Customer Reviews for

Darkfall

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Silver eyes

Like all Dean Koontz books, the story is "on the edge of your seat exiting", gets intresting very quickly, and is very well written. The story is about two NewYork City detectives, Jack and Rebecca. Jack is patient, resourceful, and not afraid to follow as supernatural ...
Like all Dean Koontz books, the story is "on the edge of your seat exiting", gets intresting very quickly, and is very well written. The story is about two NewYork City detectives, Jack and Rebecca. Jack is patient, resourceful, and not afraid to follow as supernatural lead. He is the strong protagonist of Darkfall. His partner Rebecca is just as strong of a detective as Jack, but much more cynical and extremely realistic.
They are put on a case of gruesome murders, where the victims are a cut and slashed hundreds of times until they die of blood loss. The killers leave no trace, and seem to have the ability to break into the most secure of buildings. All the victims belong to the mafia family. Leaders of the mafia are being cut down one by one by and acclaimed voodoo doctor.
As the detectives get further into this mysterious case Rebeccas realistic beliefs are rapidly filed away and both Rebecca and Jack come to know and fear the voodoo doctors small, vicious, and silver eyed assasins.

posted by Justin_Amburgey_25 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Darkfall review

I have not finished reading this book yet but am about half way through, so far it is excellent and I wouldn't want to change anything about it. Dean Koontz is an excellent writer.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Silver eyes

    Like all Dean Koontz books, the story is "on the edge of your seat exiting", gets intresting very quickly, and is very well written. The story is about two NewYork City detectives, Jack and Rebecca. Jack is patient, resourceful, and not afraid to follow as supernatural lead. He is the strong protagonist of Darkfall. His partner Rebecca is just as strong of a detective as Jack, but much more cynical and extremely realistic.<BR/>They are put on a case of gruesome murders, where the victims are a cut and slashed hundreds of times until they die of blood loss. The killers leave no trace, and seem to have the ability to break into the most secure of buildings. All the victims belong to the mafia family. Leaders of the mafia are being cut down one by one by and acclaimed voodoo doctor.<BR/>As the detectives get further into this mysterious case Rebeccas realistic beliefs are rapidly filed away and both Rebecca and Jack come to know and fear the voodoo doctors small, vicious, and silver eyed assasins.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Very, Very Good!

    One of the best Dean Koontz Books I ever read! Scary and impossible to put down!. Give it a try everyone!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Darkfall By Dean Koontz Homicide detective Jack Dawson has been

    Darkfall
    By Dean Koontz

    Homicide detective Jack Dawson has been thrown into the middle of a battle between a mafia family and the man who seeks revenge for the death of his brother, this is no ordinary war between factions the man who wants revenge is a Bocor a man who specializes in the the dark side of voodoo. If Jack Dawson does not stop he risks the life of his children and the woman he loves but if he does stop he will never be able to live with himself.

    I know that this novel is supposed to be scary but though it is a thriller for sure it is far from scary small rodent like creatures that lurk in the shadows with sharp pointy teeth, creepy yes, but scary no. Dean Koontz is a great writer though, he manages to bring to life these creatures and add to the fact that these people are trapped by a blizzard it is a fun thriller.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Qlms

    This was a great book. I started it on monday and finished it by tuesday. Just couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    The tantalizing tale of Voodoo turned Doodoo!

    At first I thought this book was going to be one of those stupid science fiction things that my son tends to gravitate towards. However, from beginning to end this book kept my interest and made me long to continue reading until I had completed it. That took less than three days. I felt that the plot was well thought out and intelligent. In other words, a mastermind of a tale. I love a story that can be visualized in my mind's eye as though you are actually seeing it in the movies. This one was like a great exciting movie that kept me captivated on the edge of my seat for 3 days. And I am sad that it is done. But I am looking forward to reading more of Dean Koontz!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Not a children's book.

    This book freaked the hell out of me when i was a kid. Good thriller, especially when reading in bed, late at night....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Very Good!

    It kind of reminds me of the Frankenstein series. The detective in this book has the kind of humor, (and dedication), of the male detective in Frankenstein. I'd give this book 4 stars, (out of 5), and 5 stars to the Frankenstein series. Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Darkfall

    Once again I have read another book by Dean Koontz that grabbed me and took me hostage from the very first page all the way to the very end. It kept my attention and put me on the edge of my seat until the end just like every book that I have read by him. I am officially a Dean Koontz fan. That is the second book this month. Actually it is fairly easy to tell it was one of his first books, but it is still spine tingling all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Scary

    Scared me. I know, its just a book, but woah. Gave me the creeps. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Darkfall - great suspense

    In this great suspense by Dean Koontz we follow two detectives, Jack Dawson and Rebecca Chandler, as they try to uncover the horrifying murders that are going on to the Carramazzaas. The Carramazzaas are a family of drug dealers, whose killer is supposedly rats. But how could rats get away with murder or even commit such an act of violence and not even leave a trace? Soon Jack believes that these killings could just very well be the act of voodoo. Carver Hampton, a man who practices good voodoo, helps Jack uncover their culprit, Baba Levelle. Soon those ¿creatures¿ of Baba¿s are after Detective Dawson¿s children, Penny and Davey. As soon as Jack finds out that Lavelle is after his kids, he tries to hide them, but that didn¿t work. As they encounter these creatures we find out that they can¿t touch Jack, that they¿re afraid to be near him. As Jack gets help from Carver, Rebecca, Penny, and Davey decided that they might be safe if they get in a cathedral, but they were wrong. This book keeps you on your toes the whole way through. If you¿re into suspense mixed with the supernatural you¿ll love this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Good Book

    This book was good although I liked PHANTOMS way better. The reason I didn't like it as much was because of the ending but otherwise this book was interesting and gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Darkfall Review

    This was the first book that I have read from Koontz and I enjoyed it very much. This was a fast paced book that I did not want to put down. The end could have used a little help but still a very good book. I look forward to reading more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    Seedy Bocor seeks 2 children. Inquire within.

    I haven't had goosebumps like this since reading Stephen King's 'The Shining.' The rustling thing in the children's bedroom ought to give any kid nightmares for years to come. Interesting background on voodoo, interesting ideas about propping open the gates of hell & righteous men, a really seedy Bocor character, and lots of action. The crime lord asking the lone policeman for help reminded me a lot of 'Predator 2.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2