Customer Reviews for

Darkness, My Old Friend

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Well worth the price. I couldn't put it down.

posted by marianne68 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hard to keep reading this one!

I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and bought this as an Ebook as soon as it was available. I was terribly disappointed, it seemed to drag on, and much of it seemed like filler. None of the characters were endearing. I skipped pages and still knew what was going on! ...
I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and bought this as an Ebook as soon as it was available. I was terribly disappointed, it seemed to drag on, and much of it seemed like filler. None of the characters were endearing. I skipped pages and still knew what was going on! Usually as I near the end of a book I can't wait to find out what happens and will continue reading into the wee hours to finish it. Not this one. I figured it out somewhere along the line, and even if I hadn't I didn't care how it ended. I just wanted it to end!!! I would recommend waiting until it comes out in PB, and not sure I'd even spend the one for a Paperback version.

posted by mysterygirlSC on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Mystery

    This book takes place called "The Hollows" where many interesting characters reside. It is the first book that I read by Lisa Unger and was very impressed with the writing style and the plot made for great reading. The only regret is that I did not read "Fragile" because I think if I had been introduced to the characters in that novel I would have enjoyed it even more and would have been a five star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I am a Lisa Unger fan, so of course I loved the book. Perfect e

    I am a Lisa Unger fan, so of course I loved the book. Perfect escape for me. I do think you can enjoy her books more if you read them in order. I couldn't find anything written that it is a sequel but the stories overlap, character show up again in other books.

    I read books fast, once Im on the the next I get titles mixed up with the stories and lose some of the details and names. I wish I would have realized in advance to jot down names and connection between people and some of the details of the Hollows. Because several stories take place there. my best guess on order is Fragile, Darkness my old friend and heatbroken.

    I think the only one I have left is sliver of truth. It looks like that may go with a set that I read a long time ago and may not remember much from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    WhisperFlight

    WhisperFlight sighed softly, Her mind flickering with thoughts. She hoped Jagged would show..She needed Him to know that She loved Him to death, even if ReedWhisker claimed to love, then leave Her. Her gaze flickered, and She thought of Her kits. EnderKit, AcornKit, and PoppyKit...Oh, how Her kits' had grown. She rested Her chin on Her paws, closing Her eyes. <p>
    }{}{}{•••WhisperFlight

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Glad to see these characters again

    I've long been a fan of Lisa Unger. When I read and reviewed Fragile last year, I said it was my favourite of her books so far. I was thrilled to find out that her latest book - Darkness, My Old Friend - reprises the town and characters from Fragile.

    Jones Cooper, a former detective in the town of The Hollows, has retired and in now keeping himself busy by pet watching for vacationing homeowners, small home repairs and the like - a far cry from his former occupation.

    He is visited one day by Eloise - the psychic from Fragile. She has come to tell him she has seen a vision of Jones - diving in the river after someone and that it would be too much for him. Eloise works with local PI Ray Muldane as well. Muldane has been hired by Michael Holt. Michael was born in The Hollows and has recently moved back after the death of his father. His mother had disappeared when he was young. Bethany Graves and her daughter Willow have just moved to The Hollows to help Willow start fresh. One of Willow's first encounters in The Hollows? Michael - in the woods - digging...

    " She thought him the dutiful son, sitting at his father's deathbed. But he wasn't that. He was a grave robber, waiting for the night watchman to drift off once and for all. Then, and only then, could he dig his fingers into the earth and exhume the truth."

    At the end of Fragile, I thought there were more stories to be told with these characters and I was right. Jones Cooper is a great protagonist, conflicted with his past and what his role should be now. His wife Maggie, a psychologist in town, still has not won me over, but her clinical take on events and emotions provide a needed element. Eloise is explored more fully in this book, letting us know her back story. I appreciated this 'fleshing out' as she is the character I enjoy the most, besides Jones. There are many other players, all with their own stories.

    There is a secondary plot line that eventually intersected with the primary case Jones is working on. I was able to foresee what was coming and the outcome of the mystery fairly easily. But, the real strength of Unger's writing seems to be the exploration of relationships, problems and emotions of her characters. Unger skillfully weaves together all the threads she's created into one compelling read.

    "If you're looking, you can find trouble anywhere. It's waiting - not just on city street corners, in subways, in nightclubs, but on quiet country roads, in a peaceful stand of trees."

    Those looking for a hardcore murder mystery won't find it here. But if you enjoy a good story, this one's for you. Read an excerpt of Darkness, My Old Friend. You can find Lisa Unger on Twitter and on Facebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Ok

    Was ok. I did seems to be a bit scattered in between story lines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1