Customer Reviews for

Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 940 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(495)

4 Star

(265)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

just...amazing...

This book was an awesome read. A serial killer who only kills "bad people", what a concept, huh? and it makes for a great story. I saw the first two seasons of the series on showtime and loved it, so I decided to give the books a try. I picked this one up the other day ...
This book was an awesome read. A serial killer who only kills "bad people", what a concept, huh? and it makes for a great story. I saw the first two seasons of the series on showtime and loved it, so I decided to give the books a try. I picked this one up the other day at a local used book store and once i started reading it I couldnt put it down. I figured that since i still knew most of the plot line it wouldnt be as intriguing but it deffinitely was. finished it in about 3 days and thats fast for me because normally I'm doing all kinds of other things and just don't have as much time to read, but I made time for this book. Lindsay just pulls you in and engrosses you into the story. And I never thought i would be rooting for a serial killer not to get caught. I was also highly surprised to see that the 1st season of the show stuck pretty closely to the book. Of course they added some things and changed a couple things but all the basis was there and a lot was the same. This book was thrilling, exciting, funny,....it had it all. so if you are even considering this book. Give it a try..i don't think you will regret it.

posted by blake_taylor on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Case in Which the Show is Better

I'm a huge Dexter fan when it comes to the show on ShowTime, so I decided to take a stab at the books once I found out the show was based on a series. Huge disappointment. The show is much more intense and the story and plot details outshine the book's ideas. This is de...
I'm a huge Dexter fan when it comes to the show on ShowTime, so I decided to take a stab at the books once I found out the show was based on a series. Huge disappointment. The show is much more intense and the story and plot details outshine the book's ideas. This is definitely a case where the show is more deeply involved than the book.
There are twists and turns in the show that keep the audience enthrawled with Dexter's character and the characters around him, but the book lacks any sort of excitement. The way the show manages to mold all the characters together and twist the audience's mind into thinking bad guys are good guys and good guys are bad guys is just amazing.
I had to force myself to finish this book, and I am usually a quick reader. This book, however, had me reading it for over a week and it's less than 300 pages. This was probably the case because every time I sat down to read it I became SO bored that I actually attempted to find anything and everything else to do.
It you're attempting to read this book because you love the show, have second thoughts and Don't.

posted by anna-b on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Case in Which the Show is Better

    I'm a huge Dexter fan when it comes to the show on ShowTime, so I decided to take a stab at the books once I found out the show was based on a series. Huge disappointment. The show is much more intense and the story and plot details outshine the book's ideas. This is definitely a case where the show is more deeply involved than the book.
    There are twists and turns in the show that keep the audience enthrawled with Dexter's character and the characters around him, but the book lacks any sort of excitement. The way the show manages to mold all the characters together and twist the audience's mind into thinking bad guys are good guys and good guys are bad guys is just amazing.
    I had to force myself to finish this book, and I am usually a quick reader. This book, however, had me reading it for over a week and it's less than 300 pages. This was probably the case because every time I sat down to read it I became SO bored that I actually attempted to find anything and everything else to do.
    It you're attempting to read this book because you love the show, have second thoughts and Don't.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    I loved the showtime series so I decided to check out the books.

    I loved the showtime series so I decided to check out the books. I was very disappointed, this is the 1st time I can say the TV show is better than the book. In the book Dexter is not nearly as fast on his feet & doesn't know if he is doing the "ice trucker killings".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Dexter Dud

    I haven't seen the tv series. Wanted to read the books first. Hope the tv show is better than the book. Predictable plot/ending. The book is as bland as Dexter's personality. And there are a lot of holes in the story. Great concept. Poor delivery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    TV series definitely better than the books. The concept is grea

    TV series definitely better than the books. The concept is great but the author is not just up to the task. In other words, the writing is not all that great. Sorry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Fan of show? Skip the books.

    I have a very biased opinion of the book because i watch Dexter. I decided to read the books to see where the inspiration for my favorite character came from. I got the sample and was stoked when it started pretty much the same as the show...Dexter's first kill...however, as i got more into it it wasn't as good as i anticipated. I am a very visual reader, meaning i can practically see a movie playing in my head as i read. It was nearly impossible for me to picture book dexter as show dexter. The character was a lot different than in the show. Book Dexter was careless, and killed a victim without any planning, nearly got caught, and left the body for police to find...The story line is almost the same, but i like what the producers did with it. There is a lot more suspense in the show, and i had to practically force myself to read the entire book. I absolutely hated the ending to the book. I have never read a book completely through and turned out as disappointed as i did for this one...i havent read the other books yet and don't know if i will..If you watch the show, i would just skip the books. If you haven't watched the show, you might enjoy the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    help me understand whats inside dexters head

    help me understand whats inside dexters head

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To bland.. Not enough action

    It was just to bland. Not enough action, nothing compared to the "Dexter" on t.v.Because of the show I was expecting more blood, gore, and creepy parts. The book failed to engage my nightmares. It seemed to skip over so many parts and I believe that the show had many more (ah) Deep inclination of the breath factor.I'm a little skeptical on buying the next book but since I started it, I will finish it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Very similar to Show- Some details reworked

    I sabotaged myself when reading this. My bf decided to buy the first season while i was in the middle of reading and now I have almost no interest in reading the book b/c of how similar it all is...while the storyline is a bit different, its not different enough from the show to still hold my interest. So with that said...I would reccomend reading the sample or reading an hour of it at barnes and noble before buying (only if you have watched the show) if not then the book is enjoyable and twisted and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2