Customer Reviews for

Darkness Bound

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Paranormal Romantic Suspense!!

Just finished DARKNESS BOUND by Stella Cameron. Whidbey Island in Washington State. Werehounds, werewolves, fae creatures kept me turning the pages fast. The hero is Niles and he is to die for. Dark but strong and he would do anything for for Leigh, a human who is widow...
Just finished DARKNESS BOUND by Stella Cameron. Whidbey Island in Washington State. Werehounds, werewolves, fae creatures kept me turning the pages fast. The hero is Niles and he is to die for. Dark but strong and he would do anything for for Leigh, a human who is widowed and searching for a new start. I love the twists and turns in this book. I hope the next one won't be long coming.

posted by Chloe_Richardson on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have always liked Stella Cameron. That is why I bought the book. Big mistake. There are too many werehounds, werewolves, vampires, fae people etc. The story is hard to follow. I finally just started skimming the book to finish it. If you are a Stella Cameron fan, be w...
I have always liked Stella Cameron. That is why I bought the book. Big mistake. There are too many werehounds, werewolves, vampires, fae people etc. The story is hard to follow. I finally just started skimming the book to finish it. If you are a Stella Cameron fan, be warned, it is not her usual type of book. If you like the supernatural stuff, then go for it.

posted by 926707 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Outstanding Paranormal Romantic Suspense!!

    Just finished DARKNESS BOUND by Stella Cameron. Whidbey Island in Washington State. Werehounds, werewolves, fae creatures kept me turning the pages fast. The hero is Niles and he is to die for. Dark but strong and he would do anything for for Leigh, a human who is widowed and searching for a new start. I love the twists and turns in this book. I hope the next one won't be long coming.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Terrible

    I have always liked Stella Cameron. That is why I bought the book. Big mistake. There are too many werehounds, werewolves, vampires, fae people etc. The story is hard to follow. I finally just started skimming the book to finish it. If you are a Stella Cameron fan, be warned, it is not her usual type of book. If you like the supernatural stuff, then go for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Still scratching my head going "huh?" Darkness Bound

    Still scratching my head going "huh?" Darkness Bound has a good story line, but is so convoluted with too many characters and abrupt changes in action that the reader is left wondering what happened? I liked the characters, but it seemed like the author felt she had to cram it all in quickly, and in no particular order. So much going on with no apparent resolution, and while I know this is a series, you still need to have some sense of closure to the story. The romance itself had so much potential, but again, the author rushed through it and it ended up falling a bit flat. A shame really, because the series has potential. So I guess my review is "Great idea, but poor execution."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    What a joke........

    Please can i have my money back $7.99....the book is just not worth it ...... would not read another book even it is free.... do not waste your time or money

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Darkclan Apprentice's Den

    ~Shimmerstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Tarin

    She passes through, glancing into the rooms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Molly Reposted by permission from Reviews by Molly R

    Reviewed by Molly
    Reposted by permission from Reviews by Molly
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Stella Cameron has a new fan! I loved this book and everything in it. I’m, of course, becoming a SERIOUS paranormal lover….it’s coming close to taking over my love of mystery thrillers. Seriously, ya’ll. The more I read of vamps and weres, the more I fall in love with the sexy men and their awesome mates. Anyway, back to this. Stella Cameron has created a suspenseful, mind-blowing, captivating novel that will knock your socks off!

    Chimney Rock #1 is a fantastic start to an awesome new series. From the start, Ms. Cameron incorporates the suspense into the story with Niles Latimer and his friend Sean. Their werehounds, who want nothing more than to gain the trust of the human world and live among them in a peaceful manner. The thing is…there’s also the werewolves. Their not so keen on the idea of making peace with the humans, for they wish to turn the humans into wolves and create a werewolve pack that is bigger than ever. Wiping out the human race. Dominating the island.

    But, then Leah Kelly moves back home after the death of her husband, Chris. Niles knows she’s the human mate for him. Leah doesn’t know about Niles and Sean, and that the island she’s returned to is filled with weres, both hounds and wolves. Niles has to mate her to safe the werehound race, for there aren’t any female hounds left to reproduce.

    The wolves have other ideas on that. That’s were the suspense takes off like crazy and really makes the reader feel a part of the middle of the story. With twists and turns, ups, downs, ins and outs, like a fabulous romantic suspense novel should have, this story will leave you with a shocked feeling through out as the whirlwind ride intensifies. But, by the end of the novel, you’ll be so glad that you read this start to a fabulous new series!

    Most definitely recommended! A 5 Rose worthy novel that is filled with passion and suspense, and fabulous shifting characters, you’ll instantly become a fan. I know I did! I am already anxious for the second book in this series, Darkness Bred, Sean’s story. FANTABULOUS job, Ms. Cameron! I am a forever fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Can't say I love it

    I really like this type of supernatural/romance genre I am always so eager to see what people's imagination can come up with, I gotta say the story line is enticing and draws you in, I read the reviews before buying the book and I could see what a lot of people were saying about too many characters but that didn't really throw me off I could follow the story fine what didn't convince much was in my opinion there were parts that the author skimmed and didn't really explain or jump from one tempo to another without really going into it or even hintung at what might be on a sequel or just as an after thouoght, the sex scenes felt a little technical and just you know kind of like following the steps, it doesn't have to be all nasty but didn't feel the strong connection they supposedly develop in a matter of days, unfortunately I don't think i will follow this series I might try another one of her books just to give her the benefit of the doubt, it's a fast read if you want something short took me just 2 days and I work and have 2 kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    It kept my attention.

    Excellent!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite This is a review of th

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    This is a review of the audio version of "Darkness Bound: Chimney Rock" by Stella Cameron. Stella Cameron’s new series "Chimney Rock" is off to a fantastic start with the first book, "Darkness Bound". The setting is Washington State, Whidbey Island’s Chimney Rock. The small town is the center of paranormal activity. Werehounds, werewolves, the fae and vampires all struggle for the control of the island. The werewolves care little for humans and are willing to use them and destroy them. The werehounds are smaller than werewolves but are very strong. All of the werehounds are male and their numbers cannot increase unless they can locate viable females. Leigh Kelly moved to Chimney Rock to begin a new life. She found herself drawn to Niles, not knowing he was a werehound. Unknown to Leigh, she has powers that make her invaluable to the werewolves, vampires, fae and werehounds. The werewolves, fae and vampires knew she was a tool they could use to destroy the werehounds.

    There are a lot of characters in "Darkness Bound" but I managed to keep up with them. Cameron provided plenty of twists and turns to keep me eagerly turning pages to see what would happen next. The lead characters in this book are Niles and Leigh. Leigh is a strong woman with a sense of who she is, yet she is also aware of her weaknesses and willing to reach out to Niles when she needs him. Niles is handsome, sexy, strong and a true leader and yet he is vulnerable. Leigh is his weakness. The author left one particular thread not answered to my satisfaction. I guess she is going to complete the thread in the next book. This is an excellent read and Suehyla El-Attar’s voice is perfect. I can hardly wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Highly Recommed, love the story lne

    This book was very entertainng and I've already preordered the sequel. Love Stella Cameron's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Stella Cameron creates a fascinating world in DARKNESS BOUND. H

    Stella Cameron creates a fascinating world in DARKNESS BOUND. Her werehounds are more human than the average paranormal character which makes them even more believable. They do not live to kill or kill to live. Niles and his Team are tough warriors and nice guys, PTSD and other human traits included. Leigh doesn’t know until well into the book that paranormal creatures exists and she was one herself. These plot twists make for an interesting story. The cast of supporting characters includes some diverse, fun and eccentric personalities. I really liked that Leigh was strong and stubborn and Niles was no less Alpha for his caring side. Niles and Leigh must make some monumental decisions that felt a bit hurried and the climax was a little weak because it was setting up the next book but these points in no way diminished my pleasure in reading the novel.

    This book was submitted for an honest review.

    Heat Rating: Hot (A few detailed sex scenes, profanity and/or graphic violence.)

    Rating: 4

    Reviewed By: Jeanne Stone-Hunter for My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I just finished DARKNESS BOUND and while I thought it was a good

    I just finished DARKNESS BOUND and while I thought it was a good book with an interesting paranormal concept I felt like I had picked up a book that came later in a series without reading the earlier ones. It felt like you should know what is going on between the different factions without having it really explained, that you should know the characters already. Also, the storyline with the brother-in-law was just left hanging with no real explanation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Uninspired writing

    Story did not hold my interest. Made it to page 143 before giving up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    A New Paranormal Series Begins

    The author has written a slightly choppy and sometimes disconnected love story/paranormal story about a young woman who just lost her husband. She has returned to their cottage to stay and recoup from the tragedy. She meets a man who seems immediately interested in her. No one comes right out and tells her that their are problems in the small town, but she soon finds out that things are not as they seem. This is the first in a projected series. A good premise, but thw writer needs to tighten up the plot in the projected books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I expected a completely new approach to paranormal romance and I

    I expected a completely new approach to paranormal romance and I wasn't disappointed. Niles and Leigh are so perfect together and they kept me going even when the story was really tense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Stella Cameron Fan For Life!!

    Stella Cameron has a new fan! I loved this book and everything in it. I'm, of course, becoming a SERIOUS paranormal lover....it's coming close to taking over my love of mystery thrillers. Seriously, ya'll. The more I read of vamps and weres, the more I fall in love with the sexy men and their awesome mates. Anyway, back to this. Stella Cameron has created a suspenseful, mind-blowing, captivating novel that will knock your socks off! Chimney Rock #1 is a fantastic start to an awesome new series. From the start, Ms. Cameron incorporates the suspense into the story with Niles Latimer and his friend Sean. Their werehounds, who want nothing more than to gain the trust of the human world and live among them in a peaceful manner. The thing is...there's also the werewolves. Their not so keen on the idea of making peace with the humans, for they wish to turn the humans into wolves and create a werewolve pack that is bigger than ever. Wiping out the human race. Dominating the island. But, then Leah Kelly moves back home after the death of her husband, Chris. Niles knows she's the human mate for him. Leah doesn't know about Niles and Sean, and that the island she's returned to is filled with weres, both hounds and wolves. Niles has to mate her to safe the werehound race, for there aren't any female hounds left to reproduce. The wolves have other ideas on that. That's were the suspense takes off like crazy and really makes the reader feel a part of the middle of the story. With twists and turns, ups, downs, ins and outs, like a fabulous romantic suspense novel should have, this story will leave you with a shocked feeling through out as the whirlwind ride intensifies. But, by the end of the novel, you'll be so glad that you read this start to a fabulous new series! Most definitely recommended! A high 5 Book worthy novel that is filled with passion and suspense, and fabulous shifting characters, you'll instantly become a fan. I know I did! I am already anxious for the second book in this series, Darkness Bred, Sean's story. FANTABULOUS job, Ms. Cameron! I am a forever fan! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2