Customer Reviews for

A Darkness More Than Night (Harry Bosch Series #7 & Terry McCaleb Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Painted into a Corner

It was inevitable. Michael Connelly has created a tale out of the fact that Detective Hieronymous Bosch shares the name of a darkly visioned painter from the sixteenth century. Once again, much of the enjoyment of the book derives from the charater of the modern Hiero...
It was inevitable. Michael Connelly has created a tale out of the fact that Detective Hieronymous Bosch shares the name of a darkly visioned painter from the sixteenth century. Once again, much of the enjoyment of the book derives from the charater of the modern Hieronymous. Despite a past that might have crippled him, he is tough rather than hard, resilient rather than defeated.

posted by Catalana on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

TEAM BOSCH!!!

I've read all the Harry Bosch novels so far and have loved all of them. But, if this were the first HB book I ever read, I probably would have never continued the series. Terry McCaleb's character is boring and annoying, to say the least. There is nothing intriguing abo...
I've read all the Harry Bosch novels so far and have loved all of them. But, if this were the first HB book I ever read, I probably would have never continued the series. Terry McCaleb's character is boring and annoying, to say the least. There is nothing intriguing about him whatsoever. I wish there was more Bosch in this book. I do feel that if you are reading the HB series, you should read this though. There is a lot of continuity in the series, and you really don't want to miss anything. I'm glad that HB #8 does not include Terry McCaleb.

posted by TEAM-BOSCH on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    scary

    A scary book- have not finished it yet, but having read other books by him, I know what to expect- I like how he keeps same characters from book to book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Harry is always great!

    Harry Bosch is the best of the best - and the worst of the worst. Can't get enough of him!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    MICHAEL CONNELLY... WHAT ELSE CAN BE SAID

    Along with the other 3 books that I have read from Michael Connelly, this was fantastic reading... Often my mind raced ahead of the story because I was trying to solve it before him... In that, I re-read several paragraphs so that I wouldn't miss anything... Forcing myself to stay with him.. Thanks again Michael Connelly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    I loved this book!!

    Michael Connelly had me on the edge of my seat. I could not put this book down. I don't know much about writing books but every book he has written I have bought and loved every single one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    Excellent!!!

    I loved it! I loved the plot, the style, the twists... I stayed up all night, couldn't put it down no matter what!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    I saw the light.

    I did not know what to expect I had never read a Connelly novel before. The person who had recommended the book to me told me that the author had drawn characters into the story from his past books. I feared something akin to a bad high school class reunion. McCaleb and Bosch. Knowing that the author had written about these guys before I worried about the back-story that I did not have. ¿You like fast paced mysteries,¿ my friend said. ¿I like Nelson DeMille,¿ was my reply. ¿I don¿t like class reunions. I don¿t like jumping into the middle of something.¿ So with some reluctance I read A Darkness More Than Night. The book was good. Good plot, good writing, good characterizations, killer ending, go buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    a must for Harry Bosch fans

    I thoroughly enjoyed this Michael Connelly book. Harry Bosch is a favorite character of mine. In this book, Bosch the key witness for the trial of a prominent Hollywood producer accused of murder. At the same time, the trail of clues of a more recent murder lead to Bosch having committed the crime. Connelly's plots are always interesting and I found myself once again caught up in the story. There were sufficient plot twists in this story to keep me reading long after I should have been going to bed. I don't feel like Terry McCaleb is as real or three-dimensional as some of Connelly's other characters, but I admire the way his mind works and the subtle details he picks up and uses to solve the murder in question. I can't wait to see what happens to Harry Bosch next! This book also made me want to check out the original Bosch's paintings (which are central to the plot) for myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    TOT RATE

    A talent developing characters. Always a winner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5