Customer Reviews for

Darkness under the Sun

Average Rating 3.5
( 1267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(424)

4 Star

(345)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Whats with all the complaining

Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a b...
Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

posted by DangerBoy on November 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

176 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

This is a ridiculous scam

"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up p...
"A Dean Koontz novella for only $1.99? Yes please, sign me up!" I thought.

What a stupid choice that ended up being. >.<

This is *not* a novella, it is a few chapters out of the full book that will be published next month. My advice? DO NOT BUY IT. You'll end up paying for it twice.

I am so angry Koontz pulled a money-making stunt like this. He already has a rabid following - why would he need to publicize the upcoming novel in such a sneaky and underhanded way?

The story itself is suitably creepy and violent and awful, just as one would expect from Koontz, and were it a stand-alone novella (as purported,) I would not be nearly as disappointed. However, this is one reader who will not be buying the book it's taken from.

Ugh.

posted by Airynd on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Whats with all the complaining

    Did you all not read the part that said (Novella) when you purchased this for $1.59? I know I did and I expected it to be short hence the word (Novella). in no way did Barnes and Nobles mislead anyone with this purchase. I thought this was a good read and well worth a buck fifity nine.

    21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND *

    THIS NOVELLA SEEMED TO BE THE INTRODUCTION TO "WHAT THE NIGHT KNOWS" WHICH IS ALSO BY DEAN KOONTZ. LUCKILY, I READ THEM IN THE CORRECT ORDER, WITH THIS ONE FIRST. THEY ARE A BIT LIKE SOME OF THE OLDER DEAN KOONTZ BOOKS. THERE IS ENOUGH TENSION AND HORROR TO REALLY SCARE YOU. AND, ALTHOUGH IT OFTEN LOOKS HOPELESS, YOU WANT TO BELIEVE THAT THE AUTHOR WILL SAVE THE INNOCENT. YOU JUST HAVE TO READ THEM TO SEE FOR YOURSELF.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    The book was great. I would have loved for it to be longer.

    The book was great. I would have loved for it to be longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    I liked it. I love all Koontz books.

    I liked it. I love all Koontz books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Good Read but too short

    I liked the story, but it was too short.
    Wish Dean would have added more to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Recommend

    I have only read about 1/4 of this book, but what I have read I have enjoyed. I expect it to be a very good read as only Dean Koontz can deliver. I have read some of his books and enjoyed them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Gracie

    *smiles* skips away and turns back to wave :) talk to u soon!!
    Luv,
    Gracelynm

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    CURIOUS

    Again Koontz has me enthralled with his matery of suspense. I will have to buy the book, no question.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Hmmm

    Not bad for a quick read. It kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    This is excellent Koontz!

    I am a great fan of Koontz' stories. I was very disappointed to find that I had already read this particular short story in the bonus section of another Koontz novel. I bought this thinking I would get a fuller novel length verson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Short Story

    This is a great teaser for "What the Night Knows." I read this before that novel and it was a great addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Great NON Traditional Short Read

    This book is great for a night spent alone with your thoughts. It is not Dean's usual works of hunt them down, happy ending. It is a Thriller of the mind, a weeks full of fear in a few short hours. You'll love it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great short story

    The first short story from koontz i have read and Im sure to read more now. I really enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Recommended-a good read

    Another Dean Koontz great writing. This was very good, I prefer a full novel, but would read anything written by Koontz

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Must read book!

    A bargain for a good book by a great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good

    Nice, quick spooky read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Fast-paced companion to What the Night Knows

    I read this after reading What the Night Knows and I think it added to the story without spoon-feeding you the reasons why and solving everything. A person could read Darkness under the Sun before or after the companion novel and they will enjoy it every bit as much. Darkness under the Sun is a moving story about a boy who has survived adversity and befriends a stranger in town. The story never bogs down, focuses on the little boy, and draws you through to its exciting conclusion. I couldn't put the book down because I had to see what was next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Highly recommended for Koontz fans.

    Enjoyed, it was a great Dean Koontz read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    This is a great short stories book. Need to be longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Good Short Story

    Its only about 50 pages but worthwhile read. I havent read What the Night Knows but understand this is like the prequel to it. Very creepy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18