Customer Reviews for

Darkfever (Fever Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4783 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2619)

4 Star

(1164)

3 Star

(545)

2 Star

(209)

1 Star

(246)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

I consistantly browse free ebooks on B&N.com, but rarely do I find a novel that pulls me in and won't let go!! I was hooked from the second Mac sets foot in Ireland. This book is exciting, fanciful and sexy. I can't wait to download the second in the series. Mac's voice...
I consistantly browse free ebooks on B&N.com, but rarely do I find a novel that pulls me in and won't let go!! I was hooked from the second Mac sets foot in Ireland. This book is exciting, fanciful and sexy. I can't wait to download the second in the series. Mac's voice is honest, heartfelt and completely believable. I've missed this in some of the newer fantasy novels. Please read this, even if you're a skeptic. You'll be pleasantly surprised... I promise.

posted by drubeetoo on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Writer spends to much time talking the character's beauty

OK this is not real bad, however to me it seems the writer spends way to much time talking about how beautiful the main character is. Right down to how beautiful her hair is, and her beautiful eyes. This, continues on and on through out this book. Still, I found to ...
OK this is not real bad, however to me it seems the writer spends way to much time talking about how beautiful the main character is. Right down to how beautiful her hair is, and her beautiful eyes. This, continues on and on through out this book. Still, I found to subject matter decent. Just understand, everyone in this book seems to be both beautiful, strong and so on. Also, considering the main character is all of twenty two years old. And, had never been far from her small home town. The writing style would suggest that she's wise way beyond her years. Now, having said this, I have to go. I need to find the second in the series, so I can find out where the first book left off, and the rest of the story continues. I, believe this is will appeal more to females, than males. But again, here I am a fifty something retired military man finding I need to read more. Just, so I can find out the rest of what is happening in the next series. Thanks, and good day friends

posted by rr67gto on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2619 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 131
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    I consistantly browse free ebooks on B&N.com, but rarely do I find a novel that pulls me in and won't let go!! I was hooked from the second Mac sets foot in Ireland. This book is exciting, fanciful and sexy. I can't wait to download the second in the series. Mac's voice is honest, heartfelt and completely believable. I've missed this in some of the newer fantasy novels. Please read this, even if you're a skeptic. You'll be pleasantly surprised... I promise.

    37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I couldn't believe this book was offered for free. I've read it twice already, and will again now that I have it in eBook format. The characters are well developed and intriguing. Very funny and suspenseful. Fantasy in a real world setting.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    An exceptional book- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Different from the other books I have read by Karen Moning, but loved it.

    Darkfever drew me into the storyline from the first few pages and had me totally captivated to the last page. I loved the relationship between Mac and Barrons. This book hit all the emotions from sadness to loving to being scared out of my skin. Can't wait to read Bloodfever.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Turned out to be a good read after all.

    After reading the reviews I was mixed but decided to give it a chance and was pleasantly surprised.

    I'm not usually into characters, male or female that take so long to find their strengths. And I'm never into girly-girl characters.

    Slow start but I kept reading and it was nice to see the changes Mac goes through, the strength she finds that she wasn't aware she had.

    I just finished downloading the other available books in the series and plan to read them as well.

    Give this book a chance.
    It might start a little slow but its worth the time it takes to get to the really good stuff.
    By the end I wanted more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I Am So Hooked

    At first a little off putting because I'm used to Karen Marie Moning's books being a little more on the graphic side. Meaning in her Highlander series there's sex and a lot of it. I didn't start reading this series until the 2nd book was out so I read 1 and 2 back to back. Once I realized what she was trying to do, I fell in love immediately. The imagery between light and dark has to be my favorite. I just keeping picturing Dublin split in half, one side full of life and light and the other side a dark deadly void, with Barrons Books and Baubles, a beautiful brightly lit old world building, on the border serving as the last beacon of hope. <BR/><BR/>Written in the first person makes it easy to slip into the main character of Mac, aka MacKayla Lane or Ms. Lane if you're Jericho Barrons, her uber sexy mentor/employer/love interest. Karen is doing a fantastic job of introducing just enough questions about the nature of her characters and answering some while still leaving you wanting more and desperate for answers. My biggest question is when is Mac going to get a chance to kick the crap out of Rowena, the smugalicious leader of the Sidh-Seers? I haven't been introduced to a character I don't love. The story is great and fast paced. I wasn't surprised to learn from Karen's website about the purchase for movie rights to this series. It's fantastic and I highly (with sirens blaring) recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of the paranormal genre. Linda Howard put it best with her quote that appears on front cover of the 2nd book, Bloodfever - "More. I want more."

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BUY THIS ENTIRE SERIES RIGHT NOW!

    I bought these books after recommendations and I am a happy, happy , happy! Buy this entire series right now! This story is addictive and original. I could not put any of them down. I love this series! It is going to be torture to wait for the last installment.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Exciting. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Recently while traveling someone mentioned this series. This is not my usual type of reading but the first book DarkFever was free so I gave it a try. I read it in one day and bought all the other books available in the series over the next two days. I could not put them down..... I have now read them all and hope the next one in the series comes out early.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A new favorite!

    Great for anyone who likes the Urban Fantasy sub-genre. I blasted through this book and the 4 that come after in the record time of roughly 3 weeks. If you like Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld series or Laruel K Hamilton's Merry Gentry series, odds are you'll want to give this one a try.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Awesome series!

    My sister bought this book on a whim looking for a good series book and this one did not disappoint! She raved about the book and passed it along to me and I am thankful that she did. This is one of my favorite series of books. Having read Twilight and becoming hungry for more supernatural/fantasy series love stories I have read many many series (Marked, Vampire Academy, Vampire Diaries, Night World, Evermore, Fallen, Mortal Instruments, Hunger Games..to name a few) and this 1 definately sticks in my mind. I love the guessing games you are constantly playing with yourself as you read this awesome and unique story. True that the author did go on and on and on about how beautiful and fashionable her lead character was, but you get over that quickly as the story draws you in. Her characters aren't perfect role-models who don't make mistakes and always do and say the right thing and that makes it even better. This series is a great read and I couldn't put down a single one of them! I went on only a few hours of sleep for days just so I could stay in this world that was so stimulating and exciting with surprises everwhere! BUY BUY BUY without a doubt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a READ!

    I'm continually shocked at the books the B&N are releasing first as FREE READS. This one is no exception. I didn't expect much to come from reading it, but I was shocked!

    I was totally engrossed in the characters from the first page forward and could not put it down - seeing it thru to the end.

    I didn't know it was a series at first. Now, I just have to get the next four!

    Will definitely be adding Ms. Moning on my author's to read list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Free download gone right

    I stumbled upon this series because of a free e-book down load and I am SO glad I did. I have caught up on the series and I am desperate for the final book in Jan '11. The dialogue is witty, the characters are relateable and the story is original and fun.
    I've read and re-read and glean something new each time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best freebe ever

    I picked up this book as a free download for my Nook. That's always an iffy prospect. But I became so enthralled with both the characters and the premise of the book that I had to purchase at least two more in the series. The characters are dark, sometimes twisted, definitely tormented. But there's always a thin ray of hope and just enough positive momentum to the story to keep you hooked. This is definitely a book to add to your library shelf - especially if you like science fiction/fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    I'm Hooked

    I was stoked to find this book as a free ebook and extremely pleasantly surprised that it was so good. The characters are really interested and the story is really good. I've read all four books in the series and I cannot wait until the next and final book comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book in a While!

    This book has got me hooked.
    At first I thought it would be just "another vampire book" FAR FROM IT.
    Its trilling, mysterious, sexy and it keeps you going!
    I couldnt put down my nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    great book

    This was a great book! It was a little hard to get into, but as soon as i finished this book i immediately bought the second one and am currently reading right now! I would definitely recommend this book, even more so if you are interested in the Fae world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    So I will admit the only reason I picked this up was because it was free. The first 30 pages were a little dry and then.....BOOM! I really am glad I stuck with it! This book was great! I love the kind of book that when you finish it you get angry because you want it to keep on going! I could not put this book down. The players in the story keep you wondering what is going on but the story flows and keeps you interested! You want to know more, you want the story to continue! I read this book in one day because I could not put it down once I got into it! The plot is good and the story is enough differnt from others of its kind that you enjoy the authors spin on the topic. You will buy the rest of this series once you read the first. The author is such a find!!! Read enjoy and get ready to read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Was Hooked by the First Words

    I was hooked by the first words of Darkfever. Mac completely grabbed me and took me on a journey, the likes of which I never imagined could be in this innocent enough looking book and title. But I should have known better with "fever" in the title. I have read quite a few books in my lifetime, thousands if I must add a number. But, Darkfever left me in a fever, the proper treatment, I am yet to find. The only treatment, I guess, is the other books in the series, to wit, Bloodfever, which I have just ordered. I guess the short term treatment will be more of the fever series books. Then what will I do when it all comes to an end. I would imagine withdrawal symptoms like an heroin addict will be the order of the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Gripping Story!

    I was a bit skeptical at first whether I would enjoy this book, but my skepticism was quickly overcome by a story that weaves together interesting characters, conflict, suspense and action in a truly fresh, entertaining manner. The story line has more twists and turns than a roller coaster, interlaced with many cliff-hangars, making this a hard story to put down and walk away from. Delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Dark Fevers AMAZING!!!

    i AM SO IMPRESSED WITH kAREN mONING'S fAE SERIES. iF YOU HAVEN'T BEGUN IT, you are in for a treat! The characters, plot, interesting relics, etc. are all spell binding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2619 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 131