BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 937 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(493)

4 Star

(264)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

just...amazing...

This book was an awesome read. A serial killer who only kills "bad people", what a concept, huh? and it makes for a great story. I saw the first two seasons of the series on showtime and loved it, so I decided to give the books a try. I picked this one up the other day ...
This book was an awesome read. A serial killer who only kills "bad people", what a concept, huh? and it makes for a great story. I saw the first two seasons of the series on showtime and loved it, so I decided to give the books a try. I picked this one up the other day at a local used book store and once i started reading it I couldnt put it down. I figured that since i still knew most of the plot line it wouldnt be as intriguing but it deffinitely was. finished it in about 3 days and thats fast for me because normally I'm doing all kinds of other things and just don't have as much time to read, but I made time for this book. Lindsay just pulls you in and engrosses you into the story. And I never thought i would be rooting for a serial killer not to get caught. I was also highly surprised to see that the 1st season of the show stuck pretty closely to the book. Of course they added some things and changed a couple things but all the basis was there and a lot was the same. This book was thrilling, exciting, funny,....it had it all. so if you are even considering this book. Give it a try..i don't think you will regret it.

posted by blake_taylor on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Case in Which the Show is Better

I'm a huge Dexter fan when it comes to the show on ShowTime, so I decided to take a stab at the books once I found out the show was based on a series. Huge disappointment. The show is much more intense and the story and plot details outshine the book's ideas. This is de...
I'm a huge Dexter fan when it comes to the show on ShowTime, so I decided to take a stab at the books once I found out the show was based on a series. Huge disappointment. The show is much more intense and the story and plot details outshine the book's ideas. This is definitely a case where the show is more deeply involved than the book.
There are twists and turns in the show that keep the audience enthrawled with Dexter's character and the characters around him, but the book lacks any sort of excitement. The way the show manages to mold all the characters together and twist the audience's mind into thinking bad guys are good guys and good guys are bad guys is just amazing.
I had to force myself to finish this book, and I am usually a quick reader. This book, however, had me reading it for over a week and it's less than 300 pages. This was probably the case because every time I sat down to read it I became SO bored that I actually attempted to find anything and everything else to do.
It you're attempting to read this book because you love the show, have second thoughts and Don't.

posted by anna-b on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Not bad

    I saw the tv series before reading the book. I could picture the cast acting out the scenes. Dexters narritive is sometimes to descriptive and lost me at some points. Overall a good quick read. Looking foward to the next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    God it's disturbing how good this is

    A slow to start at first but then it turns very bloody & very "Dexter"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Very good

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It gives you a lot of information about Dexter's childhood/trauma and his foster father, Harry. The descriptions of his dark passenger are fascinating. I love the interactions (aka. face-offs between them) of one dark passenger to another. Not to mention that he is a serial killer of killers, all according to the rules of engagement taught to him by Harry. Even more surprising is that he rigidly follows the Harry rules every time.

    You are introduced to his sister and brother. His outlook on relationships and work is so dry, but he tries to put a positive spin on it all. Dexter's darkness spliced with a sense of humor keeps me reading these books in short order. The only thing that bothers me is the large amount of self pity and self loathing that is repeatedly mentioned. However, it serves the purpose of making him more human. It's okay.

    I read book #5 first, so it was interesting to go back and meet his brother for the first time. You do not have to read them in order (as they are nearly self contained novels), but it is best to develop with the characters from the beginning.

    I will be reading all of these books. I liked them that much! I have very few series that I commit to reading thoroughly, but this is one of them.

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This book is awesome! Read this book super quick. The beginning of the book matches up perfectly with the first season but it doesnt match up as the book continues. The show is different compared to this book. Youll see what Im talking about once you read it. FYI: Deborah is super annoying in the book just like in the show. Grrrr.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Storm

    I'm sorry...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Really good

    This book is really good. Great storyline and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    The only thing that withheld me from giving this book a five sta

    The only thing that withheld me from giving this book a five star rating is that the ending is exceptionally rushed. It left me rather confused with minor details, probably would have with major ones too if I wasn't a fan of the show.

    Despite that, the rest of the novel was fantastic. I'm not a fast or constant reader. But I read this one in a couple of sittings, I couldn't bring myself to put it down most of the time. I'd recommend it to anyone whether they were a fan of the show or not. I loved nearly everything about this book and will be buying the sequel tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dexter Delivers!

    While the overall premise sounded interesting, I’ll admit I went in prepared to be disturbed or disappointed somehow because I’m typically a supernatural/dystopian thriller type girl. However, at least in this case, I had no trouble being charmed. The author not only created a very unique protagonist (a blood-thirsty serial killer you can’t help loving?) but he also followed through with a storyline that kept you mystified and wanting more until the very end. If I had to find fault with anything it would probably be Dexter’s sister and her almost unrealistically grating personality, but aside from that I found this to be a wholly original and clever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fayth @ Starcrossed

    It was a long venture to get through this book, because I have a policy where I don't watch anything before I read the book(s) of basis. I accidentally watched the first season of Dexter before I found out about the book series. So, like a good girl, I refrained from watching the second season and began Dexter. In January. See, there is a reason I have this rule: my love of suspense rivals my love of reading. Another love of mine is being in the know, for when I watch the movies/tv series/whatever based on said book. And although Dexter season 1 and Darkly Dreaming Dexter were different, the gist was basically the same. So, since I knew the gist, it was hard to focus on this book and not read another one.
    Boring note aside, this book was enjoyable, once I FINALLY sucked it up and read it. Dexter's character is interesting- he's hilarious, a blood spatter analyst, and a serial killer- which makes it fun to read things from his point of view. The mystery, which wasn't such a mystery to me (although a lot of elements were different) was a darn good one. The characters were developed well. I could see them all as real people. Which is why I hate Deb, Dexter's sister. The entire book she was such a grouch. Ugh.
    I am definitely looking forward to reading the next books in the series. It's the Sookie Stackhouse series all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Love Dexter

    Be it TV or book I just love Dexter. Nice thing about the book is that you get to have more insight. Also a lot more detail about his adopted family and what happened to him as a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    worth while read

    The book is a lot different than the show is, but if you like the complex character that is Dexter you will love this book. It is not as good as the show is, but it is still a really good book and I can't wait to read the next book to see what Dexter does next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Dexter is born

    Amazingly fast read and great story. Look forward to reading the rest of them to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Seriously twisted, but I LOVE IT!!!

    This book is great! Dexter is seriously twisted, but I love the premise of the books! I couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    The Mind of Dexter

    This book really gives you a good look into how Dexter perceives things. Great book...hard to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Darkly Dreaming Dexter...

    I read the books after watching the series as fast as I could...what can I say, I was a late bloomer. That said, this beginner's novel did not disappoint and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lindsay knows his character

    The best part of the Dexter series is Jeff Lindsay's knowledge of his main character Dexter. I often find myself laughing out loud at Dexter's social commentaries, everything Dexter says (and thinks) is witty and charming and you fall in love with him, his off-putting hobby and all.

    I picked up the Dexter series after watching and enjoying the first and second season of the television show. Darkly Dreaming Dexter runs mostly parallel with the first season of the show, but with a few interesting differences that definitely make it worth your time to read and watch them both. After this book however the series really branch off of one another, making it fun to read and watch simultaneously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I Loved It

    Jeff Lindsay has created his own category of fiction with the Dexter series. I read this book after being introduced to the Showtime Dexter. I loved it. It's full of darkly diseased humor, along with a thrilling suspense of how Dex incorporates the "Rule of Harey" to survive in his uniquely disturbed world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Delightful Darkly Dreaming Dexter

    This was a fun read. If you like the show odds are you will enjoy the book. My boyfriend and I read it aloud to each other in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book about a guy you hate to like

    On the surface there's really no reason you should like Dexter. He's a serial killer, how is that likable? But his charm, his wit, and his rules to what he does quickly allows you to warm up to him. He kills bad guys and you cheer him on. A delightfully demented little romp that is fairly well represented by the TV show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14