Customer Reviews for

Darkness Becomes Her

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Darkness Becomes Her ARC review

Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural el...
Be prepared to be enamored within the first couple of pages that you read. Kelly did not hold back when she wrote her Debut novel, she brings her A-game. The book brings something new to the paranormal world. The storyline is grand. This book has all the supernatural elements you are a fan of in other books but written in a manner that has not been written before. The Greek mythology is a perfect blend to go along with a futuristic New Orleans. Kelly wrote each characters flawless. One thing thats very important to me when I read a new book or series is, are the characters memorable? Yes they are in Darkness becomes her.

I will give as much as I can without spoiling the book. Picture New Orleans in the future after 2 massive Hurricanes ruin what you know today as New Orleans. The United States doesn't even consider it part of the country anymore. A group of wealthy families buy New Orleans and change the name to New 2. We are introduced to Ari she considers her self very strange. It might be due to the fact that she has white hair and teal eyes, did I mention if she cuts her hair it reappears again. Ari wants to know more of her past such as her mother since sh has been in foster care practically all her life. She finds a message from her mom, its real simple. RUN! well I can tell you Ari runs but right to the place her mother meant for her to stay away from New 2. On this trip she comes across what the books calls misfits. They began to help Ari in her journey to discover her past and possibly who or what she is. The oldest on the group is named Sebastian, it turns out Sebastian is more than what meets the eyes. Sebastian and the rest show Ari she is not alone in being different, New 2 is a haven for the different. Ari then begins to discover her part and what she finds out is not something you can swallow down easily, will her new friends stick by her side? On February 22nd go to the book store and pick up your copy to find out. You will not be disappointed.

posted by Twilightsdance on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Meh....

This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers...
This book had an interesting plot and an eye-catching title. However, upon reading it, I felt like the author really skipped a lot of background information and character development and just got right into the story. That is not necessarily a bad thing for some readers, but i would prefer a bit more detail. Besides not having much idea of what the main character was like before her life was turned upside down, I found this book to be quite enjoyable and kept me turning the pages.

posted by Rachelfish on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great start to the series, missing some character background and

    Great start to the series, missing some character background and development but she really makes up for it the second book. It's definitely worth the investment of money and time to get involved in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    The fry

    I really liked it and cant wait for the new book also im :( about violet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I made the big mistake about starting this book at the hair salon. Once the lady got to me I could not put down the book. Ari knows something is different about her. She feels it in her bones. She goes looking for her mother in search for answers. But what she finds is so much more than that. More than she ever though she find out.

    I loved Ari. Her character, her anger towards her mother felt real. She is genuine teenager with lots of secrets, hurt, anger, betrayal that just needs to be answered. I like how the reader is able to see into her mind and how she felt. Ari just wanted answers. And I am glad that she got them even though they are not what she expected.


    The love interest in the book is good. I like how all the kids for New 2 band together and help each other out. I like how Ms. Keaton used actually facts about New Orleans in the book that intertwined with her writing. That is truly amazing! I like how it showed real life things that are still going on even now.


    The paranormal part I loved. I like Gods and Goddesses and mythology. Ms. Keaton did a wonderful job with the plot and the progression of the story. Everything is at it right pace. My only gripe is the cussing. I can understand Ari's anger and see how that showed in her speech. I felt like it was just a little too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    This was a very good dystopian book. It wasn't a GREAT dystopian

    This was a very good dystopian book. It wasn't a GREAT dystopian book, but I did enjoy it very much. It has been a few weeks since I have read it, so I had to go back and refresh myself, so it wasn't one of those books that totally gripped me. It kept me engaged, and has a good mystery behind it, so I may continue on with the series if I find the sequels at the used bookstore, or for a good bargain elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don’t think that it’s any secret that I automatica

    I don’t think that it’s any secret that I automatically add fantasy books dealing with New Orleans onto my “to be read” list. But even if Darkness Becomes Her didn’t even mention New Orleans or Louisiana at all, I still think I would fall in love with it.

    Darkness Becomes Her centers around a dystopian New Orleans, renamed New 2 … and everything is not as it seems. And when Ari, our protagonist, travels there to find the answers to her mysterious past, it turns out that the Novem, the owners of the strange city, are vampires, shapeshifters, and warlocks. And they have the answers to who she is.

    Plot was never lacking at all in this novel. As soon as I cracked open the first page, I immediately fell into that sweet action that I love so dearly: Ari learning more of her mother’s death. And soon after that, Ari encounters even more action-packed incidents that mark her as a kick-butt protagonist. And not to mention the entire mystery that Ari faces: who is she? Why is her appearance so appalling? Why did her mother and her grandmother and her great-grandmother all die at the young age of twenty one? And will she be next to follow?

    New 2 was a very believable setting for me. Even though I’d gasp to think that my beloved New Orleans would turn into such a disaster in the future, I could believe the setting. There was still my French Quarter. There was still Jackson Square. There were still my favorite places. The only difference was that they were different. They were changed.

    Ari has become one of my favorite heroines. Other than the fact that she is kick-butt (she’s seriously pro with killing hunters trying to kill her), she’s beautiful, though she doesn’t think she is. Described with long silver hair and teal-colored eyes, she’s unique. And striking, especially to Sebastian, the dreamy love interest in this novel. Sebastian’s dark, mysterious, brooding – and not to mention hot with smoldering eyes. It’s a pity I can’t claim him as my boyfriend because he and Ari sure have those melting-chocolate feelings for each other. Though I’m a little upset that he and Ari hit it off so quickly (practically on the same day they met each other), their romance is fierce and romantic at the same time.

    Darkness Becomes Her is a must for any paranormal and mythology lover out there. You’ll love the fiery romance and the mystery keeping you at the edge of your seat. You’ll love how Kelly Keaton manages to combine both paranormal, mythology, and dystopia in one. And you’ll love our kick-butt heroine Ari.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really great book set in New Orleans full of people who aren't q

    Really great book set in New Orleans full of people who aren't quite normal. And of course some really good romance, but not enough for my tastes. Really great book. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Something Different

    When I started Darkness Becomes Her, I expected it to be another typical supernatural YA book. I was mistaken. Instead, Kelly Keaton created something new, this time using other creates then the typical vampires, werewolves and fairies.

    I loved the setting of this book. It took me a little bit to realize that the book took place in what I could only describe as an alternate time line, one where New Orleans was destroyed by a horrible natural disaster and New 2 was established in it's place. I really liked New 2. It was such a great place, exactly what I imagined a supernatural New Orleans would be like. It was such a mystical, mysterious, it was great unraveling the secrets of the place and meeting the people who lived in New 2.

    I really liked Ari. She was searching for who she was and was extremely strong. She took everything in stride, all the twists and turns that were thrown at her as she was unraveling her mother's past and unraveling who she really was as well. The people Ari meets in New 2 are great too. Each one was different had their own personality.

    I did have one issue with this book and that was the pacing. I felt that the time span of the book could have been lengthened. Everything happened very quickly. Within a day Ari was falling in love with Sebastian, one of the guys Ari meets in New 2, and she was unraveling everything within a week. If the time span was longer, the relationships and the plot wouldn't have seemed so rushed.

    One of the great things about this book was it had twists that I didn't see. There was one twist that I literally gasped out loud because I did not seeing coming. I really like that this book incorporated mythology and put a new twist on it. I really love Greek mythology and I loved the twist Kelly Keaton put on it to make certain myths her own.

    The ending of this book wrapped up the issue of the first book nicely, with Ari discovering who she was and about her parents past, but was open enough for a new book. I really cannot wait to read this second one because once everything happened it happened quickly and big things happened. I want to go back to Ari's world and New 2 and I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    if cussing doesnt bother u. ....

    its really good!!!!!! the ending leaves alot hangin though : /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series!

    Am I the only one who didn't know that Kelly Keaton was really Kelly Gay? I really enjoyed her Charlie Madigan series, so was happy to find out her new young adult series is just as good!

    Ari is the main character, a teenager abandoned by her mother as a young child, who had to grow up fast as a foster child shuffled from house to house. One of the unique things about Ari is her beautiful silver hair, which cannot be altered. Not that Ari hasn't tried, but despite cutting it, dying it, and even burning it off with acid, her hair always returns to it's original state. Ari considers herself a freak because of her hair and eyes, and can't see her own beauty.

    Trying to track down her past and discover her roots, Ari discovers a letter from her mother telling her that she wasn't crazy, and to run. From what or from who, the letter doesn't say, just that Ari should RUN. This sets Ari off on a journey that she wasn't expecting, where she finds almost more questions than answers.

    Really liked Ari. Despite feeling like an outsider most of her life, Ari doesn't give up. She feels strangely at home in New 2, makes some friends, and maybe even finds herself a new family. She also finds a lot of danger, and has to fight for her life more than once.

    Thought that this was a great start to a new series, but it could also be read as a stand-alone title. Great new characters, a well paced plot, lots of action, and another shining example of Kelly's talent. I love this author! And I want more! I want to find out what happens to Ari and her new friends, especially little Violet. Was really intrigued by the idea of New Orleans turning into a haven for the paranormal after the hurricanes, and becoming a land unto itself. Want to see what happens with Ari and Sebastian. And the villains! Don't think I've even seen bad guys like this before, and they were awesome! Looking forward to the sequel, as the book is just that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I'm hoping by the end of my thoughts on this book, I will have a firmer grasp on what to rate it. And since my biggest problem with it seems to be not as much of an issue in the final copy, I'm really struggling with it.

    I really wasn't sure what to think of Ari from the very start. She's a much more hardened character than you normally see in young adult. Her mother handed her over to the state when she was 4, and she's been in and out of various foster homes, etc since then. She's presently has a pretty good home situation, but I don't think it's helped with her attitude. Having spent the last of your teenage years with bounty hunters might do that to a person. Upon learning that her mother committed suicide 6 months after leaving her, she feels the need to go to New 2 to try and piece together her past. This in spite of the warning in the note her mother left her telling her to run.

    I liked the descriptions of New 2, the events that lead it to it's current state, and the people who currently inhabit it. It just really fit were the story was going. I liked how the city was ruled by the 9 founding families and how each family had "unique" abilities. It was really a different take on how the paranormal can become part of the story. I was just itching to learn who/what Ari really was. I should have really listened to my thoughts at the beginning of the story. For some reason I completely dismissed them until the facts were staring me straight in the face. I really enjoyed that. I loved the twist on mythology that I was not expecting to be a part of the story.

    In fact, I really liked the entire story, so I'm back to giving it a 4 rating after initially giving it a 3. What caused me to give it that in the first place? The profanity. I thought perhaps that the main character dropping the f bomb on the first page was just a fluke and that it wouldn't be scattered throughout the rest of the story. I was wrong, and it was a real turnoff. But, I've since learned that a lot of that profanity was removed in the final copy. It made me feel a lot better about giving it a higher rating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fresh Take On Paranormal With Vivid Imagery

    Darkness Becomes Her kicks off at breakneck speed and rarely lets up throughout. Ari is this tough as nails 'freak of nature' (her words, not mine) that ventures into New 2 - what used to be New Orleans before two hurricanes devastated the area - to find out about who she is and who her mother was. What she finds is a world filled with paranormal creatures and a lot more about herself than she ever imagined.

    Kelly Keaton's take on all things paranormal isn't like what you'd normally see in YA books. In fact, vampires, shape-shifters, monsters, and even gods are all living in what used to be New Orleans. There is an entire mythological/paranormal world built into the city and it thrives just as much as the moss and vines growing on the old buildings. The first half of the book is an introduction to this world, but is by no means a boring one. Ari meets more than a few interesting characters - my favorite being the young Violet - and is thrown into more than a couple of dangerous situations.

    The second half of the book opens up into an onslaught of awesome, with fighting, action, and the dawning realization about what is really going on in New 2. Ari grows stronger and stronger, despite the fact that the world she has always known is nothing like the one she now resides in. There is a bit of an insta-romance, but it's not the focus of the story at all, Ari is. And what she is means everything. Learning that was like a punch in the gut, so be prepared for some serious blows of oh my god goodness.

    Darkness Becomes Her is a wickedly good read with a fresh take on the paranormal and Keaton's vivid imagery bringing this future New Orleans to life. There is action, provided by Ari's hard attitude and propensity for violence, expanding mythos, from several different sources of the paranormal, and even a little romance, thanks Sebastian! It was impossible to put the book down once I got going, and trust me, you won't want to put it down. Ari drew me in, and the story, the atmosphere, and the characters, kept me riveted. I cannot believe I'm stuck waiting an entire year for the next installment.

    *Just a note: There is a heavy amount of swearing, so I'd suggest this book be read by an older YA audience

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2