Customer Reviews for

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1)

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

My friend Andy asked me to check this book out and even though I thought it wasn't really the kind of book that I would beable to get into I started it with an open mind. Shortly into the book, I was spellbound. I felt like I was right there in the lighthouse experienci...
My friend Andy asked me to check this book out and even though I thought it wasn't really the kind of book that I would beable to get into I started it with an open mind. Shortly into the book, I was spellbound. I felt like I was right there in the lighthouse experiencing the same things Perry and Dex were. I didn't want to put the book down. Once I got finished, I immediately had to get the next book and get started reading. Thank you Andy for asking me to read this and thank you Karina for writing such a great book.

posted by pennyNE on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

So wanted to give this 5 stars

But the book is seriously plagued with typos. I found myself constantly editing this book in my head. If typos bother you run don't walk away. Also there was an excessive use of profanity. If that bothers you this book will be hard to read as it is nearly every sent...
But the book is seriously plagued with typos. I found myself constantly editing this book in my head. If typos bother you run don't walk away. Also there was an excessive use of profanity. If that bothers you this book will be hard to read as it is nearly every sentence that some from of profanity is used and the F word in particular is constantly before you. Geez, the story could have stood on its own without so much graphic language. The story is interesting and held my attention but because of the language and typos I want be returning to the next installment.

posted by SFL on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    The story is well told and original.

    The story is well told and original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Do you believe in the power of friendship...

    *Skit* person#1: i have to ask you a question.
    Person#2: ok what is it?
    Person#1: ok i need a really serious answer.
    Person#2:and i will give you a serious injury if you dont just me the question.
    Person#1: ok ok OMG i cant believe im going to ask this!
    Person#2: well then could you hurry up i have to watch my pre-ordered Dora marathon. I mean my grown up shows.
    Person#1: im going to pretend i didnt hear that. Anyway... do you know...
    Person#2: DO I KNOW WHAT?!?!
    Person#1: do you know the Muffin Man?
    Person#2: i cant believe i missed my marathon for this dumb question that took you over an hour to ask. And dont you EVER joke like that about my cousin the Muffin Man ever again.
    Person#1: *crying* I was being serious about it though. Because i dont know the muffin man! And i was just embarrassed to ask you and i knew he was your ciusin! So goodbye muffin man knower!

    Thank- You for taking the time to read my post!
    ~ Princess Rosalina Gonzolas

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    good book

    Was good and very descriptive but dragged on too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Must read!

    This is number one in the Experiment in Terror series although it is not the best of the series it is a must read to get to the others. It still has spooks and just a hint of romance. Overall the series is a 5star series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    You will not be disappointed!!

    You will not be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Love it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    loved it totally enthralled from first to last Good book

    Totally enthralled from first to last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    doesn't even rate a half star

    This is one of the worst books I've ever read. I kept waiting for the plot to develop and it never did. The paranormal aspect of the story never made any sense except for being threatening to the protagonist. The grammatical errors were frequent and glaring and very annoying. The main characters held little appeal and I can't believe there was enough interest to warrant several additional episodes. I thought maybe the book was self published but I discovered it was published by some obscure press.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Once i got into loved it

    Totally hooked on this series. Once it started i didnt want it to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Not scary at all.

    The book itself was good. I did like it. But I only gave it two stars because it is categorized as horror and it is most definately not a horror novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Good.

    It's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good read!

    I will definitely get the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Good story

    This was a good ghost story. Looking forward to reading the rest in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This series had me ay Perry...

    What a great series! Perry and Dex are the coolest and always keep me wanting more! I do not want this series to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Awesome!

    They were a clever bunch to make this one a freebie. After reading Dark House, I was hooked. What an awesome book and series! Just the perfect amount of angst, lust, and creepiness. Read this book and all of the ones that come after. You will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Love love love

    These book keeps u on ur toes. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Just okay

    Not really terrifying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This is where you need to start...

    Totally has me hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    This is my new favorite author - and I read a lot. Once you get

    This is my new favorite author - and I read a lot. Once you get a taste of Dex and Perry you want more. I've read all of this series only to start immediately afterwards to read them all over again - can't get enough.

    As one reader put it, I'd give it a 6 star if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Good read

    Can't wait read what adventures await Dex and Perry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 209 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11