Customer Reviews for

Darkness Falls: Darkness Falls Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I have been long awaiting the release of Darkness Falls, and I r

I have been long awaiting the release of Darkness Falls, and I really enjoyed the book and found that it was worth the wait! Kayla is a great strong female character who encounters many trials and tribulations during the first installment of the Darkness Falls Series. I...
I have been long awaiting the release of Darkness Falls, and I really enjoyed the book and found that it was worth the wait! Kayla is a great strong female character who encounters many trials and tribulations during the first installment of the Darkness Falls Series. I can't wait to find out what happens to Kayla in the next book of the series and can't wait to learn more about not only Kayla's past, but also more about Aiden and Sylas.

posted by CrisM on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good read, but what is with the typos?

I found grammar and other random typos all over this book. :( Other than that being really distracting the book was a quick read and interesting. I like the twist with the vampire/zombie being a created virus gone wrong. Keep up the clever ideas and writing, but fire yo...
I found grammar and other random typos all over this book. :( Other than that being really distracting the book was a quick read and interesting. I like the twist with the vampire/zombie being a created virus gone wrong. Keep up the clever ideas and writing, but fire your editor!

posted by klyn27 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    I have been long awaiting the release of Darkness Falls, and I r

    I have been long awaiting the release of Darkness Falls, and I really enjoyed the book and found that it was worth the wait! Kayla is a great strong female character who encounters many trials and tribulations during the first installment of the Darkness Falls Series. I can't wait to find out what happens to Kayla in the next book of the series and can't wait to learn more about not only Kayla's past, but also more about Aiden and Sylas.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Love the story, hate the editing!

    Don't get me wrong, I truly am a fan!! But... the editing of this book drove me crazy! Many words used incorrectly. Most notably being the wrong "there, their, and they're" and repeatedly using " go head" instead of "go ahead." I know, petty language usage, but seeing things like this over and over made it hard to read.

    Overall a great story and I will be buying the next one that comes out. Of course, I can only pray that Jessica Sorensen will get a new editor to help with the next book she writes!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Excellent

    Glad I already picked up book 2 because I've just got to see what happens next. Great YA fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    4.5 Stars I love post-apocalyptic and dystopian stories and I he

    4.5 Stars
    I love post-apocalyptic and dystopian stories and I heard many good things about this book. So I bought an Ebook copy from Amazon for 3 dollars/130 pesos. I have no idea who Jessica Sorensen is. All I know is that, how blind am I? How come I don’t know this author? This book is impressive! I couldn’t put it down. It is full of action and romance. I was completely blown away.

    Rule #1—Never go out after dark.

    Rule #2—Always carry a weapon.

    Rule #3—No matter what, never EVER get bit.



    Like all dystopian stories, Kayla’s world is run by a Higher, a powerful race that governs them. They live in a city that is protected against the rabid vampires. As a bellator, she is expected to be perfect and obedient. Her job is to protect her people, to obey orders and to retrieve whatever the higher wants. The story took a great turn when she begins to question her loyalty to the Higher. She disobeyed them and was put into The Gathering, where no one survives. What is that purple liquid that was given to her every now and then? Those bloods on her dreams? What’s behind that red door? I don't post spoilers so you have to grab this book to find out.

    As for the world building, it is astonishing! They way the author made a distinct differences among 3 species, (Humans, Vampires and Highers ) was impressive and very unique. I like how the vamps and the higher were human once and had lost it because of the virus. The way the story depicts hope, despite the ruined world, and Kayla and Aiden looking for a cure in order to save humanity. It was made for action lovers. I feel like I was with them the whole time of their journey. I was hooked! I wanted answers about who/what Kayla really is.

    I also like the writing style of the author, it is fast-paced, light and enjoyable. They way she keeps the readers behind the curtains then suddenly thrown into a pit of ragging revelations, put me on the edge of my seat. There were some grammatical errors though, but I didn’t mind any of it.

    The characters were believable and vibrant. They have their own uniqueness. Kayla is a strong protagonist. She is brave, talented and caring. She cares so much for Monarch and Maci. Her ability to sense fear and heartbeats made her a kick-ass heroine. Aiden is a lovable character. Well, because he is so hot! The way he looks out for Kayla and his dedication to stand by her, melts my heart. The side characters were great too, Bernard, Greyson, and Ryder.

    Overall, I enjoyed Darkness Falls! I recommend this book to post-apocalyptic and dystopian lovers. A book full of action, adventure with a hint of romance. I would keep an eye on this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    Loved how Jessica made the charaters seem so real. Only thing though, the editing on some parts where kinda bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Darkness falls

    I was a little hesitant to read this but im glad i did. It turned out to be worth my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Recommend

    I very much enjoyed this. First time reading this author, will do so again. Thank you author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    V

    Very exciting..well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Good book

    I wasn't sure if Iwould enjoy this book since it seemed that it was written more for teens. I'm 40 and have always been obsessed with vampires so I gave the book a shot. Turns out that I really enjoyed the story and would recommend this book to ages 12 and up who enjoy action and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    C

    I liked it im relly disapointed cause im waiting for the other book to come out but i think it totaly erned 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Liked it

    Was a refreshing change of style and uniqueness. As a prolific reader, I was looking for something to liven up the reading juices as it had been awhile since I had anything that made me eager to pick up tge rusty ol nook, and this one did it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Nice read...

    The story line was a little hard to follow in the beginning but in all honesty I enjoyed reading this and I'm looking forward to reading more books by the author...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    required

    It mde me type something.. sooooooo..... yeah. Decent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Very good! Fast Pace, intriguing, and a little dark!

    A page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Loved it

    Interesting concept with an original idea. I really enjoyed reading Book 1 & 2. Highly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Darknes Falls

    This book had me going until the end because it just cut you off. You never know if she saves the world or what other memories she'll discover but it was still very good.... excaept the ending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Four star

    It was okay. I didnt get some of it and had to read it again though. But i loved it the second time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    A great read ,im in bad need of the next book to see what Kayla

    A great read ,im in bad need of the next book to see what Kayla is,and if she can save their worldand who will win her Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    good book, can not wait for the next one!

    good book, can not wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good read...

    I read alot of supernatural books and this was a good one. Would have liked it a little bit longer but set up for the next book very well. Would definitely read this author again ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4