Customer Reviews for

Darkness Becomes Her

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Darkness Becomes Her ARC review

Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural el...
Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural elements you are a fan of in other books but written in a manner that has not been written before. The Greek mythology is a perfect blend to go along with a futuristic New Orleans. Kelly wrote each characters flawless. One thing thats very important to me when I read a new book or series is, are the characters memorable? Yes they are in Darkness becomes her.

I will give as much as I can without spoiling the book. Picture New Orleans in the future after 2 massive Hurricanes ruin what you know today as New Orleans. The United States doesn't even consider it part of the country anymore. A group of wealthy families buy New Orleans and change the name to New 2. We are introduced to Ari she considers her self very strange. It might be due to the fact that she has white hair and teal eyes, did I mention if she cuts her hair it reappears again. Ari wants to know more of her past such as her mother since sh has been in foster care practically all her life. She finds a message from her mom, its real simple. RUN! well I can tell you Ari runs but right to the place her mother meant for her to stay away from New 2. On this trip she comes across what the books calls misfits. They began to help Ari in her journey to discover her past and possibly who or what she is. The oldest on the group is named Sebastian, it turns out Sebastian is more than what meets the eyes. Sebastian and the rest show Ari she is not alone in being different, New 2 is a haven for the different. Ari then begins to discover her part and what she finds out is not something you can swallow down easily, will her new friends stick by her side? On February 22nd go to the book store and pick up your copy to find out. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Twilightsdance on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Meh....

This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers...
This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

posted by Rachelfish on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh....

    This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Becomes Her- An eerily good debut novel 2011 about mythology, voodoo and love!

    When I started Darkness Becomes Her as part of my Debut Author Challenge 2011 I didn’t expect to like this novel that much, because it sounded so sinister. In the end I was surprised of the artistic interaction between mythology, voodoo and aspects of friendship and love.

    Darkness Becomes Her is set in a dystopian world in future New Orleans. Real events are mixed with fictitious, so Keaton explains the flood’s origin with supernatural powers and gives the whole scenario a very interesting new turn.
    Most of the landmarks do exist in reality, but are slightly adapted to the dystopian setting if needed. Former New Orleans is now called New 2, a vast place ruled by supernatural powers and inhabited by exceptional creatures.

    This novel features a wide range of different character types, starting with humans, going over animal like creatures like griffins and ending with the greatest powers of all ,the gods.
    There is also a scale of hybrids that can be for example half human, vampire or witch. Keaton created so many different possibilities of character types, but the revelation of what Ari our heroine really is still surprised me.

    Ari is beautiful, strong and new to the world of New 2 and develops an interesting relationship with Sebastian who has always lived among the exceptionally gifted kids of New 2.
    What I missed in this novel was depth in character relationships. Ari and our male protagonist meet each other for the first time and are head over heels after just two days. Keaton should grant her two main characters more time to adjust to their feelings for each other, especially when there is happening so much around them.

    The beginning of Darkness Becomes Her is about Ari visiting the psychiatric hospital her mother died, trying to find out what happened, learn more about her past and the mother she never had. She grew up with foster parents, but she can’t just forget about her real parents. Ari wants to know why she is different to other young women. I like her persistence and thirst for knowledge.
    There was so much left to learn about Ari, the beginning was confusing because we don’t immediately get clear information about setting and background. We are thrown into a conversation between Ari and a doctor, wondering what this is all about.

    And it was that beginning and the writing style combined with interesting plot turns that kept me involved all the time and drew me into the story around Ari

    This novel features some voodoo elements that really grossed me out and largely contributed to the sinister atmosphere of Keaton’s debut novel. Don't be surprised to be confronted with several creepy scenes.

    Keaton's debut is not following any expected or mainstream lines of actions, but creates its own.
    Personal aspects of Ari’s mysterious curse play together with the constitution of society and form an intriguing new debut novel in the wide dystopian range, unfortunately with lacking depth of relationships and emotional bonds between the characters.

    THE VERDICT

    Darkness Becomes Her is an unusual YA fantasy debut novel. Keaton creates an eerie dystopian voodoo scenario I never expected to coexist with a love story so smoothly. Definitely a recommendable read for fans of mythology, voodoo and dystopian novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    There were so many reasons why I was looking forward to reading this series opener that I couldn't wait to dive right in. Anxious to see what kind of writer Keaton was and if she'd live up to all of her fans' rave reviews had me curious and definitely topped the list. The world and literature surrounding Greek and Roman mythology always intrigued me and this story was no different. Add to all that that my first trip to New Orleans, LA was taken last year and I couldn't wait to see what all I'd find and recognize in Keaton's New 2 scenery. Let me just say that even the small mention on beignets and chicory coffee nearly had me booking a plane ticket just so I could indulge in my all time favorite treat. I barely managed to resist.

    Keaton created wonderful and mysterious characters for this series that I truly enjoyed getting to know and will hopefully be able to uncover and unlock more about each of them in the future. Once Ari made it to New 2 it was a non-stop race against time for information. I think readers will share her anxiety and frustration due to her lack of knowledge regarding her family and her past. It was impossible not to root for her while she undertook this journey for any and all details that might help her understand her past, and what to expect for her future.

    While I enjoyed exploring New 2 with Ari and her new "family", I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next and where they'll go forward. The groundwork has been set and I'm excited to see what's in store next. Keaton's new series continues on February 21, 2012 with A Beautiful Evil and I can only assume the fun, anxiety and mystery will only get better from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1