Customer Reviews for

Darkness Becomes Her

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Darkness Becomes Her ARC review

Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural el...
Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural elements you are a fan of in other books but written in a manner that has not been written before. The Greek mythology is a perfect blend to go along with a futuristic New Orleans. Kelly wrote each characters flawless. One thing thats very important to me when I read a new book or series is, are the characters memorable? Yes they are in Darkness becomes her.

I will give as much as I can without spoiling the book. Picture New Orleans in the future after 2 massive Hurricanes ruin what you know today as New Orleans. The United States doesn't even consider it part of the country anymore. A group of wealthy families buy New Orleans and change the name to New 2. We are introduced to Ari she considers her self very strange. It might be due to the fact that she has white hair and teal eyes, did I mention if she cuts her hair it reappears again. Ari wants to know more of her past such as her mother since sh has been in foster care practically all her life. She finds a message from her mom, its real simple. RUN! well I can tell you Ari runs but right to the place her mother meant for her to stay away from New 2. On this trip she comes across what the books calls misfits. They began to help Ari in her journey to discover her past and possibly who or what she is. The oldest on the group is named Sebastian, it turns out Sebastian is more than what meets the eyes. Sebastian and the rest show Ari she is not alone in being different, New 2 is a haven for the different. Ari then begins to discover her part and what she finds out is not something you can swallow down easily, will her new friends stick by her side? On February 22nd go to the book store and pick up your copy to find out. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Twilightsdance on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Meh....

This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers...
This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

posted by Rachelfish on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Becomes Her ARC review

    Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural elements you are a fan of in other books but written in a manner that has not been written before. The Greek mythology is a perfect blend to go along with a futuristic New Orleans. Kelly wrote each characters flawless. One thing thats very important to me when I read a new book or series is, are the characters memorable? Yes they are in Darkness becomes her.

    I will give as much as I can without spoiling the book. Picture New Orleans in the future after 2 massive Hurricanes ruin what you know today as New Orleans. The United States doesn't even consider it part of the country anymore. A group of wealthy families buy New Orleans and change the name to New 2. We are introduced to Ari she considers her self very strange. It might be due to the fact that she has white hair and teal eyes, did I mention if she cuts her hair it reappears again. Ari wants to know more of her past such as her mother since sh has been in foster care practically all her life. She finds a message from her mom, its real simple. RUN! well I can tell you Ari runs but right to the place her mother meant for her to stay away from New 2. On this trip she comes across what the books calls misfits. They began to help Ari in her journey to discover her past and possibly who or what she is. The oldest on the group is named Sebastian, it turns out Sebastian is more than what meets the eyes. Sebastian and the rest show Ari she is not alone in being different, New 2 is a haven for the different. Ari then begins to discover her part and what she finds out is not something you can swallow down easily, will her new friends stick by her side? On February 22nd go to the book store and pick up your copy to find out. You will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh....

    This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    meah...

    I was really excited to read this book. From all the pre-release reviews and the author's description I couldn't wait until it came out. Sadly, I thought it was very hyped up. Not that the book wasn't good in its own right, I just think it was marketed to the wrong age group. Regular readers of this genre (such as myself) may want something a little more in the way of character depth and story build up. This is not to say the book wouldn't be good for new-comers to paranormal romance, just that as an avid reader of the like, I was not impressed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular

    Darkness Becomes Her is like nothing I've read before. It's spooky, charming, and intriguing. A book that has one of the most unique plot lines I've read in the last few months, which proves Kelly Keaton to be one fabulous author, in my opinion.

    Darkness Becomes Her tells the story of Ari. Ari's felt different than most people not only because of the fact she's been in foster care the majority of her life, but with her teal eyes and silver hair it's hard to call herself "normal." Add in the fact that she just discovered her mom killed herself over delusions, Ari has never felt more lost in life. She decides the best way to get answers about her past and her mom, is to go back to her birth-place, the newly rebuilt city of New Orleans called New 2. There she meets a group of misfits just like herself, as well as a possible romantic interest, but is everything as it appears? And when she finally does figure out the secret behind her mother's delusions, will she be able to handle it, as well as everything that it means for her and her new friends? Only time will tell in this action-packed novel!

    One of my favorite parts about this book was the main character Ari. She's someone who is fearless and not afraid of getting her hands dirty when it comes to saving her life and the lives of her friends in New 2. I thought the way Kelly Keaton presented Ari's feelings over the death of her mother, as well as the secrets her mother took to her grave, were done in a realistic way, even with the paranormal aspects contained in the book. Adding to this, I loved Ari's friendships with the other teens and kids of New 2 because each were distinguishable, as well as likable, and brought something truly special to the world contained inside the pages of New 2. I specifically liked Ari's bond with Sebastian and the little spark of romance that came with it.

    Another aspect of this book I enjoyed was the plot. As mentioned before, it was action-packed and unique, making Darkness Become Her one un-put-a-down-able book! I loved finding out more about Ari and her background, as well as the story of New 2 and its leaders, with each twist, turn, and new plot line that came with the story. This is truly one story that will manage to blow your mind time and time again!

    Kelly Keaton's writing was also fabulous. She did a great job of fleshing out the plot lines and characters, as well as making their story truly jump of the page with the setting at hand.

    In all, Darkness Becomes Her is sure to become one huge hit in the new year, and because of that I highly, highly, highly recommend you pre-order it. You wouldn't want to miss out on the all mind-blowing now would you?

    But ward of warning: the ending will leave you dying to read the sequel!

    Grade: A+

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Mysterious and Exciting

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. Ari is looking for answers to her birth family. When she ends up in New 2 she finds way more answers then she ever bargained for. All the new people she meets seem to have strange characteristics. A whole new world is suddenly opened up to Ari, and she no longer feels like a complete outcast.

    This book was full of great paranormal creatures, each with their own unique ability. Ari, although she knows she's strange, has no clue what or who she is. The mystery of this kept me guessing, and the answer was very unique and enjoyable.

    Ari was a great character. She was determined to find out what happened, and stayed strong, no matter what was thrown at her. Although I really liked the love interest, I am extremely tired of insta-love. It wasn't enough to take away much from the story, but I could have done without it.

    This book definitely liked to throw around some crazy twists and turns, and the ending left me dying to find out more. I'm very excited to see where the next book will take us.

    Just as a side note, there is a lot of profanity in this book, which I don't like in my YA books, and wasn't necessary to the story.

    Overall, this was a great new addition to the YA genre. I loved that it was just as much about a young girl trying to find her place in the world, and realize who she is, as it was about the mystery and the paranormal. I will be preordering the next book as soon as it's available!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great start to the series, missing some character background and

    Great start to the series, missing some character background and development but she really makes up for it the second book. It's definitely worth the investment of money and time to get involved in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anything, but predictable!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi

    Ari grew up in foster homes all her life, never knowing much about her real parents. She just graduated high school a semester early and with her current foster parents’ (the only ones that felt like real parents) blessings she starts trying to find out information about her birth mother.

    She goes to the mental institution where her mother killed herself to get all the information she can. They have a shoe box of her mother’s possessions that include a letter to her. The letter contains an apology for passing the curse on to her, a warning telling her to stay away from New Orleans (now known as New 2) and most importantly to run.

    Ari is still trying to decide what to do with all this information when she is attacked in the parking lot of her hotel. She stabs her attacker with his own sword and he disappears into smoke. The whole situation is so strange that the only thing she can think to do is to go to New 2, despite her adoptive mother’s warnings and find out what she can.

    She catches a ride into town with a young girl named Crank and ends up staying at her house with her family, a bunch of misfit kids left to fend for themselves after the hurricanes came leaving nothing, but destruction in their wake.

    One of the misfits, Sebastian, offers to help her and once they start to become close Ari is kidnapped by another attacker like the one from the hotel parking lot. He throws her into a prison that she later discovers is the Goddess Athena’s prison where she locks up all the creatures she has created. Ari escapes and frees all the prisoners; all but one that is.

    Now all the founding families of New 2 are trying to decide what to do with Ari, get her out of town, keep her and use her as a weapon later, or to protect her. Everyone keeps talking about her powers, but Ari has no clue what they’re talking about. But one thing is for sure…. Athena is going to come after her with a vengeance and is willing to start a war to get her.

    I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this book. I’m not a fan of young adult books at all and the blurb sounded a bit strange for my tastes, but I decided to give it a try anyway since I’ve heard some really good things about the book. Oh and the fact that I received a free copy of the sequel, A Beautiful Evil, from the publisher didn’t hurt.

    I was instantly drawn in with the authors style of writing and it just made me want to keep reading and find out what secrets Ari’s mother took to the grave with her.

    I wasn’t really sure about the misfits as the story doesn’t get too in-depth with any of them, but I was starting to like the budding romance between Ari and Sebastian, before all hell broke loose that is! I hope the relationship continues to grow in the future installments of the series.

    I also tend to like books that delve in mythology so seeing Athena and Medusa brought into it was an interesting touch that I really didn’t see coming. Although I’ve never seen them, portrayed quite this way before as I’ve never seen Athena so…..evil before. Even with Violet stabbing her in the final showdown, I’m sure we haven’t seen the last of the Goddess of War just yet.

    Continued at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Just amazing.

    Just amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    The fry

    I really liked it and cant wait for the new book also im :( about violet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Easily my favorite book!

    With nary a book to read, I stumbled upon a preview of the first 100 pages of this. Being an almost 300 page book, this gave me a pretty good idea of how the story would play out. Immediately after finishing the preview, I demanded that my mom take me to our local Barnes & Noble to buy a copy. Lucky for me, they had a few left. The second we got in our car, I took the book out of the bag and flipped to where the preview ended. Since that day, about five months ago, I've read the book a total of twenty-three. It would have been twenty-five, but I lent it to my mom a friend.

    Ari's search for her past was so fun to read about. And the chemistry between her and Sebastian was intense. I warmed to the other misfits (especially Violet) very quickly. Characters like Daniel and Michel took a little longer. This book has a little bit of everything, suspense, romance, adventure, and more. This book made me with I was a doué just like the rest of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I made the big mistake about starting this book at the hair salon. Once the lady got to me I could not put down the book. Ari knows something is different about her. She feels it in her bones. She goes looking for her mother in search for answers. But what she finds is so much more than that. More than she ever though she find out.

    I loved Ari. Her character, her anger towards her mother felt real. She is genuine teenager with lots of secrets, hurt, anger, betrayal that just needs to be answered. I like how the reader is able to see into her mind and how she felt. Ari just wanted answers. And I am glad that she got them even though they are not what she expected.


    The love interest in the book is good. I like how all the kids for New 2 band together and help each other out. I like how Ms. Keaton used actually facts about New Orleans in the book that intertwined with her writing. That is truly amazing! I like how it showed real life things that are still going on even now.


    The paranormal part I loved. I like Gods and Goddesses and mythology. Ms. Keaton did a wonderful job with the plot and the progression of the story. Everything is at it right pace. My only gripe is the cussing. I can understand Ari's anger and see how that showed in her speech. I felt like it was just a little too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Very Exciting YA Debut!

    My thoughts...Brilliant storytelling, a kick-butt heroine, paranormal beings, and edge of your seat action are all the ingredients needed to make this debut hit by Kelly Keaton. I loved this book!

    I instantly liked the heroine Ari. She is smart, strong, determined, and very unique. Her silver hair and teal eyes make her stand out like a sore thumb, until she enters New 2. Here she meets some people that think her peculiarities make her special, not just different. The supporting characters will steal your heart, especially little Violet. I look forward to reading more about these characters in future books.

    Darkness Becomes Her offers reads tons of action and a touch of romance. I am going to be vague, because I don't want to give anything away, but I will say the ending really surprized me. Looking back, there were clues, but I was so involved in the story, I didn't figure it out until the very end. The ending did wrap up the current story, but left plenty of room for more action. I will be reading more in this series.

    *On a side note, the advanced readers copy had a decent amount of language, as you may have read in other reviews. In a recent conversation, Kelly mentioned that much of the language was cut out of the final version. With that update, this book is perfect for teen readers and those readers young at heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Fantastic!

    I loved this book and had my eyes glued through out the whole book. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This was a very good dystopian book. It wasn't a GREAT dystopian

    This was a very good dystopian book. It wasn't a GREAT dystopian book, but I did enjoy it very much. It has been a few weeks since I have read it, so I had to go back and refresh myself, so it wasn't one of those books that totally gripped me. It kept me engaged, and has a good mystery behind it, so I may continue on with the series if I find the sequels at the used bookstore, or for a good bargain elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    When I first saw this book the first that that captured my image

    When I first saw this book the first that that captured my imagenation was the cover itself, but within the books bindings was a world I found myself enamored in. The mixture of New Orleans culture (voodoo) and Greek Mythology spoke to me in ways I can't begin to discribe.

    The heroin of this book is a STRONG female character, and I always find those more refreshing then the damsel in distress. The other thing that caught my attention is how developed the secondary characters were. They all had their own stories to them, even if they weren't elaborated on a great deal. The romance in this novel was also quite nice, very innocent and coy, and not one of those 'love at first sight' type things that all the books seem to be doing now.

    This was the first book I read in full, because it was the first book that was able to capture my imagenation in a way to spark my mental muses. I can honestly say, without this book I would not know the joys of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    AN AWESOME EXCITING AND ENTICING BOOK!!!!! Loved the whole book!!!!

    I first grabbed this book in the library, not knowing anything aboit the book. I just picked it because of the interesting cover of the book. The picture of beautiful silver hair and snake necklace made me interested in reading the book. Once I started reading this book, I was engrossed in this book. I finished the book in one day because it was an awesome and fun book that I couldn't put down. I loved Ari and all of the unique kids in new 2. I especially enjoyed the romance and the part where Ari used her powers for the first time at Atheana at the ball. This book was also funny with some bad language but very fun to read. I loved this because it was greek mythology with a hint of paranormal into it. I also loved how the author made this bok so fun that I read this book over and over looking over my favorite parts in the book and the parts that made me laugh. Overall the book was awesome and is one of the must read books. I wish Ari and Sebastian were together more and is looking forward to the next book a beautiful evil. I am so excited to see how Ari will fight against Atheana. BEST BOOK EVER IN THE WHOLE WORLD THAT I HOPE IT WILL HAVE THE BEST ENDING TO THE SERIES!!!!! ;) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Amazing!

    Once you pick it up you will never put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    I was planning to read one 200-300 book a month. So i read and finished a book pretty quickly. Then i picked up this book, getting a head start on next month. Well, it was soooo good i finished it in, like, a week. I love it sooooo much! I cant wait to read the next book!!!!!!!! basically, i just looove this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Fresh story line.

    Really good book with a fresh look at vampires, witches, shape-shifters and a greek goddess too boot! Throw in a few misfit kids and this story rocks. I found a new favorie author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great book!

    There is nothing like this. It will keep you on the edge of your seat till the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7