Customer Reviews for

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1)

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

My friend Andy asked me to check this book out and even though I thought it wasn't really the kind of book that I would beable to get into I started it with an open mind. Shortly into the book, I was spellbound. I felt like I was right there in the lighthouse experienci...
My friend Andy asked me to check this book out and even though I thought it wasn't really the kind of book that I would beable to get into I started it with an open mind. Shortly into the book, I was spellbound. I felt like I was right there in the lighthouse experiencing the same things Perry and Dex were. I didn't want to put the book down. Once I got finished, I immediately had to get the next book and get started reading. Thank you Andy for asking me to read this and thank you Karina for writing such a great book.

posted by pennyNE on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

So wanted to give this 5 stars

But the book is seriously plagued with typos. I found myself constantly editing this book in my head. If typos bother you run don't walk away. Also there was an excessive use of profanity. If that bothers you this book will be hard to read as it is nearly every sent...
But the book is seriously plagued with typos. I found myself constantly editing this book in my head. If typos bother you run don't walk away. Also there was an excessive use of profanity. If that bothers you this book will be hard to read as it is nearly every sentence that some from of profanity is used and the F word in particular is constantly before you. Geez, the story could have stood on its own without so much graphic language. The story is interesting and held my attention but because of the language and typos I want be returning to the next installment.

posted by SFL on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Amazing

    I have read this entire series and it is awesome. The charactets are very relateable and the plot is scary with a small serving of romance. Horror is not bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm having a lot of fun reading this series. Each book is better

    I'm having a lot of fun reading this series. Each book is better than the one before. The author has created people you can care about and relate to. It's great to read a good ghost story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    this book was great i could not put it down

    this book was great i could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Exciting read

    This book got me hooked on the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED IN THE BEGINNING BUT ONCE I GOT INTO THE MIDDLE OF THE BOOK I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. GREAT READ ! ONTO TO PART 2 NOW =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Scary

    Scary as heck! Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Get sucked in!

    Love this series! Anxiously awaiting the next Dex and Perry installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    I read this book, loved it, bought the series, read all of them and became a fan in a single week. That hasn't happened in a very long time. We will be seeing Karina on the New York Times Bestseller list eventually! I also found her on facebook too. A smart and fun series!

    Perry, her main character, is like us, with a few added quirks. As for Dex, your never quite sure if you should hug him, or push him away. Makes for an interesting relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Very much enjoyed this book! Yes, there are some errors but it

    Very much enjoyed this book! Yes, there are some errors but it is
    written very creatively. I went right into the 2nd and 3rd one and
    ready to start the 4th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    The 1st book got me hooked! I read all the books in this series in aweek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was awesome. I loved every word and it left me wanting more of perry and dex. Great job! It was a fast read and so worth it. Give us more i will be thinking from time to time about you, the author hard at work on the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Team Perry & Dex!

    Creepy, fun, I love the characters. What a great start to an amazing series. I also love the videos the author made to go along with each book: little book trailers. Genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I ordered this book on a whim and wound up ordering the rest ! I

    I ordered this book on a whim and wound up ordering the rest ! It is quite addicting and can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved this book! I could not put it down.

    Absolutely loved this book! I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Great Read! I just purchased the rest of the available books in

    Great Read! I just purchased the rest of the available books in the series. Looking for book number 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Well written! Believable characters experiencing real & some

    Well written! Believable characters experiencing real & sometimes quirky feeling that we all have sometimes. I started it in the late morning, couldn't put it down and devoured it by dinner time. Looking forward to the next four installments. This promises to be an addicting series, who could ask for more? Try it, you will not regret it in the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    My new favorite series

    I'm addicted to this series can't get enough. Had to find 2nd book on amazon books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Fabulous

    A good book with good charaters. I enjoyed this book can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Wow!

    This was a fast read and it kept my attention. The scare is in the imagination and I like that. Too bad B&N doesn't have the 2nd book or the 2.5 book on Nook. I have had to buy it on Kindle and read it on my Tablet instead of Nook. B&N have the 3rd and 4th books in the series on Nook so at least I can go back to my favorite reading companion, my Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Loved this

    Well written characters, easy to dig into. Reccommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5