BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 771 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(456)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book captivated me to a new level

This is my first book by this author, and I am completely hooked....It amazed me that someone can think of such an intricate story to tell and make it so simple to understand...the story was great I picked up this book and didn't put it down until I was finished reading...
This is my first book by this author, and I am completely hooked....It amazed me that someone can think of such an intricate story to tell and make it so simple to understand...the story was great I picked up this book and didn't put it down until I was finished reading it. I can't wait to read the others to come in then series...

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

horrible female character

I tried to read this book and was intrigued until the female character Ashlyn was introduced. And then i immediately became disgusted. A damsel in distress is one thing (and bad enough in my opinion), but the woman in this story line comes off not only as completely hel...
I tried to read this book and was intrigued until the female character Ashlyn was introduced. And then i immediately became disgusted. A damsel in distress is one thing (and bad enough in my opinion), but the woman in this story line comes off not only as completely helpless but also brainless and spineless. I was really hoping for a stronger female character that could hold her own next to the "Lords of the Underworld". I suppose I never got into the book enough to find out if she got any better, but I honestly had no interest to. It's a shame because the story line of the book seemed excellent, was just the character that turned me off.

posted by 1338150 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good, but not amazing...

    I am an avid JR Ward fan and was long before I read this book. Therefore, when I began reading about a group of cursed men living together in a large castle like a, well, brotherhood, I was a little put off. It's a good read and I liked the idea of all the men being cursed with demons, but it felt too much like a Black Dagger Brotherhood wannabe. This is my personal opinion of course! BUT! If you're as obsessed with the Black Dagger Brotherhood novels as I am...you'll probably feel the same way about The Darkest Night as me...

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different

    While this book was interesting I felt like it was lacking something. The story packed a lot of information but I felt like I didn't really know or understand the main characters (other than the obvious). Of course anyone who hears voices or gets killed every night is going to be a little traumatized but it would have been nice to see a little deeper into their feelings and reasons. I think I'm going to give the next book a try and we'll see what happens!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    This was a free nook book. It had all the buzz-words to reel me

    This was a free nook book. It had all the buzz-words to reel me in “supernatural abilities”, “immortal warriors”, “mystical forces”, “historical undercurrents”, “Greek mythology” and of course “passion”. The concept of immortal warriors cursed to house Violence, Death, Wrath, Passion, Pain and Disease etc. after they had released them from Pandora’s box is exciting one. The demon and the men who shared their bodies are full of rich potential. Violence takes center stage in this novel and he is interesting. I wouldn’t say he was compelling, but a decent character. The human love interest was, frankly, overly delicate...a damsel in distress to an extreme. I found there were slow “filler” parts and, in a book under 300, you shouldn’t have a great deal of filler. I really wanted to like this book more, but I found it average. The idea is fun and I’ll buy the next one, hoping her 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good but not great

    Just as another reviewer wrote, I wanted to love this book but just found it ok. Not sure why. I will not read any other books in the series. I like JR Ward's Dark Brotherhood series so much more. They are similar in that the romances are destined to be, but I just feel so much closer and involved with the characters in that series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Slow start, but worth it in the end

    Coming into this series as a JR Ward BDB fan, i was skeptical. But maddox won me over in the end. There are many similarities to the BDB...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    It was ok

    Not my favorite book. Reminded me a lot of the black dagger series. The whole book just seemed rushed. The story line was good I think that the author just tried to get too much action into too little space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Utterly ridiculous

    This book deserves a 3.5. I'd like to give it a much higher score, but I was sorely disappointed with the middle chapters that dragged and seemed utterly ridiculous. The beginning sucked me in, so I hoped that the book would get back on track from some of the slow middle parts. For a while I thought about just quitting while I was ahead, but I am very glad I didn't. The end picked up pace and had me gripping my proverbial claws into the book. I do, most definitely, plan to read the next novel in this series, and I would recommend this book. This book would have received a 5 star review if it weren't for some of the "Oh my God, I can't believe this is even in here" moments.

    Want plot? Read the beginning, skip the middle, read the end. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    IF you like the Gods, Angels/Demons its a good read

    This is the 1st in the series, I read one out of order, but in doing so, I am seeing a partern to the series alrady. I hope she makes them each a little different and not the same. I do like stories about the Gods, Angels, Demons so this has them all. The plot is an overall good idea and I like how she develops the characters. Time will tell if each book ends up being the same type of set up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great series!

    I admit that I rolled my eyes at some of the cheese-tastic dialog in this book but getting past that, this series grew on me very quickly. There character's and story line were great (and get better throughout the series) If you're a fan of Paranormal Romance, don't miss this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting premise...

    ...however, I didn't really think the rest of the story quite lived up to it. The beginning was solid and the ending dramatic, but everything really dragged along in the middle. I also found it difficult to keep track of all of the "lords", perhaps because of their unusual names. Trying to remember who was who kept distracting me from the story itself. (I listened to the audio version--if I had had the physical book in my hands, I would have spent a lot of time paging back going, "Now which one was he again?" As it was, I just kept going and hoped the text itself would refresh my memory. Sometimes it did...) I will probably give the next book in the series a chance--I'm not going to abandon the series yet--but later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forced myself to read this

    and it just didn't get better. I found this book predictable and the plot was choppy at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So-So

    This was OK, but not great. Felt like a familiar story-line, 'strong but tormented warrior meets girl who's not scarred of him who wants to save him from his pain.' I get that a paranormal romance by definition has a male and female lead who are inexplicably drawn to each other, with love and lust developing in a crazy-short amount of time. That's fine. My problem was that Showalter didn't ever explain what caused this between our hero and heroine. I can accept that she hears voices. I can accept that he makes the voices go away. But WHY? HOW?! Not even any speculation on this subject. The first 3/4 of the book was mostly the romance and set-up, which was OK, but it picked up a lot in the last 1/4 with more character development (including the other warriors) and plot evolution. So this was OK, I won't pick the next one up immediately but will keep it in my mind when I'm in the mood for another light PNR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Dragged

    This book deserves a 3.5. I'd like to give it a much higher score but I was sorely disappointed with the middle chapters that dragged and seemed utterly ridiculous. The beginning sucked me in, so I hoped that the book would get back on track from some of the slow middle parts. For a while I thought about just quitting while I was ahead, but I am very glad that I didn't. The end picked up pace and had me gripping my proverbial claws into the book. I do, most definitely, plan to read the next novel in this series and I could recommend this book. This book would have received a 5 star review if it weren't for some of the "Oh my God, I can't believe this is even in here" moments.

    Want plot? Read the beginning, skip the middle, read the end. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A little bit disappointing...

    When I first saw this book and read a summary, I was fascinated by the idea. As I started reading it, this fascination only continued to climb, but as I got towards the middle of the book, it plummeted. There were a couple of turns in the plot that I felt were shallow and not well thought out, like they were just put in there to make things exciting (which, by the way, they were not!) I found myself laughing in scenes that were intended to be intense and suspenseful because they were so disjointed it was comical. However, I still recommend it because the next two books in this series are a huge improvement. <BR/><BR/>In the end, this book was okay. It became interesting in the end, and it is worth reading just so the later books in this series make sense and you can enjoy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    hmmmmmmmmm

    I have been reading like crazy this summer and this book was great but not the best. It is scary but the best Horror I have read all summer was Asylum. It is the story of a young female reporter who searches for clues to bizarre murders and comes face to face with an old haunted Asylum. I read this book in one day. If you are going to buy two books this summer buy this one and Asylum. Asylum is crazy fun and a fast paced adrealine rush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4