Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness Before Dawn Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not be

When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky...
When I first heard about Darkness Before Dawn, I couldn't not become obsessed with it. It blends dystopia with paranormal, which for me is just the perfect mix. Darkness Before Dawn didn't disappoint and left me even more eager to the next installment: Blood-Kissed Sky.

The plot was extremely well-done. Everything fell in the right place and right time for me; yet the twists were still just as unexpected. I loved the dystopian aspects of the novel, since dystopia is my favorite genre. I still find that the authors (written by a mother and son team!) could have spent less time with Dawn's mixed feelings towards Michael and Victor and instead focused more on the fascinating aspects like on the relationship between the humans and vampires or even on Dawn's political life. Another thing that bothered me were the romantic scenes! They were sometimes TOO kitschy. I mean, the guy has lived for over hundreds of years and he has never seen someone as brave as Dawn?! She is not even that brave!


The characters were mostly amazing. Dawn was a determined and strong main character. Yet I didn't like that she couldn't be a bit more open to Victor's different life style; she was just too stubborn even though it was evident that he was a nice guy. I loved Victor; he was just plain swoon-material and I liked the different sides to his character; I can't wait to see how being in charge will change him in the next novel. The side characters didn't have such big roles but I liked all of them and hopefully we will still hear from them in the sequel.


Darkness Before Dawn was certainly a strong beginning to the trilogy. It surely had its faults but I wasn't that bothered by them. Some questions were left unanswered but this is a trilogy, so I will be expecting answers in the next two novels. I can only say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one and I hope you will all enjoy it too!

posted by rachelnaddeo on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this fr

This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you g...
This was a pretty good book. I've never read a book like this from two authors. I didn't even know two different people wrote the book until I got it. You find out what the title means in the first few chapters - I did, anyway. There are a few twists, and it keeps you guessing at times. I did not see the ending coming. I can't wait to read more of this series.

posted by hayley10 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Enjoyed this!

    This book was a little slow in the beginning and I wasn't sure if I would finish it or not. Thankfully I did finish, because it ended up being a great read! I loved Dawn and the personality she posseses. All to often, the girls get whiny & sappy. I kept waiting for her to accept Victor a little faster than she did, but it flowed nicely. Can't wait for book 2! December is to far away....

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Surprisingly Awesome

    After reading The Immortal Rules I decided against reading this book because they sounded so similar and I honestly didn't like The Immortal Rules all that much. I didn't dislike it by any means, it just didn't really do anything for me. Anyway, I assumed Darkness Before Dawn was going to be the same but last night all I wanted was to read something and couldn't find anything that caught my interest, so eventually I just thought screw it and bought it anyway. While the overviews of the two books makes them sound like they're basically different versions of the same story, I was so happy to discover that in reality, they were nothing alike. I actually really liked this book. The writing is great and I thoroughly enjoyed the world that the authors created. I never found myself getting bored with the story, which trust me, is no easy task when it comes to me... I'm probably one of the most ADD people you could ever meet. From the beginning I was intrigued, It grabbed and held my interest extremely well and remained that way until the end. It's hard to explain why I enjoyed this book so much. I can't even pin point what it is exactly that I liked so much about it; I suppose it's irrelevant really, all that matters is that I did. My one and only complaint is that it just wasn't long enough, I reached the last page and was so bummed that it was the end! I really, really wanted the book to continue. I want more and I can't wait until the second book comes out. I'm dying to see where the story goes from here!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good start to a new trilogy

    Darkness Before Dawn is an enjoyable read that didn't want to put down. I liked this book much better than the Immortal Rules. I compare those two books because they're the only two dystopian vampire books I know about. While it's not the most original novel out there, Darkness Before Dawn has complex characters and an intriguing plot. It's a book that vampire and dystopian fans will like.

    The main reason for my preferring this book to Immortal Rules is that I like Dawn. The poor girl has been through hell, but she still fights every day to make the world a better place for the people in her town. She's strong without being bratty, and she's complex without being angsty. She also tries to do the right thing, and not just what's right for her. She tries to do right by everyone, and I respect that about her. I enjoyed seeing things from her perspective, and I trusted her as a narrator. She seemed to be fairly self-aware and honest.

    I also adored Victor, of course. Give me a guy with black hair and blue eyes, and I'm sold on the book. Seriously, though, he's an extremely complicated character, but he still comes across as realistic. I would have liked to learn more about him, and I look forward to being able to do that in future installments. He seemed to be torn about his feelings for Dawn, but he wasn't all emo and creepy about it like some vampires I know, *coughEdwardcough*. I think deep down, he's a good guy and a perfect match for Dawn. I'm totally team Victor in this series.

    The supporting characters were hit or miss. I absolutely hated Michael, but he was pretty much a typical teenage guy. I liked Tegan and Rachel quite a bit. I would like to know more about Jeff and Clive, and I, of course, hated Lila. The most fascinating people in this novel were the vampires. They all seemed much more complicated than the humans (other than Dawn). I would like to see more complication with the humans in future novels instead of having all of them but Dawn seem innocent and ignorant.

    The world London created was fascinating, but nothing original. The blood donations idea is already done in Morganville Vampires, but London added a twist to it. The vampires live outside the city, and donating is not required by law. Therefore, there is always a blood shortage. Vampires attacking other vampires has been done as well (VA and Bloodlines), but the way London executed it is a bit different. The world of vampires living outside the city and humans living within, only to be separated by a wall was also done by Kagawa in Immortal Rules, but the way the vampires behave and the treaty between the humans and the ruling vampire families puts a spin on that idea. I know it sounds like nothing in this book is original, but I'm a firm believer that no idea is original anymore. Also, give two people the exact same ideas, and they'll write two completely different books. That's what happened here. London may have been inspired by other novels, but Darkness Before Dawn is a completely different story than any of these other books.

    The plot is intriguing, and a lot is going on. The big reveal was a bit shocking. I didn't see it coming. Also, there was enough suspense and mystery to keep me reading. The pacing is pretty spot-on, and I didn't get bored once. The ending wraps things up nicely while still leaving quite a few things up in the air for the sequel. But since some things were answered, I'm pacified... for now.

    Overall, I'd recommend t

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    This book is right up your alley if you are in to the whole dyst

    This book is right up your alley if you are in to the whole dystopia society or vampire books. With that being said, this book was a good cross between The Hunger Games and Twilight, in fact, so much that some of the scenarios seemed to bite off of these two excellent books. Some of the dialog was rushed and cheesy and I would've prefered the author to really get into the main characters head and feelings a bit more. Some scenes had too much cheesy dialogue and not enough essence. I would've prefered Victor's character to have been a bit stronger, something distinctive that sets him apart from all the other paranomal romance love boys. I thought she could've taken a good hint from the fighting scenes from The Hunger Games and even Vampire Academy to help build the suspence in the fights and make it more juicy.
    However, this was a good read and I finished it quickly. I really enjoyed the storyline and the characters and I stay on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen. Now, because I've ready like every single paranormal romance novel, I guessed all of the twists and turns before they happened. I knew who Hoodie was and who Valantine's son was because it was very close to the Immortal Instruments storyline as well. Overall, cliche book but a good read. You wont be dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Before Dawn is a dystopian-paranormal-romance book that

    Darkness Before Dawn is a dystopian-paranormal-romance book that takes place in Denver. The book starts off with Dawn, the protagonist, going off to party with her best friend Tegan. The readers quickly learn that Dawn isn't your-every-day average teenager but instead a delegate for Denver.  Essentially it is Dawns duty to be an ambassador and communicator between the humans and vampire relations. This is a job that has Dawn both liked and hated. It offer to her by Murdoch Valentine, an ancient noble vampire, after her parents have passed. Dawn, at the start of the novel, has the perfect boyfriend : Michael and is later introduced, and falls in love, with a vampire = creating a love triangle.




    Those who are keen for the paranormal romance genre will be intrigue by this book. The writing, a mother-and son duo, flows pleasantly with the quick paste of the novel. This novel does have a moment of dullness. I did not find myself slumping through it or having to takes long breaks from it.




    Dawn is quite mature for a YA genre but it makes sense with her background. I know some people complain about her mature-ness but I actually quite like it. Dawn is a character who--throughout the entire novel--I did not find myself hating. She cares deeply for those in her inner circle and worries a lot about others.




    However, I have mixed emotions about Michael. Michael and Dawn do work well as a couple but some of the things he did pissed me off and made me pity Dawn. However, there were times when I thought they were paired adorable together. However, I am rooting for Dawn X Tegan not Michael X Tegan.




    The character called Sin was awesome...and I wished there were more scenes with him in it.




    Problems I had with this book are : a) I found the antagonists scenes were few and there  should have been more. b) Things would happen...the chapter would end...and then the readers are left wondering how the protagonist got from point a to point b.




    Things I enjoyed about this book: a) fast paste b) written smoothly and flowed easily throughout the entire novel c) Sin d) Victor e) idea of dystopian world that has vampire in it d) character development between Victor and Dawn.




    I also really liked Faith and Richard. I hope there is more of them in the next book.




    The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is that while it is a really good book it does not stand out much from other paranormal romance novels. The dystopian setting is a little bit different. I was actually quite hesitant before picking this up because with dystopians I am either for it or against it. Luckily with this novel it was  perfect blend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Captivated

    I really loved this book! The only reason I didnt give it five satrs is because the beginning was a little slow. I almost didnt keep reading but it defenitely was worth finishing. Cant wait to start the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Good story

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    If you love all things High School or Vampires...

    This really was a great book. I read it a a little over a day. The basis of the book is that Vampires came "out of the closet" 50 years ago. They started to be public in every way. Humans didn't like the vampires and started a 30 year war. Instead of being made slaves the humans surrendered and the VampHu treaty was signed. All the humans live in 16 walled cities in the US. Each city is overseen by one family of vampires. Human delegate work with the vampire lords to negotiate all living conditions inside the cities; include how much blood will be donated to the vampires. Vampires are not allow in the city limits and they can not attack humans in the cities. This story documents the life of 17 year old Dawn, the youngest delegate selected by Lord Valentine the Vampire Lord of Denver, CO.

    Great book! Wonderfully different from all other Vampire books. A definite read for any high schooler or lover of vampire stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Good beginning

    I really enjoyed the world created here. The tension is enough but could've had even more to it. I will definitely continue reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2