Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    You'll LOVE It!!!

    I believe Darkness Before Dawn is a great book. This book is believable and realistic. I would recommend this book for young girl teens or even teens in general. It is an example of a real life situation. It teaches many of lessons and moral that parents try to teach their teens. Teens however will like this better because it is more realistic and it is coming from another person. Keisha was able to get over her boyfriend¿s death and being attacked. I think that most teenagers need to read this book, because it would help them see how Keisha deals with everything by talking to someone else. You can¿t always hide from your fear; you have to talk to someone to release all of the pain. Darkness before dawn was really good and it captured my attention from the start! It kept me wanting to read and I didn¿t want the book to be over. I enjoyed this book because it was full of real life. Most books base things on stuff that might never happen, but this book made me look at a situation like this a little harder. It talked about things that really happen and it took mature readers to a whole new level. I couldn't put this book down and I don't even like reading that much. No one will dislike this book...I promise!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Best book ever

    I have read all the hazelwood high books and let me tell you this book was the best by far, with forged by fire and tears of tiger leading closely behind. Draper makes the situautions seems so..... real! And i love how everything in the books connect together. I also like how Draper added 2 new ppl in the mix, to replace the two the died obviosly. I also adore the way the books ends, with kiesha saying the poem. Lastly, i loved how all the books ended with a part of the title, so it make the title make sense. If you dont get it, read the book urself. This has been a review from a seventh grader

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    BOOKS AMAZING !!

    Book is very very interesting all teens should read it !!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    About the age limits people say...

    Im a 13 year old and i had too read the series in class(best series ever) so i think that the series is fine for a 11 year.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great book amazing series

    I read this series in junior high school i still love it to this day and in 26.......highly recommend this book forged by fire and tears of a tiger......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!!!!!!

    This book is awesome for pre-teens. This book is about Keisha Montgomery. Her ex- boyfriend just commited suicide and Keisha is lonely. So, she falls for her principal's son, Jonathan Hathaway. He is twenty-three and Keisha is eighteen. Guess what? He likes her too. The climax is when he plans to take her somewhere special and he takes her to his house! He gives her non- alcholic wine. He kisses her and it goes too far. She tells him to stop. He won't, his grip on her get stronger and tighter. She says to him stop you are hurting me. He pulls out a knife and he forces her to do whatever he says. They fight. She gets the knife and slashes his face. It leaves a scar. I recommend you read this book. This book teaches the lesson of never going out with someone that is older than you.

    *P.S.= Jonathan Hathaway has raped more than one girl in this book.*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Darkness before dawn

    This was a good book good'ly detailed. It made me want to read more and more I wish their was another part like part 2. When you read it feels like your the one that's the protanganist ( main character). PS. Protanganist ( main character) is keisha and the angtangnist ( the problem) is johnathon. Enjoy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    The sequals of tears of a tiger revealed!

    Wow first tears of a tiger and then forged by fire and now this. I cant believe it this is really interesting. The really should make a movie, it would be great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Andy comes to life

    In this thrilling novel keisha is delighted when andy and rob come back to life and they start a life together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Nice great book

    I am in love with it already!!!!!"

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Excellent!!

    I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Before i purchased this book i wasn't sure if I'd like the book,

    Before i purchased this book i wasn't sure if I'd like the book, but this turned out to be one my favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Great Read

    I truly enjoyed tgis book. I would recommend this book to young teenagers. There are a lot if life lessons in the entire series. Sharon Draper ia an awesone writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Well-written and appropriate

    I read this book only because my son's English class was reading the series, and I wanted to know what the books contained. To my surprise, I really enjoyed this book. It has a good plot, good character development, and absolutely NO inappropriate language. As long as there is discussion by a parent (or teacher, perhaps) of the many tough topics presented in the series--drug addiction, suicide, eating disorder, pre-marital sex and (attempted)rape--it is excellent material. I do not think younger teens should read the series without oversight from a trusted adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No

    It sounds like it would be a little inaprit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Reaad

    Best book ever but you also have yo read forged by fire and tears of a tiger amazing books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I

    I love dhsnon draper she id the best author that i have ever read books from

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Ananymous

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    The book was alright

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Endiya

    Only if your 11year old comprehends at 9th grade reading level. The main character makes xsome appropriate and no so appropriate choices. If he/she understands the birds and bees of life, then its a great read. My 17 year old is reading it but not my 12 year old she is too immature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9