Customer Reviews for

The Darkness (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Series but....

I purchased this series on my nook because it is one of the best I have ever read. At the time of purchase I purchased these books as lend me books. I noticed a few months later that they no longer had the lend me icon in my nook library. When I called B&N I was told th...
I purchased this series on my nook because it is one of the best I have ever read. At the time of purchase I purchased these books as lend me books. I noticed a few months later that they no longer had the lend me icon in my nook library. When I called B&N I was told that the publisher can choose to retract lend me at any time. I feel that at the time of purchase if the books are lend me they should not be able to go back on a purchase. After all I cannot get a refund after I have read the books. And what is the point of using lend me as a sales pitch when it can be withdrawn at anytime following a purchase. I do not think this is fair to the consumer.

posted by 2266363 on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An interesting vampire story, but written with a lot of slang - in street slang, it is a bit hard to follow for middle-American reading.

The lead characters are fairly well defined, but the use of colloquialism throughout makes it difficult to understand what the characters are saying many times. The characters are a rap or soul band (never quite defined - I will call it rap but that may not have been t...
The lead characters are fairly well defined, but the use of colloquialism throughout makes it difficult to understand what the characters are saying many times. The characters are a rap or soul band (never quite defined - I will call it rap but that may not have been the intent of the writer) with a female vampire-hunter as the lead singer. Other friends and relatives make appearances and add warmth and depth to the characterizations.

The lead characters travel into Hades and the vivid pictures painted of the various levels are well defined in the early parts of the book, but later portions of the book seem to minimize or even ignore the powers of the satanic beings on these levels that are defined in the early going.

The lead character (the story is often told from her perspectives) is the female lead singer whose music is supposedly so powerful that it shakes the netherlands when she and her band sing their songs - a child-like concept that is hard to accept and that takes away from the rest of the book, in my view.

The writer defines different levels of hell and uses demons and vampires throughout the story line as the heroine works to save mankind from what appears to be a manifestation of the anti-christ, a demonic child born of the devil and of a long-dead evil woman. The book ties in with other books in a series, and I have not read the other books. It stands well on its own, though.

In other specifics, the sexuality and the romance between the heroine and her boyfriend Carlos, a sympathetic character who was a former drug dealer who has been rescued from near-damnation but is still on the brink, is a bit forced and does not flow well within the context of the novel. I could buy into the general concept, but with the overlay of the forced sexuality, the street dialogue, and the strange notion that this one unique individual and her band could somehow shake the spirit world all the way to the deepest levels make it a difficult premise to accept.

I much prefer the complex but more fluid work of Patricia Briggs and her Mercy Thompson series (Part 1 is refenced in the I recommend group below) or even the rather pulpish Twilight series in this genre.

That is not to say that the book is not good or that it is not worth reading if this type of escapism interests you as it does me. I just think there are better choices.

posted by -Q- on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    great

    i am most happy with this shipment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE

    I am usually not a fan of a series of books with this many books. But this series just keeps getting better. I love the ending. Yonnie finds happiness (I don't want to give too much away). It is a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Page Turner

    I really enjoyed reading this book and the series. I found myself wanting to know what was going to happen next. All of the characters are developed and your imagination is allowed to take over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    I have the whole seris of books. They are the type of books once you read them you cant put them down no matter what. Also the story lines are ones that readers can relate to and go to everyday life. You can reread the books and never get tired of the direction that they head you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love all her books!!

    Each of her books leave me impatient for the next! I will be really sad to see this story end! I'm not so in to the Crimson Moon series so I really hope she starts another thread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    LA.Banks has outdone herself with this book.

    LA.Banks is an outstanding writer when it comes to good and evil.The Darkness is the best book yet.LA.Banks has done it once again.I love the way she mixes fiction with her knowledge of the bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Banks Does It Yet Again

    The Darkness is book ten in the Vampire Huntress Legend Series. And by far, it has to be one of the best books ever written in the series!! Once I began reading about the exploits of vampire huntress Da'Mali and her Neteru guardian squad, I did not want the story to end. For long time readers of this series, I recommend picking up this book immediately to add on to your collections. For those who have never read this series, I recommend that you start now! You are missing out on a wonderful group of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    WOW!!!

    WOW!!! This series just keeps getting better and better!!! I can't say enough about how good they ALL are!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    The Darkness

    Damali, Carlos and The Guardian¿s break is over and they are back to fighting evil. Because of the battle at Masada, the team and Neturu Council believed they won a major victory for the Light. The truth is that Lilith and her husband loss as Masada was nothing short of history in the making. There are no boundaries to the evil that these two possess. Darkness knows that Lu¿s heir apparent needs extreme security and rest so that he can emerge with great strength for the upcoming battle's'. Lilith is rewarded with the daylight bite and the ability to make Councilmen day-walkers. Their mission is to wreak havoc on The Guardian team to weaken their defenses, while healing and adding to their own side. The Guardian¿s worldwide will have to carve out evil¿s heart in ¿The Darkness¿ by any means necessary. There are new dimensions at work in ¿The Darkness¿ that the team has never seen before ¿day-walkers¿. The knowledge that soon they will no longer have the cover of daylight to kill demons and vampires, will increase their need to use every gift they have available to ultimately win this ongoing battle between good end evil. This vampire huntress series sizzles with excitement, explosive fight scenes, with a mixture of friends, family, faith, love, believe and hope. The spiritual depth of the series brings together multiple cultures for the sole purpose of saving humankind and to overcome evil. Seeing the aspects of this story as each book unfolds, adds another layer to the foundation it¿s built on, even as the Armageddon demands all out war towards peace, makes this vampire series inimitable and extraordinary. Get your copy today! You will join the legions of other fans that simply can¿t get enough of this Vampire Huntress Legend series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Let the games begin.

    This is the beginning of the end of an awesome series. The final trilogy of books is dubbed the 'Armageddon Finale'. The Neteru guardian team is doing it big. Power is concentrating for both the Light and the Dark sides. With reinforcements arriving from multiple realms and backups from various local teams the Neteru team is quite literally and figuratively globe-hopping to fight evil. There is never a dull moment as even a relaxing meal can turn into a fight for life and death, darkness and light. This book doesn't just tie up loose odds and ends, but continues to move the story forward. With the introduction and promise of new villains and heroes one is left wandering...is the really the beginning of the end...or is this really just the beginning?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Out of the Darkness...

    The Darkeness is da BOMB! Mayhem, Lust and the Light are in full affect in the 10th installment of the Vampire Huntress Legend Series. I am in awe of LA Banks writing skills and her ability to continue with fresh ideas this amazing series as we awaite the Armageddon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    High Praise for L.A. Banks---She's Done it Again!

    The Neteru squad was trying to get a little well-deserved rest when out of Hell a daywalker makes his presence known and that's just the beginning....Lucifer gets all gussied up and struts into Church like it's HIS house 'just cross yourselves and say Amen--okaaay?'....Baddies we never expected have been resurrected to mate with new daywalker councilmen....A child sees & hears things most children have no concept of....Entities that we wondered about make an appearance in the Neteru Council of Kings & Queens....Biblical seals are opened....Oh, and let me also mention that the Anti-Christ exists even after the battle at Masada.... Oh, yeah......this is definitely a MUST-READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Armageddon has begun two seals have been broken people are living the end of days and forty thousand demons were destroyed at the Battle of Masada. Neterus Damali and Carlos Rivera thought they destroyed Lilith¿s progeny but they were very much mistaken. The future anti-Christ clearly hid himself from the Neterus and the Guardians and is now in a chrysalis state waiting to Become. Lucifer is overjoyed and he allows Lilith to give the daywalker bite to the members of the Vampire Council including Fallon Nuit, Sebastian and Yonni (Carlos¿s spy). P Lucifer wants to cause confusion and turmoil that will fracture the Guardians & Neterus unity so he attacks Father Pat, a man dear to Carlos. When he tries to save the priest, some of the Dark¿s poison enters Carlos and make it easier for Hell to track him. After a bloody battle in New York City, Carlos is badly injured and Damali takes him to the plane where the former Neterus live near to Heaven. If Carlos recovers, he and Damali plan to find and kill what will become the anti-Christ and stop the Armageddon attack from happening. P THE DARKNESS, the latest vampire huntress legend novel, picks up where the last book in the series left off. Combining elements of apocalyptic and supernatural horror, urban fantasy and romance, this work is refreshingly original, enthralling and totally intense. As the series progresses the characters change and grow not always as expected. As Damali and Carlos mature, they are more in love than ever. L.A. Banks has written one of the best vampire sagas of the new millennium.--------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2