Customer Reviews for

A Darkness More Than Night (Harry Bosch Series #7 & Terry McCaleb Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Painted into a Corner

It was inevitable. Michael Connelly has created a tale out of the fact that Detective Hieronymous Bosch shares the name of a darkly visioned painter from the sixteenth century. Once again, much of the enjoyment of the book derives from the charater of the modern Hiero...
It was inevitable. Michael Connelly has created a tale out of the fact that Detective Hieronymous Bosch shares the name of a darkly visioned painter from the sixteenth century. Once again, much of the enjoyment of the book derives from the charater of the modern Hieronymous. Despite a past that might have crippled him, he is tough rather than hard, resilient rather than defeated.

posted by Catalana on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

TEAM BOSCH!!!

I've read all the Harry Bosch novels so far and have loved all of them. But, if this were the first HB book I ever read, I probably would have never continued the series. Terry McCaleb's character is boring and annoying, to say the least. There is nothing intriguing abo...
I've read all the Harry Bosch novels so far and have loved all of them. But, if this were the first HB book I ever read, I probably would have never continued the series. Terry McCaleb's character is boring and annoying, to say the least. There is nothing intriguing about him whatsoever. I wish there was more Bosch in this book. I do feel that if you are reading the HB series, you should read this though. There is a lot of continuity in the series, and you really don't want to miss anything. I'm glad that HB #8 does not include Terry McCaleb.

posted by TEAM-BOSCH on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    Painted into a Corner

    It was inevitable. Michael Connelly has created a tale out of the fact that Detective Hieronymous Bosch shares the name of a darkly visioned painter from the sixteenth century. Once again, much of the enjoyment of the book derives from the charater of the modern Hieronymous. Despite a past that might have crippled him, he is tough rather than hard, resilient rather than defeated.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A brooding Connelly

    A Darkness More Than Night explores the nature of Harry Bosch as he works to resolve an intertwined plot. Terry McCaleb is learning to live a new life with beautiful family despite the conflict of his nature. McCaleb is drawn into examining a mystery that reminds him of his former career. McCaleb the heart-tranplant survivor probably should not be involved in the darkness of crime. But, isn't that who he is? Along the way, the reader receives a bit of art education that can be researched further for interest sake. There are a number of twists along the way that will challenge the reader's detective skill.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Hang On!!!!

    In a story that combines two of his characters from earlier novels as main focal points and, at one point or another, mentions just about every other one he has written, Connelly has written one of the best suspense novels in recent memory. Beginning with Bosch interviewing a suspect in an earlier case, the pace is set at fast and just builds until you feel like you are riding the Bullet Train from London to Paris. As you read, you come across references to earlier works 'VOID MOON' and 'THE POET' just to name two. Be prepared though, because once you start you WILL NOT be able to put it down. So plan for at least one sleepless night if not more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    One of Micheal Connelly's best

    This is definately one of his best works. It combines two superb characters with a story that has twists and turns you don't expect. It also delves into the psyche of the characters in typical Connelly fashion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Bosch's Humanity Revealed!

    The older Harry gets, the more he reveals his true character. Awash with angst, Harry gets help from Terry, our 'Bloodwork' hero, who watches every step because of his transplanted heart. The fact that his heart belongs to his sister-in-law thickens the plot in a positive way. Luckily, I was able to read all of Conneley's novels in chronological order. A wonderful collection that always leaves the reader anticipating the next addition to the series. If I could suggest anything, I would like to see the 'crime novel' style move toward the classic 'who-done-it' style in the Christie mode. I think it would challenge the reader and bring in a whole new group of fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    An Illuminating Read Despite the Title!

    What a novel idea to combine his favorite protagonist Harry Bosch with Terry Mc of Blood Work, a somewhat weaker protagonist in my view. Suddenly one is collaborating with, then investigating the other. The reader is forced to look with new eyes at the horrific idea that our usual hero may be more flawed than allowable! As a plus, the reader receives a lesson in art as well as one in the duplicitous nature of evil. If you are a Connelly fan, don't miss this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Flashfire

    I don't care for the x fbi guy. His concerns and physical weakness, tho understandable, do not work within the tough guy world Connelly has created. Beyond this, I think this may be one of his best, which, when considering that he is one of the best (living) writers out there; says a lot for this book.
    Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Excellent Read!

    I enjoy all of Michael Connelly's work. My favorite character of his is definitely Harry Bosch (There is also a great cast of "regulars" that Harry interacts with in each volume.) I have read 11 of the Bosch books and have a goal to finish all that are currently available. Connelly and Bosch never fail to hold my attention to the always riveting story lines. Read the Terry McCaleb books, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Another Fun Read

    A typical Harry Bosch story with a twist. Exciting reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch ser

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series in order, and I LOVE them. I am a big mystery/detective story fan, and I have tried so many different series from different authors, but I finally found the one for me! What can I say? I often find myself not really liking the main characters in novels, but I truly like Harry; he is a good guy - not perfect, but he works hard, isn't a womanizer, and isn't overly macho. All of the stories are well-written, realistic, contain surprises and twists, and keep me hooked until the very end. My favorites have been The Black Echo (#1), The Concrete Blonde (#3), Trunk Music (#5), City of Bones (#8), The Narrows (#10), although again - I enjoyed all of them. If you like detective mystery novels, you won't be disappointed with Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Terrific!

    I'm more inclined to read Mickey Haller novels, but this book is by far one of the very best of Harry Bosch. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommend

    If you like Michael Connelly you will definitely like this book. Typical Harry Bosch story,; good plot, lots of curves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A must read

    If you love detective stories Harry Bosch is one of the BEST! A Darkness more than night is great but I highly recommend if you read this series begin with the first one. I started with number 10 and had to go back and read all of them. I am now on 11. (They are so good I read number 10 about two months ago).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    ****

    Consistent with all of Connelly's McCaleb / Bosch stories. Highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Best in the Series!

    I've read many Michael Connelly books. I decided to begin reading them in order within each series. This one is the best I've read of any of his books so far. I thought about it...and it's twists and turns, for several days after I finished reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    As all Michael Connelly books this one was very interesting and I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Twists and turns

    I loved reading this book one of my favorites so far by this author. dbeaman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Recommended--a good read that keeps you thinking

    I've become obsessed with reading all the Harry Bosch books. Michael Connelly does not disapoint. I find that some writers seem to write for a market, and loose their edge over time. Later books become disapointing. That is not the case with Connelly. His books continue to be crisp, have layers of puzzles to solve and keep you guessing. This book is especially interesting because both of these men have retired from their former jobs, yet they are pulled back into the lives they previously led.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Great book

    After reading this one I had to go out and get Blood Work with Terry Mccaleb another very good read if you want to try that one out. There is even a movie with Clint Eastwood playing Terry it was good as well but the books are always better. But it was worth watching.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5