BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Obsessed with this series!!

Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down!


1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell)
2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper...
Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down!


1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell)
2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper of Violence)
3.The Darkest Kiss, June 2008-Lucien (Keeper of Death)
4.The Darkest Pleasure, July 2008-Reyes (Keeper of Pain)
5.The Darkest Prison, July 2009 novella ebook-Atlas (Titan God of Strength)
6.The Darkest Whisper, September 2009-Sabin (Keeper of Doubt)
7.The Darkest Angel novella in Heart of the Darkness and in the anthology Dark Beginnings, January 2010-angel Lysander
8.The Darkest Passion, June 2010-Aeron (Keeper of Wrath)
9.The Darkest Lie, July 2010-Gideon (Keeper of Lies)
10.The Darkest Secret, April 2011-Amun (Keeper of Secrets)
11.The Darkest Surrender, September 2011-Strider (Keeper of Defeat)
12.The Darkest Seduction, February 2012-Paris (Keeper of Promiscuity)

posted by Dannie33 on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Three out of Five Stars!

As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun...
As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun's story, Strider's story and her new Vampire book, have me wondering why I continue to buy and read her books. I could not wait for Strider's story, but quite frankly Kaia is too aggressive and it's not appealing to me.
I remember when these Lords were dark, sinister and strong. I'm channeling Lucien, Maddox, Reyes and even Sabin. The worst part about all of this is that I don't like the way these Lords talk or even act and the girls too. Why do they all have to talk like they are texting their high school friends? I teach high school, so when I go to read an "adult novel" I don't want text message type of writing to read. TMI, LOL or "Stridey-man" when Strider is referencing his manhood. I want them to be dark, sinister and strong, not one step above the Jersey Shore guys. Sorry, I'm just starting to get frustrated. I still buy the books and probably will buy Paris' story, but after that I am not sure I will continue. I do think Showalter is a talented writer, clever at times, witty and funny, but I just need more depth to these characters. I don't expect her to write like JR Ward, but to be honest, those characters (The Black Dagger Brotherhood) are dangerous and all so unique. There is a lot of depth there and they don't talk like high school kids, which I am getting more and more annoyed by with Showalter's stories. Sorry I had to say this. As an aspiring author myself, I just hate critiquing those who have "made it" but, I guess I have to be honest in the end.

posted by SKY_MORROW on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Three out of Five Stars!

    As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun's story, Strider's story and her new Vampire book, have me wondering why I continue to buy and read her books. I could not wait for Strider's story, but quite frankly Kaia is too aggressive and it's not appealing to me.
    I remember when these Lords were dark, sinister and strong. I'm channeling Lucien, Maddox, Reyes and even Sabin. The worst part about all of this is that I don't like the way these Lords talk or even act and the girls too. Why do they all have to talk like they are texting their high school friends? I teach high school, so when I go to read an "adult novel" I don't want text message type of writing to read. TMI, LOL or "Stridey-man" when Strider is referencing his manhood. I want them to be dark, sinister and strong, not one step above the Jersey Shore guys. Sorry, I'm just starting to get frustrated. I still buy the books and probably will buy Paris' story, but after that I am not sure I will continue. I do think Showalter is a talented writer, clever at times, witty and funny, but I just need more depth to these characters. I don't expect her to write like JR Ward, but to be honest, those characters (The Black Dagger Brotherhood) are dangerous and all so unique. There is a lot of depth there and they don't talk like high school kids, which I am getting more and more annoyed by with Showalter's stories. Sorry I had to say this. As an aspiring author myself, I just hate critiquing those who have "made it" but, I guess I have to be honest in the end.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The cover sucked me in, with the butterfly-ish tattoo, as an imp

    The cover sucked me in, with the butterfly-ish tattoo, as an impulse buy. Besides I've been meaning to read some of Ms. Showalter's books for a long time.

    This is number eight of an ongoing series of thirteen, and that's one of the hardest challenges as an author. Draw in the reader who simply picked up THIS book, first, while not boring those who've been following all along.

    She didn't quite manage it for me. Despite a very convoluted first third or so of the book, I was very confused. Too many characters, too much backstory, and yet I still didn't understand this Universe or its rules or what the point was to the Harpy Games. I liked the hero, Strider, much more than the heroine. Until well into the book, I thought Kaia was an unlikeable brat.

    That said, by the middle of the book I was rooting for Kaia to succeed, and by the end I was very invested in Kaia and Strider's romance and challenges. I loved the Alaska references, and the sisterly support of the other Harpies for Kaia.

    Lesson learned: Showalter is a masterful writer, but I won't impulse buy any of her other books unless I know I'm picking up a standalone or the first one in a series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2