Customer Reviews for

Darkness First (McCabe and Savage Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

I'm not sure how I found this book, but it was a good discovery. I'm a fan of John Grisham, James Patterson and Harlan Cobin -- authors who start their book and get you hooked. You can put James Hayman in the same category with Darkness First. I'll definitely look fo...
I'm not sure how I found this book, but it was a good discovery. I'm a fan of John Grisham, James Patterson and Harlan Cobin -- authors who start their book and get you hooked. You can put James Hayman in the same category with Darkness First. I'll definitely look for more by this writer.

posted by 17073176 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

?

I hope i can finish this book

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I'm not sure how I found this book, but it was a good discovery. I'm a fan of John Grisham, James Patterson and Harlan Cobin -- authors who start their book and get you hooked. You can put James Hayman in the same category with Darkness First. I'll definitely look for more by this writer.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    A drug dealer and killer is on the loose in a small Maine town.

    A drug dealer and killer is on the loose in a small Maine town. Detective Maggie Savage is called in by her father, the local sheriff to assist. Detective Savage later calls in her partner, Detective McCabe, for backup.

    Though told primarily following/from Detective Savage's point of view, when there are other points of view, the shifts are done effortlessly.

    The writing style and narrative are crisp, action packed, and descriptive without being overly verbose.

    Vivid and varied characters fill various scenes and areas of life the detectives visit throughout their elusive and winding investigation.

    Overall, a thrilling read!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I enjoyed the book very much.  Characters were different and per

    I enjoyed the book very much.  Characters were different and personable, suspenseful and quick moving....still had to cheat and read the ending so I could relax and enjoy the rest of the book...just the way I am.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    A very good read.

    An action packed, well-written, quick moving story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I really liked thisbook and author.

    This book kept me wanting more. First time with this author but will buy more. Interesting individuals and fast moving.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Give this one a Go

    Better than most I've read this past year (30++)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    G

    Very good book. Great story and characters. Would recommend it anyone who enjoys a well written mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Nice Read

    Pretty good read. Unexpected solution...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Entertaining

    I would love to see McCabe and Savage books #4 through #10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Well Recommended

    First time with this author - have purchased three books - enjoy his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Anonymous

    I am a big fan of James Patterson, Ken Follet, and David Baldacci -- now I have a new favorite to add.......James Hayman. After the first book, I had to purchase tne other two. Can't wait for the next book in the series. So glad that I found this arthor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    that was interesting quick read, you will want more

    did a great job of involving me into the story. I was working the crime facts all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Mayham in Maine

    Well constructed and edited. Fast paced building to a surprising crescendo conclusion. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Chris B

    Really enjoy this new series by James Hayman. I am a "total mystery reader" and this is one series that I will be looking for a fourth book from

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Very good book! Am looking forward to more from this author. R

    Very good book! Am looking forward to more from this author. Read the only two available from Barnes & Noble for my nook. Hope to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Good

    I would recommend this book. Keeps you interested all through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Darkness first

    Good reading,great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Darkness First

    Recommend. Good story, very well written and edited. I'll definitely look for more from this author. Thanks for offering a free book of this quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Good Read

    Great book for the Money, easy to follow and very suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Good read

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3