Customer Reviews for

Darkness under the Sun

Average Rating 3.5
( 1261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(421)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(259)

2 Star

(110)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Whats with all the complaining

Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a b...
Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

posted by DangerBoy on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

171 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

This is a ridiculous scam

"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up p...
"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

Ugh.

posted by Airynd on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a ridiculous scam

    "A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

    What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

    This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

    I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

    The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

    Ugh.

    171 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Really?

    For those of us who read Dean Koontz and know his writing well.... Do not waste your dollars; you will be dissapointed. This is NOT a full BOOK, it is merely a prologe and exerpt of a book to come in December! The writing is terrific as expected for this author. The story has full promise, but cuts you off just as you are getting to know the characters. Shame on you Barnes and Noble for promoting this as a full book from a terrific author at a terrific price! I am incredibly let down by this, and to think, I PRE-ORDERED this in anticipation of the release date thinking how amazing it is that B & N is able to do this for us Nook lovers at such an incredible price! Tsk, Tsk, Tsk.... The sample of a book I can download for free. How sad that I wasted good dollar bills that could have been directed to another purchace for a full read. Buyer Beware! If it seems to good to be true, It is.

    108 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Boo Hiss on B&N for part of a book

    I am so disappointed that I paid for only 60 pages of a book. I WANT MY MONEY CREDITED TO MY ACCOUNT. Your advertising is very misleading and shame on you for taking this approach to misleading your customers!!!!

    87 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Shame on you!

    Barnes and Noble I am very disappointed in you. This is misleading and not an entire book but only a small portion. Very, very misleading and I had to give a rating otherwise it would be zero!

    67 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    I learned my lesson

    Don't be fooled. How exciting to be able to get Dean Koontz for almost no money! Even a Novella would be worth it, right? WRONG! This left you with the feeling of being cheated. It felt like it was the the introduction to a full book, like there had to be another 400 pages missing. If it was, in fact, just a sample of a complete novel, call it that. If it wasn't, and really was a novella as advertised, it missed its mark.

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    shame on you both b&n and Koontz

    i learned to read the reviews before purchasing with this one thats for sure!

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Whats with all the complaining

    Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

    21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Waste of my hard earned money!!!

    I as many other readers, was very disappointed to find out that this was only a sample that should of been free. I consider myself of at least average intelligence,& an avid reader,also a huge dean koontz fan, but did not know that novella meant small part of a whole story!!! I guess I've learned something new,along with feeling like I've been cheated out of my 1.99 from barnes&noble.For those of you who got it for 1.59 you got a even better deal! I feel that this was a very sneaky underhanded thing to do to all the dean koontz fans out there!!!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional novella- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Disgusting Trick

    I'll buy NO MORE Koontz "books".

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    It is a short story

    Though it no longer says novella

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Stop blaming Barnes and Noble and Dean Koontz for your stupidity and greed.

    This Novella (check dictionary for meaning of the word) Great! The Novella answered some questions I had after reading What The Night Knows. I did not purchase the Novella before reading the Novel but I would have known it was a short story because I looked up the meaning of the word. Also, why do folks expect something for nothing? Why do they expect a full novel for such a small amount of money? If it's too good to be true, then dig a little deeper and find out all the facts instead of blaming others for your mistake.
    Thank you Dean Koontz for another great read and looking forward to many more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very short

    This story is similar to a real story about a father who sets his son on fire. After that is pure fiction about a serial killer. Good story way too short for me.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insight into the mind of a killer

    I found this to be a highly entertaining short story that did the job that it set out to do, which is to convince me to buy the connecting novel what the night knows. Even if there wasn't a connecting novel I would find this a fun back and forth between a young boy and a serial killer.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Where does it say 'novella'?

    Did I miss that in the description?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Don't waste your money...

    This entire "novella" is included at the back of the ebook edition of What the Night Knows. Information like that in the description of WTNK would have saved me the two bucks of basically buying the same thing twice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    DONT SPEND THE MONEY

    I WISH I HAD READ THE REVIEWS FIRST- I DID NOT REALIZE IT WAS A SHORT STORY. LIVE AND LEARN I GUESS. THIS WAS THE 2ND TIME I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING A BARGAIN BOOK AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE A SHORT STORY.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    The story started out great and really held my interest but then

    The story started out great and really held my interest but then it just simply fizzled out. The ending seemed to have nothing to do with anything. The B&amp;N description says novella with 60 pages. Actually, only 41 pages are the actual story. The first 5 are copyright info, etc. Pages 46-60 are nothing but a preview of another book. Very disappointed in Dean Koontz on this one as well as how the novella was represented by Barnes &amp; Noble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Thanks for the tip

    Thanks for the tip! I would have bought this book had I not read the reviews!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I know this is a cheap amount to pay for one of Koontz writings

    I know this is a cheap amount to pay for one of Koontz writings but on the description it is called an e-book. So I would think it was a book also and not just a teaser of an upcomming book. I have bought prequels of up comming books knowing what they were and not upset about them, but this I will not buy because it is called an e-book and I am glad I read the reviews before buying it. Now I will not waste my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64