Customer Reviews for

Darkness First (McCabe and Savage Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

I'm not sure how I found this book, but it was a good discovery. I'm a fan of John Grisham, James Patterson and Harlan Cobin -- authors who start their book and get you hooked. You can put James Hayman in the same category with Darkness First. I'll definitely look fo...
I'm not sure how I found this book, but it was a good discovery. I'm a fan of John Grisham, James Patterson and Harlan Cobin -- authors who start their book and get you hooked. You can put James Hayman in the same category with Darkness First. I'll definitely look for more by this writer.

posted by 17073176 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

?

I hope i can finish this book

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    This book was excellant.

    This was the first book I have read by this author. It is free, 350 pages long, and a police, murder mystery. It is perfectly edited. The plot is very good, it has a great flow, the events are believable, the characters are likable and well rounded. There is not an an over abundance of roles, so it is easy to keep everyone straight. I am famililar with the upper east coast area and the description was right on. There are some some really graphic details of the many murder victims' injuries. While not extremely detailed, the injuries are described in an uncouth and heartless manner meant to shock the reader and achives this purpose. There is sex, drug dealing and use, arson, corrupt and cruel police officers, some cursing, no religion, there is a child I really grew to care for, two dogs and enough twists and turns to make a very satisfactory read. Sometimes bad guys are good, the good are bad and some are just what they seem to be. I was diappointed in one action the heroine took, as she sullied her reputation and a friendship, but it this did make her seem more human, less perfect and added more reader interest to the storyline. I hardly ever give a five star rating to a book, but this deserved it. Male and female, mystery lovers will enjoy this book. It is the perfect read. For adults, 18 and up. I am looking forward to more books by Hayden.

    AD

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    This is my latest favorite read. Great protagonists, excellent

    This is my latest favorite read. Great protagonists, excellent suspense. I've loved all of his books!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Very good story -- a little different since it was more about Ma

    Very good story -- a little different since it was more about Maggie, and I loved - always love strong female characters. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Enjoyed characters

    Thought this was terrific. Will read other by author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Great, novel.

    Loved this novel. Could not put it down....keeps you guessing. Great author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Excellent

    My new favorite author. Would love to read his other books but NOOK isn't offering any. I would buy all of them if they were.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Great Read!

    Loved the characters in this book. They can be found in any small town. All very real, flawed, ordinary, heroic at times. Will be looking for other books in this series. And others books by James Hayman as well.
    Bravo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Excellent Page Turner!

    Loved this suspense thriller AND from a fellow Portlander! Also love a complicated love story that makes me want to read more! Combine the two, thriller and love, add the twists, and I am hooked! Looking forward to more from this fellow writer :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    One of the best mystery/ thrillers I have read in a long time. G

    One of the best mystery/ thrillers I have read in a long time. Great story.  Great characters. beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great book

    Ive never heard of this author im sure glad i picked this it was GREAT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great

    From beginning to end - full of suspence - Very hard to put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I found this by accident one night. I must confess, that after r

    I found this by accident one night. I must confess, that after reading the overview I wasn't sure if I would like it but once I reviewed numerous comments I gave it a try. Couldn't be happier! It had my attention the entire time and I could not wait to finish it! Definitely will read more from him. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Very good.

    Very good. Liked it alot. Dont see any of his other works on nook. Would like to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    A taught fast-paced mystery with more twists and turns, than dri

    A taught fast-paced mystery with more twists and turns, than driving the back roads of Boston, MA.
    Really well put together, although as my first McCabe and Savage mystery, I thought it was
    more Savage and with barely a sprinkling of McCabe, perhaps books one and two will set me straight,
    which I will definitely be reading very soon! This weekend in fact!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Really worth reading

    As i started reading - i thought "do i really want to read this book and a third thru it - hell yes". Loved harlan character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Mask

    He walks in, carrying a rifle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Bushfire

    She looks up at the twolegs carelessyly. Y does everyone want me dead?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Really liled it!

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Young hood

    Looks at miku

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Miku

    She falls asleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3