Customer Reviews for

Darkness Falls

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and great book!

    his book picked up where the last one left off. Nas is still fighting off Reyn, ( though I have no idea why, but sheesh, I'd be all over him!). In the first book, Nas dealt with coming off of bad friends and a bad life. This time she is fighting not only her friends coming back for her, but her dealing with her bad past.

    I really enjoyed this plot of the book. Nas took her past painfully. She blamed herself for a lot of it. She was just carrying a lot of her shoulders. It's hard to let go of something that you have been carrying for a long time. I loved that Reyn gave her space when needed, but I felt like he should have pushed a little more. I loved that the reader gets to see Nas fall apart piece by piece. She takes blames for anything and finally flees. I felt this was necessary for her character in order for her to grow. You know what they say you must fall to the bottom in order to climb to the top? Nas falls hard. She deals with the pains of her past and at times my heart aches for her.

    The love interest of the book is put on hold well because of Nas. Because of her unforgiveness, Nas can't move on. I loved that Reyn gave her space. He didn't push her hard, but was there for her all the time. I felt like at times he gave her too much room. I did however, adore how much he apologized. You can tell he was truly sorry for what she went through.

    This is a dark and gritty book. So much death, anger, pain and betrayal of friends that it hurts at times to read it. I loved that the author created Nas's life with real pain. It's not made up junk that could never happen, but stuff that everyday people go through. For those who love a good dark book, facing a trouble past, read this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Ahmaxinggggg

    Ahmazinnnnggggggggggg!!!!" A must buy!!!!!! Get it!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Best Sequell

    AMAZING!!! I couldn't stop reading! Literally. I read it in one day. I was so into it I wanted to cry when Nastasia wasn't with Reyn. You must get it. You won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Ahhhh

    I want to be out already!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I highly recommend this book

    I read the first book in this series Immortal Beloved and it was awesome. I am looking forward to the release of Darkness Falls. Anything that Cate Tiernan writes is fantastic. I have a hard time putting down the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    AWESOMESAUSE!!!!!!

    wishing there was more :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review brought to you by Shae Darkness Falls is the second boo

    Review brought to you by Shae

    Darkness Falls is the second book in the Immortal Beloved series. After having such a problem getting into the first one, this book completely made up for that.

    This story starts out with Reyn melting for Nas and her wanting nothing to do with him, but secretly wanting to jump on top of him. I was hoping that she had gotten that out of her system in the first one. I know their pasts are sketchy and that a relationship between them should be off the table, but I still hoped for it.

    I knew this story would be about Nas having to deal with Incy. I was just very surprised at how she went from being scared of him, having nightmares about him, and River putting spells to hide her from him…to her just getting in a car and leaving with him. That really annoyed me.

    Tiernan is good at writing little jokes into the story, I laughed a lot reading this book. The way she writes Nastasya’s attitude and some of her responses to conversations can be hilarious. It’s nice when a book gets really serious to be able to laugh. There is the perfect amount of seriousness, comedy, and drama.

    I loved getting more back stories and flash back of Nas and even some of her former immortal friends. Anne’s sister coming into the house confused me, that story wasn’t really told in this book. Even at the end I was confused of her purpose being in the house. I guess she was added to the story in this one because she will have a main part in the next book.

    I felt their could have been more magick in this book. I really like the way Tiernan writes about magick. It feels real, and you could really have your own circle.

    This book is a like for me, and it’s another series I enjoy reading. I can’t wait for the next book. Hopefully the plots can stay original and more of Nastasya’s story can come out!

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Darkness Falls definitely breaks the curse of sophomore books in

    Darkness Falls definitely breaks the curse of sophomore books in a series. Many times a second book in a series would somehow be a disappointment or a letdown compared to the first book, however Darkness Falls was so much better!! We got more backstory on the main characters, more development plot wise and character wise and we finally get a chance to meet Incy! Nasty's best friend of over a century. I really enjoyed Darkness Falls because Nasty has finally toned down the whining and "why me" attitude, and while we do have some times when she falls in despair and becomes emotionally distraught and screwy, it is all filled with real, raw emotions that you can't help but feel sorry for her and hope that she can see that everyone CAN change for the better. Nasty has definitely been bumped up my list of favorite characters in Darkness Falls. However, we unfortunately do not get much of Reyn since this book is mostly dedicated to Nasty and Incy's relationship and the final outcome of it. I am hoping the third book will be more about Reyn and from what the author has hinted, it will be!
    There were several flashbacks in the book and you all know how flashbacks aren't really my thing but they were short and informative that the story can't do without so I didn't get the usual restless feeling when I read flashbacks. Reyn and Nasty's relationship takes two steps forward then three steps back then again five steps forward but with the promise for more. I am definitely excited to explore more of their relationship and how Reyn and Nasty will have to deal with their past and history in order to be together. One thing that i'm still not used to is the amount of characters in the book; there are several wayward immortals that have also taken refuge in River Edge and while we do get a glimpse of each the pasts they are all trying to move on from, I really hoped that we might be given more backstory to some of their pasts. However I sometimes confuse between them all because I just don't know them enough to be able to remember them all.
    All in all Darkness Falls was an excellent follow up to Immortal Beloved and ended on a good note that gives the readers a satisfactory ending while at the same time giving them hints of what is to come, and trust me, I know it is going to be amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Cant wait to see what happens next

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Fantastic

    Amazing sequel. Funny, thoughtful, interesting. Left me fulfilled and happy, but very excited for the third!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I already know I'll love this sequel

    The first book was just plain awesome and it left me wanting to know more about Nat and the other characters. Cannot wait for this book to come out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Fell in love

    I loved the first book cant wait to read this one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    It just came out like 35 minutes ago

    I cant wait to get this.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Preorder question

    I preordered this book because i fell in love with the first one. I thought it was supposed to be available september 5th which is today. But i still cant download it any ideas on wgen ut will be ready?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    True reaaders

    I read the first book and it was amazing i know this book will leave me wanting more just as the first one did.its a mustt read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3