Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 772 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book captivated me to a new level

This is my first book by this author, and I am completely hooked....It amazed me that someone can think of such an intricate story to tell and make it so simple to understand...the story was great I picked up this book and didn't put it down until I was finished reading...
This is my first book by this author, and I am completely hooked....It amazed me that someone can think of such an intricate story to tell and make it so simple to understand...the story was great I picked up this book and didn't put it down until I was finished reading it. I can't wait to read the others to come in then series...

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

horrible female character

I tried to read this book and was intrigued until the female character Ashlyn was introduced. And then i immediately became disgusted. A damsel in distress is one thing (and bad enough in my opinion), but the woman in this story line comes off not only as completely hel...
I tried to read this book and was intrigued until the female character Ashlyn was introduced. And then i immediately became disgusted. A damsel in distress is one thing (and bad enough in my opinion), but the woman in this story line comes off not only as completely helpless but also brainless and spineless. I was really hoping for a stronger female character that could hold her own next to the "Lords of the Underworld". I suppose I never got into the book enough to find out if she got any better, but I honestly had no interest to. It's a shame because the story line of the book seemed excellent, was just the character that turned me off.

posted by 1338150 on July 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I'll read anything Gena!

    Gena knows how to write MEN!!! HOT, tormented MEN!!! And the beautiful, feisty ladies they fall head-over-heals for. This series contains everything that consumes the immortal warriors: Violence, Death, Wrath, Passion, Pain, Disease and 6 more hotties. Not to mention it's also filled with: Passion, Heat, Humor, Bantering, Love and Great Sex. This is the order I believe the 8 books are in so far...with more to come...

    The Darkest Fire (Prequel - part of Into The Dark)
    The Darkest Night
    The Darkest Kiss
    The Darkest Pleasure
    The Darkest Whisper
    The Darkest Lie
    The Darkest Prison (Bonus story - part of Into The Dark)
    The Darkest Passion

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked!

    I'm hooked on a new author and a new series. I can't wait to buy the next book. The only drawback for me is the poor editing of the ebook but if you can get past the spelling and grammatical errors you will truely enjoy the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Temptingly Dark & Sweet

    As the cover depicts this book is tempting from the beginning. A web of darkness envelopes all of the Dark Lords of the Underworld. Their Budapest stronghold high on the mountain is shrouded in mystery, the surrounding townspeople have a tendency to believe the men are fallen angels or demons depending on who you may ask. Ashlyn decides to gain help from these mysterious men on the mountain to quite the voices within her mind no matter what it takes or how much it will cost her. She is found by one of the fiercest warriors Maddox who has been cursed by the Gods for a mistake centuries old going back to the time of Pandora's Box. Maddox holds a secret within him that he longs to destroy but only by redeeming his past transgressions against the Gods to their satisfaction may he and the other Lords have the possibility of freeing themselves from their individual curses. The instant attraction sizzles between Ashlyn and Maddox to create heartbreaking conflicts and daunting decisions that will captivate and grab your interest and sustain it until the end then leave you wanting more. A perfect book for those of you who are into an edgy modern paranormal mixed with the historical undercurrents of Greek mythology with a twist only Gena Showalter can manage. The story keeps progressing and only gets better as time goes on, so keep reading her wonderfully hot contemporary writings, and be sure to enjoy the whole series and more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    Amazing! This series is a refreshing take on paranormal romance

    Amazing! This series is a refreshing take on paranormal romance - so much more than the traditional vampires and werewolves. Now, don't get me wrong, I adore vampires and werewolves, but these demon possessed warriors are delicious!

    The Darkest Night is the first installment with in the Lords of the Underworld series.

    Ashlyn has heard a rumor of men with supernatural powers who may be able to help her either understand or cure her of her own. She is wondering the forest and mountains searching for their home when she is attached by a man with hell in his eyes.

    Maddox was once a guardian of the Gods (Greek pantheon) who has been cursed to harbor a demon from Pandora's box within himself. When he discovers a lone woman wandering around outside his castle, he is certain she is "bait", meant to lure him out so that the hunters can capture and or kill him. She is successful with luring him from his home, but she is the one who is captured.

    While Ashlyn and Maddox work through their misunderstanding, there attraction grows and becomes undeniable - leading to a steamy romance. The main characters were a great match. Maddox was the right amount of tormented hero and Ashlyn was both sweet and sassy.

    The side characters were awesome! Everyone one of them is different and they make you want to read more - drawing you further into the Lords of the Underworld's realm.

    If you are passionate about paranormal romance, this is a MUST read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Maddox and Ashlyn were amazing!

    This book was very intense and very intriguing. It was very interesting learning about the different Lords of the Underworld. I liked how Ashlyn and Maddox met and how they felt a spark when they touched. These two completely changed each other's lives. Everything changed when the Titans took over. Ashlyn finally learned about the Institute that she worked for. Maddox was a changed man because of her. I loved how the warriors all stuck together and believed in each other. Reyes and Lucien were great with Ashlyn at the end. This book had a few twists and turns, but it kept me on my toes and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Love the Lords of the Underworld! My first time reading this au

    Love the Lords of the Underworld!

    My first time reading this author and I felt as the story was entertaining. It's a different twist on the supernatural, with former
    warriors having been bound and cursed with demons, all because of Pandora and the infamous box.

    Maddox (who's paired up with the demon of violence), didn't really do much for me. But I would guess it's hard to come across
    nice when one is driven past the point of rage, and who has to die every night at midnight. I did feel sympathy for Ashlyn, who
    unfortunately is able to hear every conversation that has ever taken place wherever she happens to be on the globe. I mean hell,
    I tune out present conversations at times, no telling how insane I'd be if I had to endure hearing EVERY conversation, from any
    time period, no matter how long ago a conversation occurred. I just wish it was explained exactly how/why that happened to her.

    Throw in Hunters (mortal men who are intent on finding the box and putting the demons back inside), and Bait (women who are
    supposed to set up the warriors), and you've got an interesting mix; especially once it's revealed who one of the Hunters is.

    Not a bad start to the series, although the ending was somewhat predictable. I plan on reading the series, especially since I can't
    wait to get to Aeron's and Torin's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I can┬┐t necessarily say that I loved this book, but I really lik

    I can’t necessarily say that I loved this book, but I really liked it!  The couple were good together, once they figured out the other wasn’t out to kill them of course, and I liked how much they’d do for each other a lot.  However, I wanted to smack Maddox for not just talking to her instead of assuming she was Bait, and Ashlyn was often too stubborn or naïve for her own good.

    That being said, I LOVED the premise!  Greek mythology was always one of my favorites, and to see that portrayed this way was really, really neat.  A bunch of warriors soul melded to demon spirits that were released from Pandora’s box?  Too cool.  I can’t wait to see more of the warriors’ stories and how they overcome/cope with their demonic side effects. 
     
    Overall, Gena Showalter has created a satisfying romance, an enthralling world that I can’t get enough of, and a fascinating series that I look forward to reading more of!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    I loved this series! The darkest Night is one of my favorite boo

    I loved this series! The darkest Night is one of my favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book. I am a fan of mythology, and the

    I absolutely loved this book. I am a fan of mythology, and the Greek Myths. This book just hit the spot. This book is about Ashlyn and Maddox. Maddox who is possessed by a demon of violence, and dies every night at midnight to be tortured in hell for killing the female warrior Pandora. So Ashlyn goes looking for these men who are rumored to be Angels because they do so many great thing for the towns people but what they don't know is that these men are no Angels, they are ancient warriors who are possessed by demons. Ashlyn has a gift, she hears voices, conversations that took place in the exact spot she is standing in, with no limit of time passed. She believes these men might be able to help her control or rid her of her gift. She is a parapsychologist and is no stranger to the supernatural. What she didn't expect is to find her savior in the form of Maddox. He is the key to controlling her ability. A romance blossoms between them but being thousands of years old, Maddox is hesitant and thinks Ashlyn might be helping the Hunters who are intent on destroying him and his fellow warriors. Ashlyn finds out that the company she works for is not what they seem and she has been used by them for years. Book 2 is The Darkest Kiss, it is definitely my next book.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    What a delightful read!

    I really really really enjoyed this read...I read it in one sitting...I had it on my book shelf for months & should have devored it a long time ago...the story is captivating....I was hooked from the first chapter...it has everything an adult read should...excitement,lust,action,suspense,violence,sex everything!!! There is so much going on at the same time sending your thoughts in so many different directions... I cant wait to finish reading the series....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Pretty Good Read

    First book i've read by this author. She has a certain style. Loved all the characters and interactions. Will definitely read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    New favorite author!

    I am big fan of JR Ward, so glad i found another author as great as JR Ward 'BDB' series! Lords of the Underworld series is my new find! Can't wait to read all the books. The #1 book got me hook, and Ms. Showalter is my new favorite author! Buying #2 right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a Paranormal Romance series

    The Lords of the Underworld are a group of warriors who stole Pandora's box and unleashed the demons that were housed inside. They thought to teach the Gods a lesson but instead wound up housing the demons in themselves. Maddox is the keeper of Violence and every night he is stabbed to death 6 times and taken to hell for killing Pandora. Not only that but as keeper of Violence his demon is always looking for a fight.

    Ashlyn can hear voices, but not just voices from people around her but residue voices from the past. It has made her life a nightmare, she can't concentrate on anything and she's always fighting to block everything out. So when she hears that there is a group of men who might be able to help her, she takes off to find them. But when she gets there, she finds an enraged man covered in blood. As terrifies as she is, she realizes that the voices are gone, and she will do anything to learn how he did that so that she can lead a normal life.

    This was a great introduction to the story. The whole aspect of the immortal demons was pretty interesting. Each guy has a different demon housed in them and they each suffer with it in a different way. Not only does this story follow Ashlyn and Maddox but you also get side stories of the other men in the house as well. The weaving of the different characters definitely brings the secondary characters to the front and gives them the spotlight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    A sexy read

    Well written with a dark sexy hero and a spunky heroine. I really liked it and am looking forward to the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    loved it!

    A wonderful love story! Some slow parts but definitely worth reading! Wish I would have seen the bundle before buying this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Book

    This was an enjoyable book about the Lord of the Underworld, Maddox, and the woman who came into his "life", Ashlyn. She is drawn to Maddox immediately because around him, she no longer hears the "voices" that have haunted her entire life. She doesn't know why, but finds herself captivated by him. Eventually, Maddox becomes captivated by Ashlyn and finds that he cannot live without her. I enjoyed the writing and story and look foward to reading more in the Lords of the Underworld sagas. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Like BDB

    This series seems like the Greek mythology version of the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series. So, if you like BDB you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Warriors Possessed by Demons!

    My Review
    I listened to this as an audiobook, narrated by Max Bellmore.

    I have heard a lot about this series and seen the abbreviation LOTU so much that I decided everyone must have read this series except me. So I decided to take the plunge.

    This story is about some immortal warriors that opened Pandora's box and released demons into the world. As a punishment, the Gods decided that each warrior would have to host one of the demons.

    This book sets up the groundwork for the series, so there is a lot of information given out and then some story telling. The main characters in this story are Maddox (who is hosting the demon Violence) and Ashlyn (a mortal human with the ability to hear voices of the past.) And of course they fall in love . this is a paranormal romance after all!

    I really enjoyed how Maddox was portrayed as fighting his demon. Especially when he had to really look into what he was feeling and decide if it was what he was feeling or what the demon was feeling. I enjoyed the steamy romance between our two main characters.

    Things I didn't like were the mono-syllabic responses from Maddox when he was with Ashlyn. I think those dialogs the first time were okay, after that . not so okay. Also, Paris having to find at least one different woman everyday in a remote isolated place. How many women were there and how long had they lived in that place? Don't see that. They had people delivering stuff to their house, yet Ashlyn couldn't find the road to their door? Hmmm.

    Overall, I think it is a great addition to anyone's paranormal romance collection and I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    The Narration Review
    I really must ask if it is alright just to put down . holy smokes! And have that cover my narration review? No. hmm. It could be because I have not listened to a male narrator for a long time, but Max Bellmore's voice was very enticing. When it came to the intimate scenes between Maddox and Ashlyn, listening to Max made me feel like I was eavesdropping on a love scene in the next room. He inserted just the right amount of emotion to drag the words off the page and whisper them gently into my ear. Great job!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    DONT BUY IT!!!

    Awesome book, but youre really better off buying the Lords of the Underworld bundle. You get books 1-3 and a prequel for less than the price of two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yummy!

    Maddox is a warrior, created at the dawn of men by the Greek gods, he and his warrior brothers become angry when Pandora was given the guardianship of The Box which held all the demons of mankind - they opened the box releasing the demons. For their insolence the Greek gods cursed one demon to one warrior's body and Maddox... was fused with Demon of Violence.

    Having to try and control the demon living inside him is hard but not as hard as his curse for taking Pandora's life, for that he has to die every night like Pandora did and spend the night in Hell. This doesn't make for one fun and easy going guy, so when he meets Ashlyn he doesn't know what to make of the mysterious woman who is hiding something from him.

    Ashlyn has come to Budapest to listen on what the people of the town know of the inhabitants of the castle, the stories wary from demons to angels, but most of all they are said to help and help is what Ashlyn needs. Her clairaudient powers have bothered her since childhood, she can hear everything ever said in a building, and the voices are a constant companion she is desperate to silence - and she hopes the demons or angels in the castle can help her.

    Maddox stops her approach of the castle and Ashlyn experiences what she has always wanted - silence. The man's presence supresses all the voices and she is hooked. He tries to get her to leave but she insists staying following him, because she can't imagine voices after the silence she gets to experience with him.

    Maddox doesn't know what to make of her is she a bait send by the Hunters who are bent on killing all of them or is she innocent - it doesn't really matter as the biggest battle is wither to touch her or not, bed her or not, and midnight and his death is fast approaching. He eventually gives in and grabs her and imprisons her in the castle.

    So starts Book 1 of The Lords of the Underworld Series "The Darkest Night". The relationship with Maddox and Ashlyn is front and center, but the relationship with the old gods and the new gods affect the whole castle full of demon filled warriors. Where Maddox is torn to understand who Ashlyn is and wither he can have her as his own, he also has his demon to wrangler and his curse to fulfill each midnight.

    I very much enjoyed the concept of Pandora's Box releasing demons into the men as punishment, and all they have to handle while trying to control the demons.
    I'm looking forward to reading the stories of Reyes/Pain (2008) and Paris/Promiscuity (2012)!
    I like the idea of the Hunters but they didn't make too big of an appearance in the book to be considered a real threat to the warriors. The shift in the power of the Gods was very interesting but that also was sort of on the back burner - if these two had been stronger in the book it would have been more interesting to read.

    Very good book nonetheless and worth a read for the sexy warriors, interesting new world created and a nice break from the vampire populated Paranormal Romance genre. (don't get me wrong I still wholly love Vampire PNR books!)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10