Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 758 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(467)

4 Star

(199)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Darkest Lie is a strong entry in a deep darkening romantic urban fantasy series.

Like the other Lords of the Underworld who released Pandora's Box, Gideon hosts a demon as his punishment. He is the keeper of Lies, which denotes unbelievable agony if he tells the truth. The Lord of Lies also has the ability to detect when someone else fabricates.
...
Like the other Lords of the Underworld who released Pandora's Box, Gideon hosts a demon as his punishment. He is the keeper of Lies, which denotes unbelievable agony if he tells the truth. The Lord of Lies also has the ability to detect when someone else fabricates.

At their Budapest fortress, Scarlet Keeper of Nightmares arrives claiming she is Gideon's wife. He is stunned because not only can he not remember her, he cannot tell if she is lying. His demon Lies is ecstatic with the saucy sassy sexy siren; Gideon wants her too but is much more cautious as he knows he must speak lies or feel the crippling pain. Hunters close in again while his teammates fear how Gideon behaves with Scarlet as a woman scorned is deadly so they want her dead but the Gods interfere with his truth seduction scheme.

Gideon is one of the more fascinating of the Underworld warriors as he talks in lies so needs a special woman who can translate what he is saying. He hopes Scarlet proves that she is that extraordinary female who knows when her beloved says hate he means love, but fears she will believe hate means hate. The story line is fast-paced but it is the characters who make it work as the audience receives an insider look at the Showalter pantheon with Gods like Cronos intruding. Fans of the saga will appreciate the tale of team Gidlet wondering if they will kill each other as The Darkest Lie is a strong entry in a deep darkening romantic urban fantasy series.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as confusing as I thought

Thought I would have to really think about what was being said but not so since he speaks lies. This one was similiar to the rest in the series, however they to bring in a few other of the Titan Goddesses, they also get into hell. The plot is still good, however I don...
Thought I would have to really think about what was being said but not so since he speaks lies. This one was similiar to the rest in the series, however they to bring in a few other of the Titan Goddesses, they also get into hell. The plot is still good, however I don't feel the story progressed as much as I would have liked to see. I do look forward to finding out what happens to Amun and if he is savable.

posted by GtzLstNRding on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Good read, great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Lies

    Great addition to the lotu series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    A Great Addition to the Series Gideon is the immortal keeper of

    A Great Addition to the Series

    Gideon is the immortal keeper of the Demon of Lies. He can only speak lies because if he speaks the truth then he suffers unbearable pain and takes days to recover. Not an enjoyable pastime. How frustrating must it be to speak only in lies and never be understood by anyone except his friends, the other immortals who are keepers of demons? According to Gideon, it’s very frustrating and it’s irritating for his friends to listen to him and try to decipher his Gideon-speak.

    Even more frustrating is his love life. When he says, ‘Don’t tell me what you like,’ he really wants to know what a woman likes, but she thinks he doesn’t want to know, so she stays silent while he tries to guess. Not much of an ego boost. Until Scarlet, the keeper of the Demon of Nightmares, is captured and she tells him he is her husband. He doesn’t remember getting married, so now he has a mystery to solve, one that involves the incredibly sexy Scarlet who may or may not be his wife. While he’s off doing that his friends are off on their own missions and the war between the Lords of the Underworld and the Hunters heats up even further.

    Another homerun in the Lords of the Underworld series. We have Gideon’s mystery to figure out, Aeron, William and Amun’s trek to Hell to rescue Legion, Strider’s capture of a female Hunter, Sienna’s progress after being forced to house the demon of Wrath and the appearances of various others seen in the previous books to see. I’m looking forward to continuing a series I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Fun read.

    Nice and steamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Truth Be Told---

    Author Gena Showalter is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of more than twenty-four novels. Other titles in this series include: The Darkest Night, The Darkest Kiss, and The Darkest Pleasure. She also writes in contemporary romance and young adult.

    In this sixth installment in the Lords of the Underworld series, we follow Gideon, Keeper of Lies, and Scarlett, Keeper of Nightmares. Gideon, who falls to his knees in agony whenever he speaks truth, can recognize any lie when spoken, except from Scarlett. When his team captures Scarlett, she claims she is Gideon's long lost wife. Except Gideon has no memory of her. Even more interesting, they share an identical tattoo which seems to point to Scarlett being right. He may not remember Scarlett, but his demon wants her, and so does he. On a race to find the truth, their enemies draw closer, and so does the truth, no matter how hurtful it may be.

    I've followed this series from book one and Gena cannot write these fast enough for me. They are addictive in a very naughty way. I've been dying to get to Gideon's story, wondering how she was going to write out an entire book on a guy who has to speak in riddles to avoid truth. Oh, bravo. Well done. The reading was smooth, the dry humor present, the heat scorching, the understory deep, and the conflict spot-on. As I kept reading, wondering which was truth and which was lie, every chapter made me question everyone and everything. The only thing that felt off to me was this seemed a touch more sentimental than the other books.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    DARKEST FETISH

    THIS BOOK WAS DELICIOUS IN A SERIES OF SCRUMPTIOUS READS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    Another awesome Lord, just loved it!

    I definitely ADORE this entire series, and every time I think I have a second favorite Lord I read a new book and my mind changes. Aeron will always be number one but darn if Gena doesn't make me fall in love with each of the Lords when I pick up their book!

    The Darkest Lie had one of the best interpersonal stories I've read in the series so far, and I guess it was easy to touch me as a mother. (When you read it you'll understand what I mean.) I also felt like the heroine was one of the most relatable women in the series, despite her supernatural powers of course. It was just a lovely story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Great addition to the series

    Darkest lie
    Gideon had a small role in the opening of Pandora's Box, but he still received a demon. He is possessed with the demon of lies and cannot utter a single word of truth or he will be in immense pain. He has learned to live with his demon over the years. Now with war with the hunters has escalated. He needs to keep his eye on the prize and continue to help his fellow Lords to find the remaining Item but he can't seem to take his attention away from gorgeous, or in Gideon talk ugly woman who has been brought to the fortress. Scarlet is the keeper of nightmares and claims to be his wife. Although he has no memories of this woman he is drawn to her but he is torn between his want to take free her and make love to her and his obligation to his family to keep his family and others safe from what this woman can do.
    Gideon is very sweet I love him he has such an sexy style with his blue hair and lip and eye piercings. He is hot just like all the other Lords in his leathers. But he is so sweet, how he feels for Scarlet and wants to remember all these things she tells them about their past. Even though he can remember none of it he knows he belongs with this woman. I like Scarlet she is tough. She has had it ruff since she was born, she was the bastered child to Cronos and he wants nothing more than to see her dead and he mother would openly concur.
    I though this addition to the series was very good there was a bit much going on at once for me at times but I enjoyed it. I felt that Cronos was a bit softer than I have ever seen him before, I'm not sure what his motives are. I liked that Amun was introduced some ill have to wait for his book to tell you how I feel about him so far he is a bit mushy for me he is the only one of the Lords who actually wants a mate and is openly lonely.. Well except Pairs and he was some surprises coming his way very soon. All in all I though this was a good addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Darkest Lie is the 6th in the Lords of the Underworld series.

    Back when the world was young and Gods ruled the Heavens Zeus created mighty immortal warriors as his elite guard. Curiosity got the cat when the guards decided to open Pandora's Box. As punishment Zeus made each lord host a demon trapped inside the box, the earth and her human citizens barley survived the ensuing years as the lords became accustomed to their symbiotic partners. This is Gideon's story, Gideon was given the demon of Lies so he can never tell the truth without suffering great pain. Throughout his lonely existence he's experienced memories of a woman but he's not sure where they came from or if they're even true. Suddenly the object of those memories appears before him claiming to be his wife. Scarlet born of a match between the God Queen Rhea and a mortal has never known a moment of peace. Hated by her mother she's put in prison as a child until the fall of Greeks and the rise of the Titans when she escapes and tries to find her husband. Gideon and Scarlet have more in common than they think, but is marriage one of those things.
    Gena Showalter has a hit of a series going with her Lords of the Underworld tales, they are each more fantastical than the previous one all filled with larger than life incredible characters, characters that you will be grateful to revisit in future novels. Her storyline is about as far out there as any of the other thousands of urban fantasy romance but she remains very popular because of her storytelling. She makes her readers unable to wait to finish a page or a chapter and before you know it, it's 4am and you're still turning pages. Her characters as I've said before are larger than life and yet you'll find yourself yearning to be the heroine to the very manly heros of her books. The romance is sweet, sad and full of pitfalls. The love scenes are raw, physical and expressional.
    This is not your mother's romance, so keep it on the top shelf and out of the hands of curious young readers. But pull it down again often to totally enjoy the magic of Gena Showalter and her Lords of the Underworld. They can be read as stand-a-lones but I would suggest reading the series in order to understand all the special relationships and connections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Fabulous!

    Sixth book of the series and I'm just as hooked as I was when I first read Maddox's story. Gena Showalter grabs you and keeps you on your toes throughout the entire book! The humor she adds makes the stories that much more addicting! Fantastic! Can't wait for the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10