Customer Reviews for

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Obsessed with this series!!

Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down!


1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell)
2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper...
Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down!


1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell)
2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper of Violence)
3.The Darkest Kiss, June 2008-Lucien (Keeper of Death)
4.The Darkest Pleasure, July 2008-Reyes (Keeper of Pain)
5.The Darkest Prison, July 2009 novella ebook-Atlas (Titan God of Strength)
6.The Darkest Whisper, September 2009-Sabin (Keeper of Doubt)
7.The Darkest Angel novella in Heart of the Darkness and in the anthology Dark Beginnings, January 2010-angel Lysander
8.The Darkest Passion, June 2010-Aeron (Keeper of Wrath)
9.The Darkest Lie, July 2010-Gideon (Keeper of Lies)
10.The Darkest Secret, April 2011-Amun (Keeper of Secrets)
11.The Darkest Surrender, September 2011-Strider (Keeper of Defeat)
12.The Darkest Seduction, February 2012-Paris (Keeper of Promiscuity)

posted by Dannie33 on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Three out of Five Stars!

As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun...
As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun's story, Strider's story and her new Vampire book, have me wondering why I continue to buy and read her books. I could not wait for Strider's story, but quite frankly Kaia is too aggressive and it's not appealing to me.
I remember when these Lords were dark, sinister and strong. I'm channeling Lucien, Maddox, Reyes and even Sabin. The worst part about all of this is that I don't like the way these Lords talk or even act and the girls too. Why do they all have to talk like they are texting their high school friends? I teach high school, so when I go to read an "adult novel" I don't want text message type of writing to read. TMI, LOL or "Stridey-man" when Strider is referencing his manhood. I want them to be dark, sinister and strong, not one step above the Jersey Shore guys. Sorry, I'm just starting to get frustrated. I still buy the books and probably will buy Paris' story, but after that I am not sure I will continue. I do think Showalter is a talented writer, clever at times, witty and funny, but I just need more depth to these characters. I don't expect her to write like JR Ward, but to be honest, those characters (The Black Dagger Brotherhood) are dangerous and all so unique. There is a lot of depth there and they don't talk like high school kids, which I am getting more and more annoyed by with Showalter's stories. Sorry I had to say this. As an aspiring author myself, I just hate critiquing those who have "made it" but, I guess I have to be honest in the end.

posted by SKY_MORROW on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I enjoyed reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific refreshing entry due to the macabrely humorous yet lunatic Harpy culture.

    Fifteen centuries ago, fourteen years old Kaia Skyhawk wants to be known as the strongest harpy. Her only rival at the Harpy Games is Juliette the Eradicator. Juliet captured a male but her new consort remains defiant. Thinking she can make this warrior obey, Kaia, ignoring her mother's admonition about men, frees him. He goes on a rampage killing many harpies. It is fifteen hundred years later and everyone especially her mother blames Kaia the Disappointment for the massacre; she and her sister Bianka have been banned from participating in the games ever since.

    For the first time since the disaster, the Skyhawks sisters are invited to the games. Bianka and Kaia know someone is setting them up for something though it could be Juliette or even their mom, but each agrees they must attend. She also tells Bianka that she believes Strider is her soulmate, but he and his demon Defeat refuse to accept their attraction to the notorious harpy. However, he reconsiders his position of keeping his distance when he learns first prize at the games is the dangerous ancient Paring Rod that could kill him and his Dark Lord peers.

    The latest Lords of the Underworld romantic fantasy (see The Darkest Secret) is a terrific refreshing entry due to the macabrely humorous yet lunatic Harpy culture. The story line is fast-paced from the opening fiasco and never slows down as Kaia who tasted defeat refuses to accept it again except as the demon accompanying her Strider. Madcap, the zany Harpy Games is fun to attend.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Another home run!!

    Our Review [by LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha – Michelle L Olson]:

    There have been 7 books before The Darkest Surrender that kept my interest, made me cringe to put them down, and made me clamor for the next installment. The Darkest Surrender took those things to an infinite level. I can safely say that this has been my personal favorite of the series and Gena just keeps getting more brilliant with each book she writes.

    Strider gave us what we loved from him in each of the previous books – an ego-maniacal smartass who makes it impossible NOT to love him. :-) Like the ending of the previous book though, you start out the book just wanting to slap him because he’s fighting the inevitable – his undeniable attraction to Kaia.

    Kaia is the type of heroine I love…Strong, independent, fighting personal demons, but not afraid to admit her need for her man.

    I absolutely loved the cross-over again of the Immortals After Dark characters from Kresley Cole’s series and Gena’s Lords of the Underworld. If there were any immortals that were perfect for the Lords, it’d be those girls. J I am waiting for the day when we see if Nix gets her pick of a Lord; though we’re running short on them, since Gena has been finding their perfect matches book after book. LOL.

    This book had it all! Endless action, incredibly witty moments that had me embarrassingly snorting my laughter out loud and disturbing the people around me, unbelievably tender moments that were made even the more amazing because of the people they were happening to/between , intrigue, suspense, oh…did I mention the sizzling romance.

    The Darkest Surrender was a great set up for the rest of the series as well. We learn more about Paris and his inner struggles that I can only hope are resolved in The Darkest Seduction, and we get the set up for Kane’s story as well. It just made me want the next 2 books even more.

    LITERAL ADDICTION Paranormal Book Club gives The Darkest Surrender 5 Skulls.

    We definitely recommend it for ALL Gena Showalter fans, Paranormal Romance addicts, and even Urban Fantasy readers because there is plenty of darkness and action between a multitude of different supernatural creatures in-between the romance to keep those readers happy as well.

    Love Gena Showalter and Lords of the Underworld! Keep up the incredible work; I can’t wait to read Paris and Kane’s stories! :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing.

    Gena Showalter continuously takes my breath away every time I read one of her books. (And I oen every book she's written and been a part of.) Her writing is magnificent, and her writing style unique. I only wish to be half as amazing as she is when and if I publish my oen work.
    This book is just another monument to her wonder, and I never grow tired of wanting for more stories.

    Books change the world; Readimg makes you smarter. -Sin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Awesome!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Loved!!

    I love this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    BUY IT!!!

    I haven't been disappointed at all w/ any of the Lords of the Underworld books. I very much enjoyed Strider and Kaia's story. I hate for the story to end, but always look forward to the next one. Can't wait for Williams's story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    woohooo

    To ZGARZA01,
    I am not understanding that either. they must be including the in-betweeners like "The Darkest Prison" & maybe "The Darkest Facts" I have also found the "Darkest Angel" (starring Lysander) that is in "The Heart of Darkness" with 2 other authors and will also be in Gena's new release "Lord of Vampires" on 9/1/11.Hope this helps! - Mindy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love this series

    can't wait for this book to come out I really hope its available on the nook

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Entertaining

    Out of her Lords series I like Strider's and Kane's books the best! They were both funny and heartwarning. Hopefully she will finish the rest of the Lords stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This whole series was.so good I looked foward to starting the next book immediately upon finishing each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    What!!

    Some parts i fidnt care for but it was still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great Series!

    Really love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    If you enjoy stories about the paranormal, then check this author out!!!

    Super book, super sexy, please don't stop writing about the Lords of the Underworld nor the Angels of the Dark. You are a gifted writer>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Another great volume in this series. I've been away from this se

    Another great volume in this series. I've been away from this series for awhile now and it was great to come back to it and find I still enjoyed it just as much as before. Getting to see Strider and Kaia's story finally come to a head after being touched on through the last couple books was great! I also enjoyed getting to see all Kaia's harpy sister's and their consorts at the Harpy Games. Definitely exciting! The sneak peeks at Kane were fun too. I've really enjoyed how Showalter has been setting up further books in the series with the little chapters tossed in here and there in prior books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Wont put down

    I love it.. couldn't put down, adrenaline the whole way through!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Sexy book

    I just loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Lords of the underworld

    I have completly fell in love with each and everyone of lords wishing for just a small part of my life to be with them all. They all brought out a desire for wonder, if such a man truly excist. Than you Gena for such an amazing series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Demon of Defeat, Strider, cannot lose a challenge without suffer

    Demon of Defeat, Strider, cannot lose a challenge without suffering
    imaginable pain. Add in Harpy, Kaia, who loves nothing more than
    provoking him, and he's got himself a mess. Except he's been battling
    feelings for her, and now he's on a mission to protect her as she
    competes in the Harpy Games. Now she's got to win first prize or die,
    and he needs to bring home the third godly artifact to save all the
    Lords. I loved this whole series, and this didn't disappoint. Strider
    and Kaia's story started in the last book, or hinted at it, and I
    couldn't wait. These two were hilarious together. Fighting, pretending,
    loving, fighting again. Just awesome. We also got tidbits about Paris'
    upcoming story, as well. Harpy Games. Brilliant. This was packed full of
    action, and if I may add, these Lords find the most unimaginable places
    to make love. Not to be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16