I've read the first two books and the 4th book in this series and boy let me tell you it's one that kept me on the edge. When I finally read the Darkest Hour it took me by surprised and captivated me. I cried during Eugenia's funeral and sobbed when Henry left. This is an very emotional book. Although it did take on the classic VC Andrews plot of, girl getting raped, getting pregnant, and having the baby in secret. This book let us get into Lillian's head long enough to feel her emotions and that is what makes this a classic. I do believe that you can read this series either way. You can start with this book, the Darkest Hour, or you can start with Dawn. Personally I began with Midnight Whispers. This series will keep you captivated with the world of the Cutler's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    wow

    wow this book was amazing.. i couldnt believe most of the stuff that happend to her i just wanted to hurt emily and papa they didnt deserve to live.. i hated the way it ended though cause she didnt get the life she wanted she got the one she had to have.. but i literally cried when i read it i started to read the book where dawns the grandmother of a girl who wants to go to a big university in new york but in it dawn is just a mean old woman thats kinda a big disappointment.. well i guess many people hae there own opinions this is mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    #5

    I wasn't as impressed with this book as I was with the other 4. I had touble getting into it, but I finished it because I had to see what happened. I thought there would be an answer as to why Lillian was the way she was to Dawn, but there wasn't. You're supposed to feel sorry for her, but I thought she of all people should have loved Dawn. I'm not sure why it was written. It didn't clear things up for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    A good book, but too many problems

    I enjoyed this book more than the rest of the books in the Cutler series, but I would've enjoyed it more if it did not have so many inconsistencies in it. I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but I recommend that if you read this series, read this book first. My theory is that they changed ghost writers in the middle of this series and the Landry series as well. So if you don't want to be confused (by me or the books) read the prequel first!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    BAH HA HA

    I know I typed up a review for this once more. But I read it again, and im going through a typing reviews craze. It made me cry for like a half hour with the Niles stuff. It made me so upset with what happened with Eugenia. I know that Lillian went through alot. But I dont see her excuse. Why should she condemn Dawn the same way she was judged? Ive never hated a character as much as I hated Emily. She was a stupid STUPID bible tyrant. Oh yeah and Papa was stupid also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    The Best Book Ever

    I love this book. It so not fair that Emily always gets her ways. Why did Eugena have to be sick? Why couldn't it be Emily? Maybe then she wouldn't be able to talk so much dumb stuff about Lillian. I think this is an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Darkest Hour (Cutler Series #5)

    When i was with some friends at a migrant camp, we were helping for a week, we found "Darkest Hour". Once we started reading it, we couldn't put it down. We were reading it to each other whenever we could. We didn't finish the book, but we're all trying to find it now!!!! It was so good, it kept us on the edge of our seats, literally(we read half of it while in a car). Its a great read, but its not for all ages(at least not young kids).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Darkest Hour (Cutler Series #5)

    Like many others, the book made me wont to jump in and hit some of the characters!!! It's that intense. Some people might not like it, but man, even people who don't like the topic would be able to enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    ONE OF THE BEST

    I was so lost in this world. I cryed when I found out what happened to Niles and whenever Emily did what she did to Cotton I wanted to jump right in the world and beat her to a bloody pulp. She has a very delusional view of what God wants. Papa is too wrapped up in trying to please his ancestorial name, which in my opinion stands only for hatred and cruelty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Unforgettable

    I read this book about three years ago. I love to read, so I've read a lot of books. But none have come close to this one. It's feeled with such happiness and pain. It is also such a tragedy. I cried and cried when I read about the youngest sister dying. There is so much loss and heartache you can't help but feel the pain the main character is going through. I never would have guessed it would have turned out as tragic as it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Darkest Hour

    This book was good but it didn't catch my attention like the rest of the books I read. It was a sad story with lots of tears. I'm more into the action books so if you like action I wouldn't recommend this book. To me it was more of a sad novel than a romantic novel. If you're ready for a good cry then this is the book for you. The title pretty much speaks for itself. I rated this a three star because it wasn't good enough for a four but it wasn't as bad for a two,it was right in the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    Was an excellent mind boggling experience

    The whole story line was very good but reminded me very much of the previous work done by the true Virginia Andrews, The Cutler series was in short alot like the series 'Dollganger' and 'Casteel' Series. However you will enjoy it all the same and feel lost once the series has been read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    A Pretty Good Book

    Darkest Hour was a pretty good book, but it made me cry, and I really never cry. I think that Lillian lived a horrible life, and it was really upseting. Besides that it was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    a great book by V.C.

    This was the first book i have read by V.C. Andrews,I just loved it and couldent put it down. my bestfriend told me about the book and others written by V.C. I am now in the middle of reading flowers in the attic, i enjoy it also. i hope its as good as the first V.C .book i read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2