Customer Reviews for

Darkfever (Fever Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4795 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2626)

4 Star

(1166)

3 Star

(545)

2 Star

(210)

1 Star

(248)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

I consistantly browse free ebooks on B&N.com, but rarely do I find a novel that pulls me in and won't let go!! I was hooked from the second Mac sets foot in Ireland. This book is exciting, fanciful and sexy. I can't wait to download the second in the series. Mac's voice...
I consistantly browse free ebooks on B&N.com, but rarely do I find a novel that pulls me in and won't let go!! I was hooked from the second Mac sets foot in Ireland. This book is exciting, fanciful and sexy. I can't wait to download the second in the series. Mac's voice is honest, heartfelt and completely believable. I've missed this in some of the newer fantasy novels. Please read this, even if you're a skeptic. You'll be pleasantly surprised... I promise.

posted by drubeetoo on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Writer spends to much time talking the character's beauty

OK this is not real bad, however to me it seems the writer spends way to much time talking about how beautiful the main character is. Right down to how beautiful her hair is, and her beautiful eyes. This, continues on and on through out this book. Still, I found to ...
OK this is not real bad, however to me it seems the writer spends way to much time talking about how beautiful the main character is. Right down to how beautiful her hair is, and her beautiful eyes. This, continues on and on through out this book. Still, I found to subject matter decent. Just understand, everyone in this book seems to be both beautiful, strong and so on. Also, considering the main character is all of twenty two years old. And, had never been far from her small home town. The writing style would suggest that she's wise way beyond her years. Now, having said this, I have to go. I need to find the second in the series, so I can find out where the first book left off, and the rest of the story continues. I, believe this is will appeal more to females, than males. But again, here I am a fifty something retired military man finding I need to read more. Just, so I can find out the rest of what is happening in the next series. Thanks, and good day friends

posted by rr67gto on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Empressed

    My Ladies ay BN recommended this to me. It started out slow, and never picked up steam. I wanted it to be good, it just never made it that far. The main character, MAC is a dumb blond that never overcame that stereotype. And most of all as the story went on, she was just so unbelievably annoying. I wanted the action scenes to have ACTION.....sadly that didn't happen either. And I really didn't like the ending... one word---or is it two ------ANTI-CLIMATIC.

    19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    The story doesnt end...you have to buy the other books

    After reading over 253 pages...the story is to be continued. The plot was OK...but it was not thrilling where you couldnt put the book down. I had to pick the book up several times just to get to the end to find out it is to be continued. I wont bother buying the next book it was not suspenseful enough to keep me wanting more. I was very bored with the book and the characters. They kept repeating the same theme throughout the book...no new twists or turns. I dont see what the other readers liked about this book. I thought it was boring! I would not recommend it.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    Short & Sweet: I don┬┐t get what the hoopla was about this b

    Short & Sweet: I don’t get what the hoopla was about this book. One of my pet peeves where a character says in narration that the “meaning of this event would come clear later” happens numerous times in this book. Unfortunately I would prefer to have my nearly 9 hours back instead of having read this book but I’m obviously in the minority.

    I purchased Darkfever and nothing else was exchanged for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    I bought this nook book with the old cover that is how I would l

    I bought this nook book with the old cover that is how I would like it to stay but you have automatically changed it. please show you care by letting me choose. I spend money here I expect to get what I pay for. no wonder your company is losing customers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After hearing a lot of awesomeness about this novel, I was reall

    After hearing a lot of awesomeness about this novel, I was really excited to finally pick this up. The plot sounds really intriguing. I love UF mysteries. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to connect with the cast and ended up dropping the book a quarter into the novel.




    This is such a frustrating novel. The beginning is pretty vague with things progressing quickly soon after Mac learns of her sister Alina's death. A bit too quickly and impulsively. Though Alina was murdered, Mac wants to go to Dublin and try and get the investigators to reopen the case. I can accept that she believes that the Irish authorities aren't very invested in the case of the death of a foreigner. But I still don't really get why she even wants to investigate her sister's murder on her own. I know that she's deep in grief and not thinking clearly, but did it ever cross her mind that going to Dublin could put her life in danger? Especially after listening to Alina's last message on her voicemail.




    I do like how Mac likes dressing up, loves books, and doesn't let people step all over her. However, she's of a rather set mindset and doesn't take even well-meaning advice well. In fact, Jericho's rather aggressive warnings to her serves to fuel her desire to investigate Alina's death instead of scaring her away, and she continues to ignore all the—rather apparent—danger signs and keeps bulldozing deeper and deeper into this dark business. She seems to have this sense of invulnerability and believes nothing can hurt her. This personality trait of hers is a recipe for a trainwreck.




    Jericho isn't particularly compelling at this point of the novel. With the story told from the first-person narrative of Mac's perspective, all I see of him is a big brute. He seems to mean well for Mac, but all he's doing is provoking her to keep hacking away at this mystery (she's not being very subtle about it) and putting her life in graver danger. I'm sure he has a reason why he's acting the way he does, but right now he's really like a mercenery character as Mac points out. All steel and no heart for the walking victims, as he aptly describes Mac.




    To be fair, I barely made it into a quarter of the novel before giving up on this book, and the novel has barely begun to touch on the mystery surrounding Alina's death. However, this is also why I'm stopping here. It's been such a trainwreck with Mac so far. I don't want to see when she finally, truly, opens her eyes realizes what's really going on. Sure, I expect her to grow up and finally begin to work together with Jericho (albeit only after a lot of resentment on both sides and with a lot of arguing, which may lead to hot, steamy scenes afterwards...), but after all the vexation I went through in the first quarter of the novel, I'm not very keen to continue on this journey with Mac at this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    The book without an ending!!!

    While I have to say that I actually did enjoy the book, I was extremely angry when I got to the end of the book only to realize that it wasn't the end of the story!!! What a cheep way to make people buy more books. This is so wrong on so many levels!! While I finally did decide to purchase the second book, there was way too much repetitive and unnecessary information. Consequently, I didn't feel that it was worth it to continue this "So Called Series". As for those who were so happy because they got this book free . . . . I bet you won't find the remaining 4 books in this "?Series?" free. This is not good merchandising, this is just wrong.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I see the appeal, but wasn't for me

    Let’s start with the main character, Mac. She reminded me a lot of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse. In fact, I wouldn’t even be surprised if the two were related. Southern bells, blond, perky cute, and both prone to getting into situations most would avoid. Although, I do believe Mac is a wee less intelligent than Sookie. All-in-all, the Mac/Sookie persona isn’t bad. I admit to being a Sookie follower, even if I think she’s too stupid to live at times. But really, one Sookie is enough for me. Despite the subtle differences, I just couldn’t get into the Mac girl. Barrons, on the other hand, I liked him. I guess, liked isn’t the exact word. It’s not like I’m fond of him as a person. I’d certainly never befriend him. HOWEVER, the character added a unique flare. Is he good? Is he bad? Just who is this guy? I liked the mystery of Barrons, but would have liked to have learned something significant about him by the end of the story. The way this was written was as if Mac was telling me, the reader, what had happened during her adventure in Dublin. I’ve started books written with sentences like you’d never imagined life would be so tough, but I’ve never warmed up to the style. Mac took it one step further with foretelling at the end of most scenes and sometimes in the middle, which made an otherwise okay storyline too predictable for words, and frankly, rather anticlimactic. Here’s an example by what I mean. I’m all excited about an upcoming fight. I can feel my heart pick up speed in anticipation. Yeah… I get that into books. My eyes are glued to the page. Mac reveals her plan, and I’m like oh yeah! Let’s do this thing. I’m tensed, and then she narrates: “It could have worked that way, it should have worked that way, but I made one critical error.” At that moment, I put the book down and contemplate tearing it in half. Why in the world did she ruin the surprise? If anything ruined the book, it was stuff like that in every single scene. Seriously. I’d be hard pressed to find a scene without that kind of foretelling. What’s wrong with slamming a reader with the unexpected when it happens. Story also hopped back and forth between time rather just telling it in a linear fashion. I hated that. I thought a matter was settled and was ready to move on, since we had. Then she popped back to the time directly after two scenes ago and filled in a gap. Why not just fill in the information so the gap was never there to begin with? Finally, the tense wasn’t consistent. Others might not notice or care, for me the switches between past and present tense were jarring. Yeah… I’m all over the place in this post with tense…. but remember… hypocrite here. So Darkfever wasn’t for me, and I’m certainly not ragging on it. This novel/series has received a lot of praise, and I’m sure for good reason. If you’re into the Fae, fashion, and Southern bell-like heroines, you might really dig this work. I did have a favorite passage. Perhaps it’s because I’m as morbid as Mac. "Don’t accuse me of being morbid when I’m merely the product of a culture that buries the bones of the ones they love in pretty, manicured flower gardens so they can keep them nearby and go talk to them whenever they feel troubled or depressed. That’s morbid. Not to mention bizarre. Dogs bury bones, too." One other thing, if you’re looking for a story with a finite ending, this isn’t it. Darkfever is only the beginning and very open-ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Have not read fever series

    But have read all the highlander series. Which were good. But not great. I cant see spending 8 bucks a book (again) when there are more authors who are as good if not better for 1 or 2 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Eh

    I gave this 1 star to counter the overblown 4 star average. I can usually finish a book but this was just not good. It was interesting at times but the writting style was just way too out there for me. I wouldn't have thought it was possible, but I guess there is such thing as too much detail. It will talk for 2 pages about the main character's hair. It does not leave anything to the imagination. I could not finish it but I was expecting something different from the descripton. it maybe a good read for some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    OMG! My Bad...So Many Good Reviews & I Believed :-(

    The main character's are simply awful. The book is over-priced to what is given in the read (tune in next time). I could not wait to finnish and found myself daydreaming . This author could not hold my attention. Mac is a 20 something self-centered brat and Barron is a rough and tough twit. Barron, please stop attacking Mac, she's stupid get over it. Someone said (In a Amazon/Kindle review) to wait and buy them all at the same time because of the cliff hanger's; they said it will be worth it. I want a shadow to eat that person up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    what a waste

    i don't often give books one star, but this one deserves it.

    the book is broing, dry, and repetitive. it breaks all the rules, and not in a good way.

    first, it replaces real drama with dramatic statements like "i would never eat french fries again" and "little did i know in 12 hours i would have blood on my hands". for the record, she didn't actually have blood on her hands.

    second, the main character is so self-centered it makes you wish she had died. she is more upset over breaking a nail than breaking her arm. she cries when she has to cut her hair, and weeps for days over finding out she might be adopted, but isn't upset that the world is ending.

    finally, when there is action she says great things like "i won't bore you with the descriptions of the monsters, i'll just say they were worse than any horror movie". because the half a dozen descriptions of your nail polish color didn't bore me?

    this book was all about telling and no showing. and to add insult to injury, not ONE SINGLE thing got resolved. not one question was answered. and believe you me, i won't bother reading the next one to find out. because much like the main character - i really do not care.

    please, if you're considering reading this book, don't waste your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    PPPTTTHHH!!!!

    Wish I'd known the author is a romance writer BEFORE I bought this book. The "romance/sex" scenes definitely got in the way of what COULD have been a better than average story. I don't give a rat's patootie what the "heroine" was wearing or if her accessories matched. God, do I NEED to know what color her lipstick is??? I sure won't buy any more of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Don't

    Don't waste your time! I just finished this series. Time better spent elsewhere! This is nothing at all even close to the highlander series. Someone tell this women to move on, she isn't J.K. Rowling. To even put her name in the same paragraph with Rowling is a travesty. complete drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    Disappointing

    I read all of the great reviews, and expected a great book (especially since it's free!). Not the case.
    Readers learn a lot more about the main character's nail polish and clothing choice than the scenery (which would be cool, Ireland and all).
    I really could not bring myself to care about the main character, Mac.
    Storyline was not interesting, and the plot didn't pick up at all. Maybe the rest of the series is better, but I'm not willing to buy them.
    I disliked this book enough that I'm planning on deleting this off my nook.

    I'm usually a big fan of paranormal and paranormal romance (so I thought this would be right up my alley), but I was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Horrible

    I couldn't get through this book. The story is written in the first person from the main character's point of view. I just couldn't get myself to care about the main character, Mac. She was just plain dull and not the brightest person around. The plot dragged on with no urgency and I feel like the story was generally disjointed. I was looking forward to finding a new series I could get into, but this just wasn't it. There wasn't a great flow to the story and the writing style didn't engage me or build any suspense. I feel horrible writing a bad review, but if you really want to read a good writer and story I would recommend reading Nalini Singh's psy-changeling series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    The synopsis was better than the book

    I admit I got sucked in by what was written on the back of the book. Never having read any of this woman's books before, I thought I'd give it a change. Never again, it's a crime to call this drivel a paranormal story. The leading lady is a brainless piece of fluff that gives all leading ladies a black eye. I read a few chapters skipped ahead and read some more. Waste of tiny and money. There are writers out there writing paranormal contemporary fiction that are excellent and it is impossible to lump this junk in the same category.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    What Happened???

    I usually enjoy KMM's work, but this one was absolutely a let down! Everytime I find an author and a story line I enjoy, the author goes off the deep end and ventures out in to never, never land. Never, never will I buy another book written by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2006

    Darkfever (Fever Series #1)

    I was looking for romance and got paranormal creatures from an unknown world. I never finished the book because there was never any romance to began with. Why oh why does Mac(and for short that's not a female's name)act so stupid all the time? Karen have fun with your chronicles because I for one won't be buying any of them. I'll cherish your earlier novels. Fans have fun in the Dark Zone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    not impressed

    Most often can not put one of her books down, but I found with this book I could not get passed the first chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    this book sucked

    I did return my book. what a let down!!!! I own everything else but this was terrible. I have never returned a book but this I did on principal, especially the extra money you put out for a hard cover!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13