BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkness, My Old Friend

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good

Well worth the price. I couldn't put it down.

posted by marianne68 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hard to keep reading this one!

I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and bought this as an Ebook as soon as it was available. I was terribly disappointed, it seemed to drag on, and much of it seemed like filler. None of the characters were endearing. I skipped pages and still knew what was going on! ...
I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and bought this as an Ebook as soon as it was available. I was terribly disappointed, it seemed to drag on, and much of it seemed like filler. None of the characters were endearing. I skipped pages and still knew what was going on! Usually as I near the end of a book I can't wait to find out what happens and will continue reading into the wee hours to finish it. Not this one. I figured it out somewhere along the line, and even if I hadn't I didn't care how it ended. I just wanted it to end!!! I would recommend waiting until it comes out in PB, and not sure I'd even spend the one for a Paperback version.

posted by mysterygirlSC on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Well worth the price. I couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    You are grabbed right from the start and doesn't let you go unti

    You are grabbed right from the start and doesn't let you go until you finish the last page. The author created great atmosphere, an exciting plot and emotionally charged characters. This is a wonderful book about dysfunctional families working on changing their lives. 100 miles away from Manhattan was the setting for this haunting and intriguing story. A worthy, interesting read..


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    A story wrapped in the best kind of darkness

    In DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND, Lisa Unger brings us back to The Hollows, the suburban New York town where FRAGILE was set. Many of the characters-including Jones and Maggie Cooper and their son Rick(y)-are also part of this new story, as are some we met only briefly in FRAGILE. I don't often specifically recommend reading series books in order, because I find that with authors I enjoy, they write so that each of their stories can stand alone as well. This is absolutely true of both FRAGILE and DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND, but in this case, if you haven't read either, I would recommend starting with FRAGILE. It's not absolutely necessary, but you'll appreciate the getting to know the characters from the start of their story. DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND opens with Jones Cooper, now retired from The Hollows PD, at something of a loose end. Like many men of his generation, his identity and even his personality has always been tied to his profession. This story is about Jones, yes, and his wife Maggie, but it's also about characters new to The Hollows (or rather, new to us reading about The Hollows) including an author who has just moved there with her 15 year-old daughter and a man who grew up in The Hollows and has returned only to be met with.well, in the spirit of spoiling nothing about this tale, suffice to say that he goes digging (literally) and what he finds is not what he, or those around him, expect. I really hope that this becomes a series. I like Jones and Maggie Cooper. I like that they're imperfect. I like that each character Lisa Unger creates is fully-formed, and dramatic events not maudlin and are bereft of melo(drama). The darkness referenced in the title pervades the lives of each of the characters in the story, to a greater or lesser extent, just as it does each reader's life. But oddly, I wouldn't describe it as a "dark" story. I often equate "dark" with "heavy," and DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND is exactly the right weight. DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND also includes elements that might be described as supernatural, but they're artfully handled so that even a skeptical reader such as me didn't find them interfering with the story, but rather contributing to it. DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND also moves between timeframes-something that I sometimes find too head-spinning in stories-with a grace that underscores Lisa Unger's immense talent. DARKNESS, MY OLD FRIEND weaves people, places and times into a story that is, in a word, captivating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous investigative psychological thriller

    Following her divorce from her egomaniacal spouse bestselling author Bethany Graves and her fifteen year old daughter Willow move from Manhattan to The Hollows in Upstate New York. Bethany hopes the small-town will end Willow's tendency to prevaricate. Used to the bright lights of Broadway, Willow finds rusticating boring. Bethany begins her next novel while also dating nice high school Principal Henry Ivy.

    Willow observes Michael Holt dig what the teen believes is a grave. Michael tells Bethany that his mom vanished over a quarter of a century ago when he was younger than Willow is; now with his dad's death, he wants his mother's cold case revisited. Retired police officer Jones Cooper supplements his pension helping his neighbors while they work; for instance letting repairmen into homes so people do not have miss work. The cops ask their former colleague to investigate while psychic Eloise Montgomery warns him that making inquires into the missing Cooper case would end tragically for him.

    Darkness, My Old Friend, the sequel to Fragile, is a fabulous investigative psychological thriller. The myriad of characters bring to life small-town living where refreshingly everyone knows everyone has secrets, but not what they are. Clues are all over the exciting story line so the climax is anticipated, which adds to the fun as fans can solve the case. Though better to have read Fragile as there are references to the previous novel, readers will enjoy joining mother and daughter as they acclimate to their new dangerous home.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Teenager Willow Graves has recently moved to small New England t

    Teenager Willow Graves has recently moved to small New England town The Hollows from New York City accompanied by her bestselling-novelist mother Bethany. Willow is unhappy in The Hollows and is seeing a psychologist due to her anger issues.




    One afternoon, in which Willow is feeling particularly vulnerable after a joke gone wrong in class, she cuts her next class and flees school. Taking a shortcut through the woods, Willow hears a thumping noise and against good judgment gets close, finding an enormous man digging a hole in the ground. Scared that she has witnessed someone burying a body, she runs, but loses her cell phone in the process, which is recovered by the digger.




    Bethany and Willow later receive a call from the stranger in the woods, wanting to return Willow’s phone. The man’s name is Michael Holt, and he tells Bethany, half joking, half serious, that he was actually disinterring a body, and he tells her a legend surrounding the iron mines below the Hollows Woods.




    Soon people in town get involved in a cold-case investigation involving the disappearance of Michael Holt’s mother when he was fourteen years old. Jones Cooper, a retired-cop-turned PI, Eloise Montgomery, a psychic with a tragic past, and the Holts’ neighbors get sucked in. But bringing back the past is anything but easy for devastating suppressed memories will emerge as well as town folks’ dark secrets, and lives will be in danger.




    I loved Darkness, My Old Friend by Lisa Unger. It is gritty, thrilling and very, very suspenseful and dark. The plot is very atmospheric; it sucks you in practically from the opening pages and doesn’t let you go until the end. I’ve come to realize, since this is the second book I’ve read by Unger, that in her stories bad weather is a central element of the plot; in Darkness, My Old Friend so is the paranormal.




    It seems as if the reader is part of the story; yes, Unger is that gifted. All characters are well developed, so much so that they feel like people one would have encountered at any point in one’s life, even if the story is that tragic that (fortunately) doesn’t happen often.




    I liked the character development of Willow. As teens Chelsea and Lulu in Heartbroken, Willow suffers complex transformations as result of what she goes through in the story. Lisa Unger writes about teens with understanding and sensibility. Two other great characters that practically jump from the pages are Eloise--for whom I felt compassion and empathy-- and Jones Cooper, a man who can’t see a lady in distress without jumping to her rescue, and in this novel that’s exactly what was needed.




    In summary, Darkness, My Old Friend by Lisa Unger is a top-notch thriller that will stay with you beyond the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Lisa Unger writes a very good story. The ending was a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Good prose

    I am new to Lisa Unger's books and I will certainly read her other books. I like the characters and the plot line, although I haven't finished the book yet. But I can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    highly recommend

    The characters were my friends I did not want my visit with them to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1