Customer Reviews for

Darkness under the Sun

Average Rating 3.5
( 1258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(259)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Whats with all the complaining

Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a b...
Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

posted by DangerBoy on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

170 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

This is a ridiculous scam

"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up p...
"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

Ugh.

posted by Airynd on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a ridiculous scam

    "A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

    What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

    This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

    I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

    The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

    Ugh.

    170 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Really?

    For those of us who read Dean Koontz and know his writing well.... Do not waste your dollars; you will be dissapointed. This is NOT a full BOOK, it is merely a prologe and exerpt of a book to come in December! The writing is terrific as expected for this author. The story has full promise, but cuts you off just as you are getting to know the characters. Shame on you Barnes and Noble for promoting this as a full book from a terrific author at a terrific price! I am incredibly let down by this, and to think, I PRE-ORDERED this in anticipation of the release date thinking how amazing it is that B & N is able to do this for us Nook lovers at such an incredible price! Tsk, Tsk, Tsk.... The sample of a book I can download for free. How sad that I wasted good dollar bills that could have been directed to another purchace for a full read. Buyer Beware! If it seems to good to be true, It is.

    107 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Boo Hiss on B&N for part of a book

    I am so disappointed that I paid for only 60 pages of a book. I WANT MY MONEY CREDITED TO MY ACCOUNT. Your advertising is very misleading and shame on you for taking this approach to misleading your customers!!!!

    87 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Shame on you!

    Barnes and Noble I am very disappointed in you. This is misleading and not an entire book but only a small portion. Very, very misleading and I had to give a rating otherwise it would be zero!

    67 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    shame on you both b&n and Koontz

    i learned to read the reviews before purchasing with this one thats for sure!

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Waste of my hard earned money!!!

    I as many other readers, was very disappointed to find out that this was only a sample that should of been free. I consider myself of at least average intelligence,& an avid reader,also a huge dean koontz fan, but did not know that novella meant small part of a whole story!!! I guess I've learned something new,along with feeling like I've been cheated out of my 1.99 from barnes&noble.For those of you who got it for 1.59 you got a even better deal! I feel that this was a very sneaky underhanded thing to do to all the dean koontz fans out there!!!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Disgusting Trick

    I'll buy NO MORE Koontz "books".

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    It is a short story

    Though it no longer says novella

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Where does it say 'novella'?

    Did I miss that in the description?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Don't waste your money...

    This entire "novella" is included at the back of the ebook edition of What the Night Knows. Information like that in the description of WTNK would have saved me the two bucks of basically buying the same thing twice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    DONT SPEND THE MONEY

    I WISH I HAD READ THE REVIEWS FIRST- I DID NOT REALIZE IT WAS A SHORT STORY. LIVE AND LEARN I GUESS. THIS WAS THE 2ND TIME I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING A BARGAIN BOOK AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE A SHORT STORY.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Thanks for the tip

    Thanks for the tip! I would have bought this book had I not read the reviews!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I know this is a cheap amount to pay for one of Koontz writings

    I know this is a cheap amount to pay for one of Koontz writings but on the description it is called an e-book. So I would think it was a book also and not just a teaser of an upcomming book. I have bought prequels of up comming books knowing what they were and not upset about them, but this I will not buy because it is called an e-book and I am glad I read the reviews before buying it. Now I will not waste my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Extremely Short

    You just start getting into it and it is over. I kept thinking I must have only the sample, but it doesn't say sample.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    It should be FREE!

    I am all for spending money because of "intellectual property", everybody needs paid, but this is wrong.

    There is nothing wrong with the story but it is only 47 pages and 13 to introduce another book coming out. I feel like I just purchased an advertisement. Not only that; I purchased it Pre-Release. Shame on B&N for this one! This should be I in the Free Bin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Do not waste the money! Very disappointed that I let myself be

    Do not waste the money! Very disappointed that I let myself be duped out of $1.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Novella

    Novella means a short story- It does NOT mean an excerpt from a book coming out. Big difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    I was going to buy this book but thanks to all the poor ratings,

    I was going to buy this book but thanks to all the poor ratings, I will not purchase it.. Thank you DolceVita for letting us know that it is only 60 pages. I too am disappointed that B&amp;N would let authors take advantage of their fans like this..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Re samples

    I don't anyone at B&N reads the samples. If all the " pre pages" are figured into the sample you sometimes get as little as 5 or 6 book pages. Once I actually got 1 page of sample book. Swear on Grandma's grave. How can you preview a book by 3 paragraphs???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    SHAME ON YOU BARNES AND NOBLE for not being CLEAR that this is N

    SHAME ON YOU BARNES AND NOBLE for not being CLEAR that this is NOT a book, but a &quot;preview&quot; of a book! SHAME ON YOU DEAN KOONTZ for letting this happen!!!

    Lesson learned? Read the reviews posted by other readers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7