Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not be

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky...
When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky.

The plot was extremely well-done. Everything fell in the right place and right time for me; yet the twists were still just as unexpected. I loved the dystopian aspects of the novel, since dystopia is my favorite genre. I still find that the authors (written by a mother and son team!) could have spent less time with Dawn's mixed feelings towards Michael and Victor and instead focused more on the fascinating aspects like on the relationship between the humans and vampires or even on Dawn's political life. Another thing that bothered me were the romantic scenes! They were sometimes TOO kitschy. I mean, the guy has lived for over hundreds of years and he has never seen someone as brave as Dawn?! She is not even that brave!


The characters were mostly amazing. Dawn was a determined and strong main character. Yet I didn't like that she couldn't be a bit more open to Victor's different life style; she was just too stubborn even though it was evident that he was a nice guy. I loved Victor; he was just plain swoon-material and I liked the different sides to his character; I can't wait to see how being in charge will change him in the next novel. The side characters didn't have such big roles but I liked all of them and hopefully we will still hear from them in the sequel.


Darkness Before Dawn was certainly a strong beginning to the trilogy. It surely had its faults but I wasn't that bothered by them. Some questions were left unanswered but this is a trilogy, so I will be expecting answers in the next two novels. I can only say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one and I hope you will all enjoy it too!

posted by rachelnaddeo on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this fr

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you g...
This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you guessing at times. I did not see the ending coming. I can't wait to read more of this series.

posted by hayley10 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    This author never seems to disappoint me. I'm a huge fan of her

    This author never seems to disappoint me. I'm a huge fan of her writing and practically read every single young adult novel (including under the names of Rachel Hawthorne and Jade Parker) she's ever written or co-written. I sat at my living room couch for a good 7hours; not getting up or taking breaks until I am done with the book. Amazing work. Definitely a must read!!! You won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    :)

    This was a great book!! I can't wait till blood kissed sky. The romance is great and there are definetly some unexpected moments!! Great book overall! 5 stars!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can't wait to read more!! Brought to you by OBS reviewer Autu

    I can't wait to read more!!

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Autumn

    Dawn Montgomery knows tragedy on an intimate level. Her parents and brother were violently murdered by vampires when she was a small child. It is the time of the New World Order. A world in which vampires have revealed themselves and now rule ruthlessly over humans. They demand that everyone donate blood to keep them adequately fed and if enough isn’t offered, they wage war by killing the innocent.

    Dawn is appointed the Delegate for Denver. The city is now ensconced by a wall that is designed to keep the vampires at bay. According to the VampHu, a peace agreement between the vampires and humans, the delegate is to meet with the leaders of the vampire families and ensure the vampires are placated. It’s a position that is forced upon her, as her parents were Delegates before her.

    She travels outside the walls upon request to meet with Lord Valentine, the leader of the ruling vampire family. He is known to be ruthless in his dealings with humans and never takes no for an answer.

    Dawn despises vampires. She longs for the day when she will be able to revenge her lost loved ones. Her best friend, Tegan and boyfriend, Michael are all that keep her sane. Until she meets Victor.

    Victor Valentine is the son of Lord Valentine himself. After he saves Dawn and Tegan from a vicious attack, Dawn can’t seem to stop thinking of him. Victor soon proves that he not what he might seem. Is it possible that there is a vampire that Dawn can really trust? Does she dare trust him with her heart?

    I have to admit that I picked this up because the cover was beyond brilliant. The story inside proved to be as well. It kept me biting my nails to the very end and I was so relieved when the first chapter of the next installment, Blood Kissed Sky, was included at the end.

    The writing is engaging, the characters are layered and story moves at an incredible pace. I am usually quite skeptical of dystopian novels, but this one held me captive from cover to cover. This will be a trilogy with the next book due out in December. I simply can’t wait…

    For this review and more visit openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book! It will be hard to wait a year for the sequel. I h

    Amazing book! It will be hard to wait a year for the sequel. I had a hard time putting this book down and was sad to see it come to an end. It had enough details to engross you in the story but not make it a boring read. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    This book is amazing, its a dystopian and paranormal in one. I r

    This book is amazing, its a dystopian and paranormal in one. I read 4-5 books a week and i cant say enough good things about this one. Definately one of my new favorites and im impatiently waiting the next book. Theres romance, politics, action, i absolutely loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Fantastic book! Never read anything like it when it comes to vam

    Fantastic book! Never read anything like it when it comes to vampire books. Definitely can't wait for the next book! Loved it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Best book

    Great book but weres the second 1!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    So I'm just going to come out and say it. I loved this book. I l

    So I'm just going to come out and say it. I loved this book. I loved everything about it: the characters, the plot, the dangerous world...everything.

    Let me start with the world-building. I would consider DARKNESS BEFORE DAWN to be a post-apocalyptic/dystopian crossover, heavier on the post-apocalyptic.Many of the post-apocalyptic books that I've read have been vague in that respect. In DARKNESS BEFORE DAWN, you learn exactly what happened to bring about the bleak existence humans endure. I don't want to give all the details away, because that aspect was fascinating for me to read. Long story short, there was a decades long war between humans and vampires. Vampires won. The VampHu treaty came out of this, the main stipulation being that vampires will not attack the humans within their walls as long as they provide blood to the vamps.

    So here we are in Denver, and our heroine Dawn is the new delegate to the leader of the local vampires, Lord "Bloody" Valentine. And though the treaty is intact, the humans go into hiding each day when the sun goes down, for fear of rogue vampires. Their safety in tenuous at best. Dawn, who has replaced her murdered parents as the delegate, is all but responsible for walking the fine line that keeps humans safe. I truly admired Dawn as a character. She is a teenager with the world on her shoulders, yet she manages to smile, have fun, live, and still take her duties seriously. She has her guardian, best friend Tegan (not the sharpest knife), and her long-time boyfriend, Michael. I did like Michael. He's protective, intense, and seemed to be devoted to Dawn. Until...he isn't. Michael has an ego that constantly needs reassured. He definitely has a hero complex and begins to grate at the nerves which made it remarkably easy for another guy to swoop in.

    That alluring new man is Victor. Victor is dashing, intriguing, and dangerous, but not in a bad boy way. He is exceedingly kind, goes out of his way, puts himself in danger to keep Dawn safe. He wants to do what's best for Dawn, even at his own risk. The dude made me hardcore swoon.

    The storyline was consistently moving ahead. I never felt as if it stalled. Not only is the consistent threat of Lord Valentine a factor, Dawn is also confronting danger on at least three different fronts, never mind the potential drama in her love life. There is an issue at the opening, that Valentine mentions later in the story, that's never explained. I'll assume it will be expanded on in the next book. I'm fine with that. When everything comes to a head, though, I thought the suspense would kill me, or at least make me pass out from holding my breath. The ending was a definite cliffhanger. I would have been screaming, dying to know what was happening. But, my book, a finished copy, has a sneak peek of book two, BLOOD-KISSED SKY. Well played, authors, because I am dying to read that book.


    Personal Note: In the synopsis, it is mentioned that fans of True Blood, the House of Night series, and Morganville Vampires series would enjoy this. I haven't read Morganville Vampires. But I have read the Sookie Stackhouse series and House of Night series. DBD, besides being a book with vampires that have come out, is nothing at all like Sookie Stackhouse series. And besides the obvious, vampires, it is nothing like the House of Night series. DARKNESS BEFORE DAWN is soooo much better. Sorry if I've stepped on any toes, but if someone told me this was like HoN, I probably wouldn't read it.


    Favorite Quote:

    "In my dreams, we're the same. We can touch, kiss, love. And every dream ends with us ...being together forever." (pg 224)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazing book. I couldnt put the series down. Great romance action and twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Rising

    "Nothing really," he said. "Just the past..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Crystal

    "Mine isn't pretty either."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    This book is right up your alley if you are in to the whole dyst

    This book is right up your alley if you are in to the whole dystopia society or vampire books. With that being said, this book was a good cross between The Hunger Games and Twilight, in fact, so much that some of the scenarios seemed to bite off of these two excellent books. Some of the dialog was rushed and cheesy and I would've prefered the author to really get into the main characters head and feelings a bit more. Some scenes had too much cheesy dialogue and not enough essence. I would've prefered Victor's character to have been a bit stronger, something distinctive that sets him apart from all the other paranomal romance love boys. I thought she could've taken a good hint from the fighting scenes from The Hunger Games and even Vampire Academy to help build the suspence in the fights and make it more juicy.
    However, this was a good read and I finished it quickly. I really enjoyed the storyline and the characters and I stay on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen. Now, because I've ready like every single paranormal romance novel, I guessed all of the twists and turns before they happened. I knew who Hoodie was and who Valantine's son was because it was very close to the Immortal Instruments storyline as well. Overall, cliche book but a good read. You wont be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    New favorite book

    This book and all the rest had me hooked from the very begining, with great plot twists and very delveloped characters that you can totally relate with. When i read this book i felt like i was in the story with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Before Dawn is a dystopian-paranormal-romance book that

    Darkness Before Dawn is a dystopian-paranormal-romance book that takes place in Denver. The book starts off with Dawn, the protagonist, going off to party with her best friend Tegan. The readers quickly learn that Dawn isn't your-every-day average teenager but instead a delegate for Denver.  Essentially it is Dawns duty to be an ambassador and communicator between the humans and vampire relations. This is a job that has Dawn both liked and hated. It offer to her by Murdoch Valentine, an ancient noble vampire, after her parents have passed. Dawn, at the start of the novel, has the perfect boyfriend : Michael and is later introduced, and falls in love, with a vampire = creating a love triangle.




    Those who are keen for the paranormal romance genre will be intrigue by this book. The writing, a mother-and son duo, flows pleasantly with the quick paste of the novel. This novel does have a moment of dullness. I did not find myself slumping through it or having to takes long breaks from it.




    Dawn is quite mature for a YA genre but it makes sense with her background. I know some people complain about her mature-ness but I actually quite like it. Dawn is a character who--throughout the entire novel--I did not find myself hating. She cares deeply for those in her inner circle and worries a lot about others.




    However, I have mixed emotions about Michael. Michael and Dawn do work well as a couple but some of the things he did pissed me off and made me pity Dawn. However, there were times when I thought they were paired adorable together. However, I am rooting for Dawn X Tegan not Michael X Tegan.




    The character called Sin was awesome...and I wished there were more scenes with him in it.




    Problems I had with this book are : a) I found the antagonists scenes were few and there  should have been more. b) Things would happen...the chapter would end...and then the readers are left wondering how the protagonist got from point a to point b.




    Things I enjoyed about this book: a) fast paste b) written smoothly and flowed easily throughout the entire novel c) Sin d) Victor e) idea of dystopian world that has vampire in it d) character development between Victor and Dawn.




    I also really liked Faith and Richard. I hope there is more of them in the next book.




    The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is that while it is a really good book it does not stand out much from other paranormal romance novels. The dystopian setting is a little bit different. I was actually quite hesitant before picking this up because with dystopians I am either for it or against it. Luckily with this novel it was  perfect blend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Captivated

    I really loved this book! The only reason I didnt give it five satrs is because the beginning was a little slow. I almost didnt keep reading but it defenitely was worth finishing. Cant wait to start the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Addicting!

    From the first page, I could not put this book down. I am really looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Good story

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    If you love all things High School or Vampires...

    This really was a great book. I read it a a little over a day. The basis of the book is that Vampires came "out of the closet" 50 years ago. They started to be public in every way. Humans didn't like the vampires and started a 30 year war. Instead of being made slaves the humans surrendered and the VampHu treaty was signed. All the humans live in 16 walled cities in the US. Each city is overseen by one family of vampires. Human delegate work with the vampire lords to negotiate all living conditions inside the cities; include how much blood will be donated to the vampires. Vampires are not allow in the city limits and they can not attack humans in the cities. This story documents the life of 17 year old Dawn, the youngest delegate selected by Lord Valentine the Vampire Lord of Denver, CO.

    Great book! Wonderfully different from all other Vampire books. A definite read for any high schooler or lover of vampire stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great book

    What a grear book to this series! Ready to start book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Awesome

    This book was good quick read. The characters were well thought out and loveable. I can't wait to see what happens to Dawn in the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6