Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not be

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky...
When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky.

The plot was extremely well-done. Everything fell in the right place and right time for me; yet the twists were still just as unexpected. I loved the dystopian aspects of the novel, since dystopia is my favorite genre. I still find that the authors (written by a mother and son team!) could have spent less time with Dawn's mixed feelings towards Michael and Victor and instead focused more on the fascinating aspects like on the relationship between the humans and vampires or even on Dawn's political life. Another thing that bothered me were the romantic scenes! They were sometimes TOO kitschy. I mean, the guy has lived for over hundreds of years and he has never seen someone as brave as Dawn?! She is not even that brave!


The characters were mostly amazing. Dawn was a determined and strong main character. Yet I didn't like that she couldn't be a bit more open to Victor's different life style; she was just too stubborn even though it was evident that he was a nice guy. I loved Victor; he was just plain swoon-material and I liked the different sides to his character; I can't wait to see how being in charge will change him in the next novel. The side characters didn't have such big roles but I liked all of them and hopefully we will still hear from them in the sequel.


Darkness Before Dawn was certainly a strong beginning to the trilogy. It surely had its faults but I wasn't that bothered by them. Some questions were left unanswered but this is a trilogy, so I will be expecting answers in the next two novels. I can only say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one and I hope you will all enjoy it too!

posted by rachelnaddeo on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this fr

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you g...
This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you guessing at times. I did not see the ending coming. I can't wait to read more of this series.

posted by hayley10 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    It was Okay...

    I was expecting more from this novel. It was pretty slow in my opinion. I enjoyed reading it and will be reading book #2. And, what is up with this gothic cover? Really? There is nothing gothic about the book. This cover is just as dumb as the "Fallen Series".

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this fr

    This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you guessing at times. I did not see the ending coming. I can't wait to read more of this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to be honest and say this wasn't really on my to-read li

    I have to be honest and say this wasn't really on my to-read list. But, it showed up on my doorstep unsolicited and I wanted to give it my best shot. I think I would have liked it more had I not read another book with a similar storyline first.

    I enjoy the idea of a future society ruled by vampires. In a world were every ancient society has some legend of vampires, whose to say that in the future the human race can't depend on them? In return for protection from rogue vampires, humans donate a quota to the existing ruling vampires. It was intriguing that the ruling Vampire, Lord Valentine, insisted on a human delegate. From what I saw, the delegate really does nothing. I think Lord Valentine enjoys watching the delegate squirm under his demands and not be able to do a damn thing about it.

    I liked Dawn. She been raised around Vampire politics. She knows what's at stake. But, she also has a fresh outlook and the characteristics that only belong to teenagers. She makes a few rash decisions and I think she wants to believe that there is something good in everyone. She really wants to show those around her what's at stake if they mistakenly believe that the human race doesn't need the vampires. But, she also wants to show the vampires that they also can't survive without the humans. It's definitely a delicate line to walk. Especially when no one understands why she was picked for the job when it obviously should have gone to someone else.

    I liked Dawn's interactions with other characters. As reckless as her best friend can be, she also brings a lighter side to Dawn. Something she desperately needs in light of everything. I loved her building relationship with Victor. He's an interesting character and their involvement goes against everything each of them know. Neither one of them can afford a weakness, especially when it's the other person.

    Despite all the things I did like about this book, it seemed slow and incredibly drawn out. And the thing that bothered me the most was at the beginning it's hinted that there is something questionable about Dawn's heritage. That there's something special about her. I be damned if I know what it is. Is it that she was specifically chosen as the delegate by Lord Valentine? Is it that she might bring about a new vampire rule? If there was an answer in the story...it wasn't clear to me what it was.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    J.A. London introduces us to a dystopian society where vampires

    J.A. London introduces us to a dystopian society where vampires rule over human cities. In exchange for protection, humans "donate" blood to their vampire overlords. Unrest stirs in the cities, as the humans grow complacent, believing that others will donate blood in their stead, teenagers question the need to stay behind the walls, and activitists protest the need to remain subservient to vampires.

    My favorite part of the novel is the world building. The idea of vampires ruling the world with humans locking themselves up in walled cities intrigued me, and J.A. London has done a fantastic job introducing us to the history behind the war between humans and vampires and its devastating outcome. I also enjoyed seeing Dawn act out her role as her city's delegate to vampires and how she grows out from her prejudice against vampires (warranted as it is) to accepting them and eventually caring for one.

    Character-wise, it doesn't feel as though Dawn has a steady personality. Her train of thought is hard to follow in places, such as her sudden switch from hating vampires to understanding and accepting them. While I can see where the changes takes place, it's a rocky transition in the wording. Overall, it feels as though Dawn's thoughts are inserted where it seems the reader would like to know them rather than playing out naturally. I do appreciate Dawn's growth as a character. Initially, she starts with self doubts, being the youngest Delegate to the vampires in history, and she hates her role because the vampires took everything from her. However, she gains more confidence as the novel progresses and even grows to appreciate the her parents' dedication to their role as the Delagates before her.

    As a heads up, there is a love triangle of sorts in this novel. However, it's not a bad one or one with instalove. In fact, it's pretty obvious who Dawn's going to be with. While Michael seems like a great guy, he's missing for the most part, as Dawn and Michael's duties to the city keep them away from each other. When they're together, they don't talk about anything important and mostly derive comfort from each other. Overall, it is what it is: two friends who got together after they tried kissing. I was pretty indifferent to Michael until he suddenly feels the need to prove his self-worth to Dawn, leading to some unpleasant incidents. I very much liked Victor. He's a vampire, but he's compassionate towards humans and vampires alike... and I probably shouldn't go further than that because I'll end up giving spoilers. Let's stick to I-want-to-see-Dawn-and-Victor-together.

    The pacing is pretty slow for the most part, as the novel focuses on world building and setting up the plot, but the action picks up towards the end as the plot unfolds. I see potential for more to happen in the second book of this trilogy and will be picking it up to see what happens next.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Awesome

    The book is in denver and even though the main character is annoying at times, she is strong and determined. Even though a lot doesnt go as planned it just says that life is just that unpredictable especially where victor is involved. Near the end when she talks to victor in his parlor you get the jessica rules the dark side vibe. The most surprising thing is is that victors brother is not who you think he is, and a person from the past comes back with a lot of bite to the point where Victor almost dies mainly because he lied about his injuries after his fight with his dad. All in all its good save for a few people in the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Rising

    "Nothing really," he said. "Just the past..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1