Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(289)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Gena Showalter continues to make her unique mark in paranormal romance with THE DARKEST KISS, Book #2 in her Lords Of The Underworld series for HQN 'June 2008'. In Budapest, Lucien, the leader of a group of immortal warriors who have all been possessed by a different demon lord for opening Pandora¿s Box centuries ago, humors his men with one last night on the town at a local nightclub before they go in search for the missing Pandora¿s Box. As the keeper of Death, Lucien has eschewed softer emotions, so that he can effectively do his duty -- escort souls to heaven. . . or hell. Anya is the Goddess of Anarchy and cannot help but create chaos where ever she goes, never taking herself seriously. So why the beautiful, mischievous Anya is attracted to the dark, scarred Lucien with the unusual colored eyes 'one brown/one blue' is puzzling even to her. Anya flirts outrageously with Lucien and first convinces him to dance with her and then kiss her. Lucien is totally wary of the sexy Anya, who could have any man she wants, and thinks she must be Bait sent by human Hunters, who want to capture all the warriors to trap their demons back inside the box. When Cronus, the King of the Titans, arrives and catches them together, he orders Lucien to kill Anya or all the Lords will suffer. However, Anya, who possesses a special All-Key that Cronus wants, manages to escape since she has the ability to flash herself anywhere just like Lucien does. Little does Lucien know, Anya is also cursed and is not as wild as she seems. Lucien and Anya combine forces by flashing themselves all over the world to seek four ancient artifacts: the All-seeing Eye, the Cloak of Invisibility, The Cage of Compulsion and the Paring Rod that will assist them in finding Pandora¿s Box and destroying it before Hunters can use it against them. Through terrifically witty verbal repartee they are constantly battling their attraction for each other but soon give in to burning passion. As a bonus to this fantastic primary romance, there is also the brilliant set up for two other Lords love stories: Reyes, Keeper of Pain 'THE DARKEST PLEASURE/June 2008' and Paris, Keeper of Promiscuity '11/09'. THE DARKEST KISS really showcases all of Gena Showalter¿s wonderful writing talents 'endearing, dark, quirky, hot, touching and sexy' into an absolutely phenomenal complex paranormal tale!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly addictive!

    I was totally blown away by Anya and Lucien... I had a big smile on my face the whole time I was reading this book. The main characters journey of love and hate kept me awake until the wee hours of the morning, turning page after page.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously, who couldn't like a romance about the not so minor kl

    Seriously, who couldn't like a romance about the not so minor kleptomaniac goddess of anarchy getting with the up-tight and boring demon of death?

    It's got all the right things I look for in a book like this-good characters,amazing back story, a quick-paced plot, and an awesome romantic pairing--and was completely disappointed to see it come to an end. :( So, obviously, I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Amazing

    This was the first book that I read by Gena a few years back and I fell in love with the world she created and her writing stlye. I loved every moment of it. If you had to choose which one to read from her, this one is the one to choose. I can picture all of it in my head perfectly without even thinking about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Death and Anarchy Reign!!!

    Anya is SUCH a tease in this book! LOL She and Death make a very interesting pair; loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!!!

    This book/series is so wonderful!! I will buy more of her books from here on out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Okay, I loved this book. I could put it down a little more then the other two books but this one was still great. It still gets five stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellant Read

    I truly enjoyed this book, as well as all the other Lords of the Underworld books. The story is so very unusual both exicting and sensual at times. Many different turns so it was hard to see exactly how things would end. The characters are all so very different opening up so many different possibilities for future books. Loved it and can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Need to check it our!!

    This book is great! But, you need to read all look for Lords Of The Underworld. They are fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Lucian is delicious!

    A great addition to the Lords of the Underworld series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Vote in reviews!

    Dont know why but i would love a hot boyfriend thats a demon. Just sounds so..... hot. Vote time! X= cute boyfriend thats a demon. O= cute boyfriend thats an angel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great story, great main characters, wonderful introduction and further development of supporting characters. A must read if you like the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Suegujolgcius bius



    L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Awesome

    Yet another fantastic book by Gena. Keep them coming!!! Who next Kane or Torin or Cameo?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    a fun continuation, I'm really liking this series and can't wait

    a fun continuation, I'm really liking this series and can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!

    Loved it!! Loved It!!! Loved it!!!! My favorite of the series!! I started with book 9 about Paris, not knowing it was a series. (got it from Walmart) I instantly loved the other characters and realized it was a series. I finished that book and immediately started at the beginning. I loved the cat-and-mouse chase of Lucien and Anya!!!! The cage and memory part was lack luster, seemed a little rushed to finish but I loved it anyway!!! I love this series! This book is my personal favorite of the bunch! There weren't enough interactions between the two in the rest of the series. I high recommend this book and the whole series!!! Ready for the Angels Series coming in July!!!! Showalter fan!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    I highly recommed

    The Lords of the Underworld series is very addicting! After the first series I couldn't wait to get to the next. MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Series is a must read!

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    loved it the story was great better then the first book and i cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loooooooved it

    WOW. I absolutely LOVED this book...I am hooked on this series, and cannot put it down! Highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15