BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkness Rising (East Salem Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Evil is coming

    I have always liked books and movies that depict the battle between good and evil. Especially books that feature demons, angels and secret societies. Darkness Rising is the second book in the East Salem trilogy and it had me on edge the entire time. Evil is coming and its starting in East Salem Massachusetts. This tale left me breathless and afraid. I cannot wait for the final installment. This tale picks up right after book one ended. Forensic psychiatrist Dana Harris and football legend, turned private eye Tommy Gunderson are investigating the mysterious death of a young girl and the boy who killed her. An angel named Charlie appears as a biker dude to guide them. Officially the case is closed. When a one hundred year old woman is killed in a closed room it quickly becomes clear that something supernatural is in Salem. Dana and Tommy are convinced that the St. Adrian’s Academy might be behind it. The closer they get the more danger they find themselves in. It will take bringing in others to uncover the evil plot and save themselves from demons. I really like the characters Wiehl has created in Tommy and Dana. Tommy is strong in his faith, confident and knows he has been blessed. He has an uncanny ability to see patterns in things, and a determination to see things through. He is solid, honest and someone I'd like to call a friend. Dana is a scientist at heart, and her faith sometimes takes a backseat to her need for answers. While she is confident in her abilities, she often feels like a teen when it comes to relationships and trust. Carl is suffering as the anniversary of daughter died approaches. Ruth, Tommy’s Aunt is delightful and a Librarian so of course I adored her. Other key players are introduced rounding out the members who will unite to fight evil. Of course the evil villains in this tale were mysterious, creepy and gave me goose bumps. Be on the lookout for a windgo. Darkness Rising oozes creepiness and kept me reading late into the evening. It is a tale of good versus evil and Wiehl gives us an awesome back history of this battle with secret societies that had me drooling. While the tale is laced in faith, and the message clear you cannot help but be caught up in the plot. I have always loved tales of possession, the television show Supernatural, the Omen and the Exorcist. Give me an evil society working for Satan, an unknowing oblivious world and a group destine to save them and I am completely enthralled. This had so many dangerous action scenes, dark twists and legends; I couldn't stop turning the pages. The authors weaved a tale that was suspenseful. They wove history, Indian and religious history into the tale blurring the lines of reality. I won’t tell you what, but at the end of the tale I was afraid of something and every time I do it..I think of this story and shiver..eeep! I cannot wait for the final book.I want to thank Thomas Nelson for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Awesome Read.....

    I had read the first book Waking Hours and really liked it. Lis Wiehl has a knack for getting the little hairs to stand up on the back of your neck so I thought...until....I read Darkness Rising. WOW! The continuing story line takes where you don't expect. Plus she does an excellent job at telling about God's love and grace, and brings you into the spiritual warfare that is going on around us. I can't wait for the 3rd book to come out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Boring, not what I expected. Didn't finish reading it because i

    Boring, not what I expected. Didn't finish reading it because it was to hard to follow.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Wonderful!

    Lis Wiehl is a new favorite of mine after reading Waking Hours, and now, after reading Darkness Rising, I am really hooked! This read had it all, amazing realistic people, riveting story, spirit, love, good, evil, romance, sacrifice........I am thrilled to add these books and this author to my library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Darkness Rising sees forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and priva

    Darkness Rising sees forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and private investigator Tommy Gunderson try to uncover the truth behind what is going on in St. Adrian’s Academy. It is a continuation of the first book in the series, The Waking Hours. Their investigation reveals that it is not anything natural that is at work but the supernatural. And it has been going on for generations and they don’t know who they can trust. They end up entering the showdown between good and evil.



    The relationship developing between the two characters has the right hint of love but doesn’t go overboard. It should appeal to those that enjoy romance in their novels and those that are just interested in the investigation and revelation of the events.

    Darkness rising is a wonderful written book that will bring you into the narrative of what is occurring in East Salem. There are more mysteries and suspense throughout the book that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The writing is fast paced and doesn’t drag on at all. It was impossible to put the book down as I read it. I love great dialogue that moves the story forward and this has it.

    Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson have written a wonderful book and I’m looking forward to what else is in store for us

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Not as scary as Peretti Dani Harris is a forensic psychiatrist w

    Not as scary as Peretti
    Dani Harris is a forensic psychiatrist who is supposed to be on a break to deal with any stress brought on by working on a murder case. Even though the case of declared closed, Dani can’t let it go and continued following clues.

    Tommy Gunderson is a former football player, a wannabe detective, and school friend of Dani’s. Together they are finding clues to something much bigger than one boy killing one girl.

    Having read Peretti in high school, Wiehl’s writing is not as dark or frightening—thankfully. I enjoyed it and would like to read the rest of the trilogy

    I received this book free from the publisher in order to give my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I recently recieved an ARC copy of Darkness Rising the second bo

    I recently recieved an ARC copy of Darkness Rising the second book in the East Salem Trilogy by author Lis Wiehl. Of course, before reading the second book I headed to my local library to check out the first book of the trilogy, Waking Hours. I enjoyed the first book so much that I was glad that I had the second book waiting to be read immediately. In this book we again find the main characters of Dani Harris and Tommy Gunderson, But we also get more of some of the other characters that I grew to love. In fact, several of the best ones play bigger roles in this book, such as Tommy's aunt, his spiritual advisor Carl, and a few of the other characters from the first book. As the book begins, we become aware that, although Tommy and Dani solved the murder in the first book, their job is not over. In fact, in solving the murder they uncovered a darker plot that needs their attention. This plot is the center piece of the second book. As the story unfolds, not only are Tommy and Dani faced with difficult decisions, but several of their friends and acquaintances are being drawn into the story more fully.

    In this second book of the trilogy, Lis Wiehl has another definite hit on her hands. I was excited to see that this book continued with the combination of the elements of a first rate mystery/thriller and the elements of the supernatural that where so successufully woven together in Waking Hours. In addition, I was fascinated with the historical elements that were included in this one as I love history in any form. To have an author combine local history so successfully with a riveting thriller story line was part of what made this book a big hit for me. Another of the enjoyable parts of the story was the ability to weave supernatural elements into the story without resorting to the "they live among us" storyline that is so common these days. Not that I don't like that story line (I am a big fan), but it is refreshing and delightful to see an author approach the supernatural from a different direction. In fact, I would class this book as more of a mystery/thriller with a definitely "evil" twist than a supernatural mystery/thriller. However you class it, though, it works!

    As for the character development in this installment of the trilogy. Dani and Tommy continue to grow as characters, but, thankfully, in the end Dani is still Dani and Tommy is still Tommy. I was excited, though, to see that some of my other favorite characters from the first book (Carl and Tommy's aunt, to mention two of them) got to play bigger roles as the story continued. In addition, I was able to find some new favorites among the characters that were introduced in this book. I was especially interested in Quinn. The inclusion of his character gave the author a chance to delve more fully into the workings of the human brain from the scientific viewpoint, which she did without talking over the reader.

    Once agian, the ending of this book left me both satisfied with where I was in the story, and wanting more. I am excitedly waiting for the third book. Unfortunately, it has a publishing date of September 2013, as I would love to read it now. After reading the first two books in the East Salem trilogy, I can proudly say that I am a definte fan of Lis Wiehl and look forward to reading some of her other mystery/thrillers while waiting for the third book in this series. I give both books in this series 5 out of 5 stars and have already recommmended them to several of the people in my reading circles. In fact, a few have already read them and loved them as much as I did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson in their new book, ┬┐Darkness Rising┬┐

    Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson in their new book, “Darkness Rising” Book Two in the East Salem series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to the town of East Salem.

    From the back cover: The evil in East Salem is no longer content to hide in the shadows. The stakes—and the darkness—are rising.

    Dani Harris thought there wasn’t much left that could surprise her after serving as a forensic psychiatrist in East Salem. And Tommy Gunderson has faced few challenges in his life that he couldn’t overcome by either physical strength or his celebrity status.

    But as they race to uncover what’s really happening behind the high walls of St. Adrian’s Academy, it becomes clear that supernatural forces have been at work here for generations. And now those forces are intent on making sure Dani and Tommy don’t interfere.

    When the unseen becomes seen, faith is the only weapon strong enough to fight in a battle involving not just murder and betrayal—but angels and demons.

    They just solved one mystery, now they have found there is an even bigger mystery. Just when they thought they could breathe Forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and private investigator Tommy Gunderson find a new threat that is even more dangerous than what they just solved. For this one they need help and increase the team by two, both of their ex-fiancés. However, as the fore-some uncover the necessary evidence they need they also draw the attention of dark, unwanted forces against them. “Darkness Rising” is a thriller, which simply means that everyone is in grave danger from, practically, the beginning. The authors give us a really complex mystery and sections of story that will chill you. ”Darkness Rising” is full of twists and turns, with a few red herrings thrown in just to cause confusion. Dani and Tommy are warm and likable and we get engaged in their lives. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. I am enjoying this series and look forward to the conclusion.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Disappointing

    Was very disappointed in this book. Have read some of her others and loved them. Sorry she felt she had to switch like everyone else to the supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    After thoroughly enjoying the first book, Waking Hours, in thi



    After thoroughly enjoying the first book, Waking Hours, in this trilogy, I looked forward to continuing the story of Dani, Tommy, and the evil that is lurking in East Salem.


    For a trilogy, Lis Wiehl had trouble writing a smooth transition from Waking Hours to Darkness Rising. The story of Dani and Tommy continues, but as details from book 1 are incorporated in, the reader gets lost. The transition "flashbacks" continue into the middle of the book which seems a bit much. If you plan on reading this book, please read book 1 FIRST!


    As for the story, I once again enjoyed being immersed in the world of good versus evil. Lis draws you into the eternal battle against evil. Darkness Rising was interesting and engaging. The new characters bring a new dimension to the ongoing saga and incorporates God's ongoing relationship with man.


    Due to the choppy and confusing transition from book 1,

    I am rating this a 3.5 out of 5.


    Again, the story of a supernatural battle waging unseen in our world is still amazing!



    To read the first chapter, click HERE, scroll down to "Meet the Author."

    Then, click on READ MORE and Chapter 1 will open up.


    I received a complimentary e-copy of Darkenss Rising from Thomas Nelson Publishers and the Booksneeze Blogging program for my honest review.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    The war between good and evil takes shape in the form of demoni


    The war between good and evil takes shape in the form of demonic and angelic beings as they battle the dark secrets of East Salem, especially, those rooted in St Adrian’s Academy.

    In Darkness Rising, the second of the trilogy, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and her assistant, Tommy Gunderson continue their deepening relationship as they are pulled into what Tommy believes is God’s call to do something about Satan’s work in East Salem.

    Like split-screen viewing, the activities of demons are seen as they interact with world of humans, an idea many of us believe in but pay little mind to. Nelson and Wiehl pull back the cover and draw us into that reality.

    Lovers, past and prospective, murder, and betrayal (although the betrayer is revealed a hundred pages into the story, his involvement adds to the suspense) are laced together with supernatural interventions to make this an intriguing tale.

    The one difficulty I had with the story was the voluminous scientific/historical/medical information dumps. Although they lent credibility to the authors, I found slowing for so many scientific terms, explanations, and backstory disconcerting, and tended to speed read over them at times.

    Nonetheless, fans, especially Christian ones, of the supernatural will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Like a great read? Check this out!

    Lis has another amazing book! If you enjoyed her first books, you will love this one as well. Get to know this fairly new author. She has been worth the wait! I hope she keeps on writing. Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1