Customer Reviews for

Darkness Becomes Her

Average Rating 4.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Darkness Becomes Her ARC review

Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural el...
Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural elements you are a fan of in other books but written in a manner that has not been written before. The Greek mythology is a perfect blend to go along with a futuristic New Orleans. Kelly wrote each characters flawless. One thing thats very important to me when I read a new book or series is, are the characters memorable? Yes they are in Darkness becomes her.

I will give as much as I can without spoiling the book. Picture New Orleans in the future after 2 massive Hurricanes ruin what you know today as New Orleans. The United States doesn't even consider it part of the country anymore. A group of wealthy families buy New Orleans and change the name to New 2. We are introduced to Ari she considers her self very strange. It might be due to the fact that she has white hair and teal eyes, did I mention if she cuts her hair it reappears again. Ari wants to know more of her past such as her mother since sh has been in foster care practically all her life. She finds a message from her mom, its real simple. RUN! well I can tell you Ari runs but right to the place her mother meant for her to stay away from New 2. On this trip she comes across what the books calls misfits. They began to help Ari in her journey to discover her past and possibly who or what she is. The oldest on the group is named Sebastian, it turns out Sebastian is more than what meets the eyes. Sebastian and the rest show Ari she is not alone in being different, New 2 is a haven for the different. Ari then begins to discover her part and what she finds out is not something you can swallow down easily, will her new friends stick by her side? On February 22nd go to the book store and pick up your copy to find out. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Twilightsdance on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Meh....

This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers...
This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

posted by Rachelfish on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really great book set in New Orleans full of people who aren't q

    Really great book set in New Orleans full of people who aren't quite normal. And of course some really good romance, but not enough for my tastes. Really great book. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    AWESOME!!!

    It's a very interesting how the writer adds the Greek Myth of Ursula and the Goddess, I honestly loved the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Ipie Pie books

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book rocked!

    In a word - amazing! Fresh new storyline and great characters. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Becomes Her- An eerily good debut novel 2011 about mythology, voodoo and love!

    When I started Darkness Becomes Her as part of my Debut Author Challenge 2011 I didn’t expect to like this novel that much, because it sounded so sinister. In the end I was surprised of the artistic interaction between mythology, voodoo and aspects of friendship and love.

    Darkness Becomes Her is set in a dystopian world in future New Orleans. Real events are mixed with fictitious, so Keaton explains the flood’s origin with supernatural powers and gives the whole scenario a very interesting new turn.
    Most of the landmarks do exist in reality, but are slightly adapted to the dystopian setting if needed. Former New Orleans is now called New 2, a vast place ruled by supernatural powers and inhabited by exceptional creatures.

    This novel features a wide range of different character types, starting with humans, going over animal like creatures like griffins and ending with the greatest powers of all ,the gods.
    There is also a scale of hybrids that can be for example half human, vampire or witch. Keaton created so many different possibilities of character types, but the revelation of what Ari our heroine really is still surprised me.

    Ari is beautiful, strong and new to the world of New 2 and develops an interesting relationship with Sebastian who has always lived among the exceptionally gifted kids of New 2.
    What I missed in this novel was depth in character relationships. Ari and our male protagonist meet each other for the first time and are head over heels after just two days. Keaton should grant her two main characters more time to adjust to their feelings for each other, especially when there is happening so much around them.

    The beginning of Darkness Becomes Her is about Ari visiting the psychiatric hospital her mother died, trying to find out what happened, learn more about her past and the mother she never had. She grew up with foster parents, but she can’t just forget about her real parents. Ari wants to know why she is different to other young women. I like her persistence and thirst for knowledge.
    There was so much left to learn about Ari, the beginning was confusing because we don’t immediately get clear information about setting and background. We are thrown into a conversation between Ari and a doctor, wondering what this is all about.

    And it was that beginning and the writing style combined with interesting plot turns that kept me involved all the time and drew me into the story around Ari

    This novel features some voodoo elements that really grossed me out and largely contributed to the sinister atmosphere of Keaton’s debut novel. Don't be surprised to be confronted with several creepy scenes.

    Keaton's debut is not following any expected or mainstream lines of actions, but creates its own.
    Personal aspects of Ari’s mysterious curse play together with the constitution of society and form an intriguing new debut novel in the wide dystopian range, unfortunately with lacking depth of relationships and emotional bonds between the characters.

    THE VERDICT

    Darkness Becomes Her is an unusual YA fantasy debut novel. Keaton creates an eerie dystopian voodoo scenario I never expected to coexist with a love story so smoothly. Definitely a recommendable read for fans of mythology, voodoo and dystopian novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Loved It!

    When the hurricanes came through and hit New Orleans it left nothing; just a desolate national disaster with thousands and thousands of misplaced people. In Kelly Keaton's, Darkness Becomes Her, New Orleans becomes known as New 2 after the hurricanes and is rumored to be the hub of paranormal activity in the United States.

    New 2 is it's own city, and not even really considered part of the United States. Since the hurricanes hit a group called the Novem bought New Orleans and started to rebuild it themselves. People outside of the Rim usually only visit New 2 for Mardi Gras and ghost hunting adventures. Much unlike Ari who is on the hunt for information on her parents, which has brought her to this broken down city.

    Ari has always been the outcasted type of girl. She grew up in the foster care system and never really had a family to call her own. Her hair and eyes have pretty much branded her as a weirdo in normal society. Silver hair and teal colored eyes are just not something you see every day.

    I really do like Ari though, she has a very complex past and a tougher than nails personality. Her personality develops pretty well through out the book, but I think it will get even better in the next one. Besides her, all of the other characters were very imaginative and individual. I felt like I could actually see the characters and their manuerisms, which I really enjoy when I'm reading.

    The world of New 2 is very intense, and as it should be after a barrage of hurricanes hit it. Kelly Keaton does a really great job at being descriptive with the world she has made. There are tons of broken down, rotting, and decaying homes and abandonned buildings that I think were described very well. The realness of this world is not really hard to imagine, we did all see how this could be after hurricane Katrina hit.

    In regards to Kelly Keaton's writing style and flow of the book, I absolutlet loved it! The story just kept flowing and I did not want to put this book down, in fact I stayed up pretty late for two nights there! (I means like...1 almost 2 in the morning late, and if you're a mom of a small one you know that is really late!) I just loved the way she spoke through the characters, I could just imagine myself right in their world with them. I think I could probably get lost in this series if I'm not careful!

    The mythology side of this book was very interesting to me as well. Anything that involves Greek gods and paranormal monster is for sure my cup of tea. I am very happy with the direction that this book went and am very excited to start on the ARC of book two, A Beautiful Evil!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Idk

    Idk what its even about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    There were so many reasons why I was looking forward to reading this series opener that I couldn't wait to dive right in. Anxious to see what kind of writer Keaton was and if she'd live up to all of her fans' rave reviews had me curious and definitely topped the list. The world and literature surrounding Greek and Roman mythology always intrigued me and this story was no different. Add to all that that my first trip to New Orleans, LA was taken last year and I couldn't wait to see what all I'd find and recognize in Keaton's New 2 scenery. Let me just say that even the small mention on beignets and chicory coffee nearly had me booking a plane ticket just so I could indulge in my all time favorite treat. I barely managed to resist.

    Keaton created wonderful and mysterious characters for this series that I truly enjoyed getting to know and will hopefully be able to uncover and unlock more about each of them in the future. Once Ari made it to New 2 it was a non-stop race against time for information. I think readers will share her anxiety and frustration due to her lack of knowledge regarding her family and her past. It was impossible not to root for her while she undertook this journey for any and all details that might help her understand her past, and what to expect for her future.

    While I enjoyed exploring New 2 with Ari and her new "family", I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next and where they'll go forward. The groundwork has been set and I'm excited to see what's in store next. Keaton's new series continues on February 21, 2012 with A Beautiful Evil and I can only assume the fun, anxiety and mystery will only get better from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    AMAZING! EVERYONE READ!

    This was amazing book. I read it non-stop for two days. It had the perfect combination of fantasy, mystery, and romance. I JUST LOVED IT! Kelly Keaton is my new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Really interesting

    at first i didn't know what the book was about, but then as i started to read it i fell in love. i read the whole book in one night, i can't wait for the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Really good

    This book drew me in avreally made me eonder what elsr could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Cant wait

    I read this book in 6 hours, thats how amazing and addictive it is. I absolutely cannot wait until the new one comes out and the wait is killing me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    YEA!!!!!

    This book was amazing, I couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Couldn't put it down! Loved it!

    When I picked up Darkness Becomes Her, I was drawn to the post-double-hurricane disaster world. Living in FL, all my life we know hurricanes and I have lived through many. I remember the year that Katrina devestated New Orleans and remember when another threatened the same coast that year. I had always though "what if" myself, so this was a very interesting premise to me.

    The story start out with Ari learning from a mental institution that her mother commited sucide just months after giving her up to Children's Services at the age of 3. Ari has had a hard life being in many abusive foster homes before ending up with her last good family who have trained her in self defense and made her a legal weapon carrier. She is trained in the bail bonds business that her foster parents own. This makes Ari somewhat of a bad-A. She is a heroine that you can cheer for and will become her own savior.

    Ari decides that she must go in New 2 to get a look at her birth records in hopes that her father is listed or that she can find some other information about her parentage. New 2 is the name for what is left of New Orleans of the distant future after 2 vicious devastating hurricanes have wiped out the city. The US has sold the city to 9 founding families who have formed the Novem and rule the city. It is rumored to be a haven for the paranormal. Ari finds a letter from amongst her mother's things that warns that she is in danger and must RUN! Almost as soon as she reads this eery warning, she is attacked by a huge fighter who is trying killed her and speaking in a strange foreign language. She manages to kill him with his own blade only to have his body disappear. Now she is freaked and hitches a ride into New 2 with a 15 year old UPS driver, Crank. Crank introduces her to a band of misfits that squat in an abandoned mansion in the Garden District. All of the kids are freaks like Ari. Ari fits in for the first time in her life. She also finds out the Novem has orders to bring her in also. She doesn't trust anyone and doesn't know who is after her or why. In an attenpt to find out what is exactly her curse is or what she will become, she visits a witch doctor who is deathy afraid of her. Everyone is deathly afraid of her it seems and she cannot find out why.

    This story is an incredible read as it takes you into a world that is realistic yet unreal. The descriptions were awesome and I found myself wanting to visit. Ari made me laugh, cheer and cry for her. I love the band of misfits that surround her and develop into her family. She also uncovers her curse and how it will manifest. This story sucked me in and I didn't want to put it down. I can't wait for the sequel to see how Ari will continue. This book reminded me of the cult movie "Escape from New York" mixed with X-men and other paranormal. There is a little of everything in this book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Highly recommended--Couldn't put it down!

    When I picked up Darkness Becomes Her, I was drawn to the post-double-hurricane disaster world. Living in FL, all my life we know hurricanes and I have lived through many. I remember the year that Katrina devestated New Orleans and remember when another threatened the same coast that year. I had always though "what if" myself, so this was a very interesting premise to me.

    The story start out with Ari learning from a mental institution that her mother commited sucide just months after giving her up to Children's Services at the age of 3. Ari has had a hard life being in many abusive foster homes before ending up with her last good family who have trained her in self defense and made her a legal weapon carrier. She is trained in the bail bonds business that her foster parents own. This makes Ari somewhat of a bad-A. She is a heroine that you can cheer for and will become her own savior.

    Ari decides that she must go in New 2 to get a look at her birth records in hopes that her father is listed or that she can find some other information about her parentage. New 2 is the name for what is left of New Orleans of the distant future after 2 vicious devastating hurricanes have wiped out the city. The US has sold the city to 9 founding families who have formed the Novem and rule the city. It is rumored to be a haven for the paranormal. Ari finds a letter from amongst her mother's things that warns that she is in danger and must RUN! Almost as soon as she reads this eery warning, she is attacked by a huge fighter who is trying killed her and speaking in a strange foreign language. She manages to kill him with his own blade only to have his body disappear. Now she is freaked and hitches a ride into New 2 with a 15 year old UPS driver, Crank. Crank introduces her to a band of misfits that squat in an abandoned mansion in the Garden District. All of the kids are freaks like Ari. Ari fits in for the first time in her life. She also finds out the Novem has orders to bring her in also. She doesn't trust anyone and doesn't know who is after her or why. In an attenpt to find out what is exactly her curse is or what she will become, she visits a witch doctor who is deathy afraid of her. Everyone is deathly afraid of her it seems and she cannot find out why.

    This story is an incredible read as it takes you into a world that is realistic yet unreal. The descriptions were awesome and I found myself wanting to visit. Ari made me laugh, cheer and cry for her. I love the band of misfits that surround her and develop into her family. She also uncovers her curse and how it will manifest. This story sucked me in and I didn't want to put it down. I can't wait for the sequel to see how Ari will continue. This book reminded me of the cult movie "Escape from New York" mixed with X-men and other paranormal. There is a little of everything in this book. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Something Different

    When I started Darkness Becomes Her, I expected it to be another typical supernatural YA book. I was mistaken. Instead, Kelly Keaton created something new, this time using other creates then the typical vampires, werewolves and fairies.

    I loved the setting of this book. It took me a little bit to realize that the book took place in what I could only describe as an alternate time line, one where New Orleans was destroyed by a horrible natural disaster and New 2 was established in it's place. I really liked New 2. It was such a great place, exactly what I imagined a supernatural New Orleans would be like. It was such a mystical, mysterious, it was great unraveling the secrets of the place and meeting the people who lived in New 2.

    I really liked Ari. She was searching for who she was and was extremely strong. She took everything in stride, all the twists and turns that were thrown at her as she was unraveling her mother's past and unraveling who she really was as well. The people Ari meets in New 2 are great too. Each one was different had their own personality.

    I did have one issue with this book and that was the pacing. I felt that the time span of the book could have been lengthened. Everything happened very quickly. Within a day Ari was falling in love with Sebastian, one of the guys Ari meets in New 2, and she was unraveling everything within a week. If the time span was longer, the relationships and the plot wouldn't have seemed so rushed.

    One of the great things about this book was it had twists that I didn't see. There was one twist that I literally gasped out loud because I did not seeing coming. I really like that this book incorporated mythology and put a new twist on it. I really love Greek mythology and I loved the twist Kelly Keaton put on it to make certain myths her own.

    The ending of this book wrapped up the issue of the first book nicely, with Ari discovering who she was and about her parents past, but was open enough for a new book. I really cannot wait to read this second one because once everything happened it happened quickly and big things happened. I want to go back to Ari's world and New 2 and I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    If you like supernatural mystery, kick-butt heroines, mysterious settings and a touch of romance, than this is for you. It was so awesome! I can't wait for the next one!!!!! Please, Kelly Keaton?? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fun read

    This book was so interesting, I read it in a day, because I just couldn't put it down. I hope this author continues to write as I really want to read more about her characters and her writing makes it feel comfortable and not like you have to look up words in a dictionary.

    Thanks Kelly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    An Epic Book

    Sometimes I enjoy opening a book with no idea what it's about and, true to my sometimes-style, I began Kelly Keaton's book Darkness Becomes Her half-interested and clueless to what a gem of a book I was reading. But the plot hit the ground running and within a few chapters I was eagerly following Ari on her quest to find her mother's past.

    I loved the Greek mythology in this book! Although not very apparent in the beginning, as the story progresses and more mysteries are uncovered the pieces fit together to create a wonderful story mixing urban and Greek legends and myths! With minimal spoilage, I can honestly say I've never before read a book where harpies are not depicted as antagonists, the Greek gods are not written about as a package deal, nor where the plot caused me to hate the mythical god in question with such passion. The originality of this piece was amazing, and definitely a huge reason why the story was so good!

    Violet is my favorite character. I liked everything about the shy, mysterious girl who loved to dress up in masks and gowns, had a soft spot for reptilian creatures, and who stayed completely loyal to Ari no matter what. I feel that she has a lot of potential to be a very prominent character, and I expect we'll be seeing more of her in the next book, especially as her fate was one of the big question marks looming in my mind after the last page.

    I've already recommenced this story to many of my friends and I will undoubtedly continue to do so! The only negative part about this book is the amount of offensive language, and I do try to take that into consideration when recommending. However, there is still no doubt in my mind that I will read the next book in this series. This is absolutely a 5 out of 5 stars book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Hell of A Ride

    Add Greek Mythology and combine that with Supernatural beings and you get one hell of a book. A novel that will spin you around and around and will still leave you shock at the twist and turns. I loved this book. I literally wanted to marry it. I could not put it down. I am not going to lie I have been in a reading funk lately and Kelly Keaton brought me out of it. I also have been busy with school, life, graduating, exchange ect; however that another story for another time.

    The Plot: Was well thought out and fast. Their is definitely not a moment in this book where you stop and ponder: "When is this going to end". Honestly it the opposite you'll think, "I hope this never ends". Sadly the ending comes faster then you want it to. It is a short book, only 273 pages, however it fits everything (without boring and overwhelming the reader) in it nicely. Kelly Keaton kept the plot twists well under wraps and it will leave the readers shocked and looking back to see the hints that led to them. The ending is of course a bit of a cliff hanger, however it will leave readers screaming for more. I am most certainly excited for the next book in the series to come out.

    Imagery: NEW ORLEANS. I don't see many novels set in this setting, and especially not a futuristic one I might add. The author did a mesmerizing job of capturing it and it's beauty. Ever since reading this I have been dying to go to New Orleans. I think my absolute favorite scene was the party scene where everyone dressed up (in masks might I add). That scene definitely brought my imagination to life in it's fullest. It is also easy to imagine the characters (personalities, looks and actions). Kelly Keaton did a fabulous job of bring her world to life for the readers.

    Romance: YAY---no love triangle (or not yet). It not often that you only see one male swooning for the female leads attention. Ari and Sebastian were a couple with real chemistry. They worked well with each other and were believable. They weren't overtop or to under-the top (if you catch my drift). I really am excited to see how their relationship develops over the course of this series. I am praying that they do not break up with each other (like in many other series).

    Characters: The characters all fit so well with each other. The kids at the Garden District were like a real family (who I came to love and desired to be apart of) with their separate personalities. I love them all but I definitely have a special spot for Violet who was so unique in her own little way. I absolutely adored Ari's hair and tattoo which really set her apart from everyone else. The Villain was defintely evil and deep down I wish she had more book time. I hope in the next novel she does.

    What was the best thing about this novel? Hands down the dialogue, emotions and tone. The author did a great job of making the readers feel what the characters were feeling through dialogue. The tone also came across well with the setting.

    Overall I most certainly recommend reading this book :) Yours Truly,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7