Customer Reviews for

Darkness under the Sun

Average Rating 3.5
( 1265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(423)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(110)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Whats with all the complaining

Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a b...
Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

posted by DangerBoy on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

174 out of 182 people found this review helpful.

This is a ridiculous scam

"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up p...
"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

Ugh.

posted by Airynd on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 423 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional novella- hard to put down. Enjoyed it

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Stop blaming Barnes and Noble and Dean Koontz for your stupidity and greed.

    This Novella (check dictionary for meaning of the word) Great! The Novella answered some questions I had after reading What The Night Knows. I did not purchase the Novella before reading the Novel but I would have known it was a short story because I looked up the meaning of the word. Also, why do folks expect something for nothing? Why do they expect a full novel for such a small amount of money? If it's too good to be true, then dig a little deeper and find out all the facts instead of blaming others for your mistake.
    Thank you Dean Koontz for another great read and looking forward to many more!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insight into the mind of a killer

    I found this to be a highly entertaining short story that did the job that it set out to do, which is to convince me to buy the connecting novel what the night knows. Even if there wasn't a connecting novel I would find this a fun back and forth between a young boy and a serial killer.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Well, I just want to make one suggestion to everybody who gave t

    Well, I just want to make one suggestion to everybody who gave this book a bad review...before you buy a book, no matter which one, scroll down to the product details. It tells you right there in black and white how many pages the book is. Don't just go by what barns and noble &quot;tells&quot; you. Check it out for yourself and you won't get &quot;ripped off&quot;.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Map and rules of ghost pack

    Map: res1 rules & map////res 2 bios//// res 3 main camp////res4 pack meeting///// res5 seggestions -----------------------------------------------------------------------------rule: No godmodding////. No raids when leader(s) are gone.////// final rule: APLHA WORD IS LAW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    M AND RULES OF HOPECLAN

    This is a new hope for the future. We need good cats. RULES 1, no cussing. You will be penalized. 2, mating is allowed but do it in a private den. 3, only have kits when the med cat is around 4, have fun! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~map~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ RES ONE- main caMp. RES TWO- bios RES THREE- leaders den RES FOUR- med cats den. DO NOT POST OVER THIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    To sun

    That was beautiful. By the way, read what Garrett wrote at your book. I just saw it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Sun

    Ok you MOTHER F UCKER! YOU WHINY A SS BI TCH F UCKING S HITTY PIECE OF NOTHING BABY!!! I HOPE YOU DIE FROM A THOUSAND HORRABLE DEATHS AND GO TO H ELL! FU CKER!!!!!!!! YOU B ITCHY WHINY A SS BABY! GO TO H ELL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Wow

    He never fails to amaze me. This book kept me glued to my chair. I haveread most of his books and some of them twice.thank you Dean for all your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Loved

    Creepy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Bramble

    Lays dead why he chokes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Mothfang

    Smiles with satisfsction. ((Thkbcafnrtk yghodru sdho mkjurtcdh!))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    great short read

    loving it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Hunt go to son

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Treth

    *drops down, grabs the baby, and jumps out*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Samantha

    She runs after him." Who are u?" She yelled.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Evelyn

    A young jedi walks in. "Are you okay?" She says.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Starclan is at lavaclan all reults

    Starclan is at lavaclan all results

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Anonymous to Mysticsun

    Soo.......when are the kits coming

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Mysticsun

    Pads in and curls up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 423 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22