BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkness Unleashed (Guardians of Eternity Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    darkness unleashed

    This book is another awesome addition to the series. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    amazing

    i have loved this series so far and i am very eager to finish the rest of the series! i love how all the books entertwine and i love all the characters. if you are going to read this book start from book one, you wont regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definately intriguing!

    I have to say this book is truely intoxicating! I had a very hard time putting the book down. Jagr is the ultimate hot Vampire! He is a memeber of Chicago's powerful Vampire clan. He is on a mission to bring back Regan (a beautiful Were that has been captured) to Chicago. Regan has been held captive for 30 years, and does not want to be at the mercy of any man or beast. She wants her freedom, and is willing to ensure that is exactly what will happen. Regan wants revenge against the man to held her prisioner. Jagr meets Regan and something about this sweet beautiful woman entises his senses....could it be the sweet smell of jasmine or the woman itself. Instead of bringing Regan back immediately, he decides to help Regan find the man who imprisioned her. This is a truely erotic adventure you would definately love to take. I definately would recommend this book to anyone who loves romance, adventure, and Vampires! I will definately read this book more than one time. Alexandra Ivy is a truely gifted writer! Way to go! Read this book...you will not be dissapointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG! HOT!

    Darkness Unleashed was the fifth book in Alexandra Ivy's Guardians of Eternity series. The Guardians of Eternity are vampire warriors without equal, bound by their loyalties and sworn to protect their charges from every danger.
    This is the story of Jagr, a scarred recluse who has been tortured for three centuries, and makes no secret of his disdain for others' company. Styx calls upon Jagr to track down a missing were pureblood and return her to her sister. The problem: Regan Garrett has no intention of complying. She is more interested in staying away from anyone who may hold her down, due to her being held captive for thirty years.
    I loved the interaction between these two and even the appearances between the previously introduced characters. Levet is still my favorite!!! Anyhow, the story was truly touching at the end when Regan realized she was making a mistake pulling away from Jagr and opened her feelings up to him. I wasn't entirely looking forward to this story because Jagr had been introduced to the series as this mean bully who liked to keep to himself, however I now have to say this story is by far my favorite out of the series. These two!!!AH!!! Incredibly HOT!!!! Did I already say, what a great story?????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite of the series so far!

    The Guardians of Eternity series was something I stumbled upon while waiting for the next books to come out from a few other series I was reading. I thought what the heck this will pass the time. Well I ended up loving them more than the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Jagr by far is my favorite with Styx a close second. These books are creative and have lots of action and I love how they have bits and peices of things that are in real history and folklore already in existence. If you are looking for a great series to read you will find it in the Guardians of Eternity. I can't wait for the next one. Poor Salvatore always being outshined by the vampires hopefully this next book will make him the hero and not the villian for once. Can't wait to see!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love Ms. Ivy's Guardians of Eternity series. The characters ar

    I love Ms. Ivy's Guardians of Eternity series. The characters are unique, kooky and so flipping hilarious. Jagr is such a wounded warrior and so tried of the politics of the Vamps clan. Poor Regan is free, but still haunted. Regan thinks Jagr is arrogant, bossy and a PITA (pain in the a$$)! Regan also wants to crawl up in his arms! Jagr uses kisses just to shut her up! Jar's scarred heart is slowing awakened by Regan's sassy and sexiness! Ms. Ivy writes such smart, fast paced and hilarious dialogue! The paranormal aspect just makes it that much better of a story! I give Ms. Ivy 5 fingers up and 10 toes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    A GREAT READ

    Loved Jagr!! This book was perfect! A must read in the Guardians of Eternity!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Intoxicating Series

    I am a relentless reader of romance and after stumbling upon this author and the Gardian sagas i find the characters addictive. It is refreshing to be able to be immersed into the character's lives book after book and by the third novel in the series I began looking forward to the continued interaction of the original Vamps. And I especially love Levette!! Alexandra Ivy has a sharp talent for descriptive writing that keeps you wanting more and her books are well worth the cost

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend this series

    I started with the first book and could not put it down. I took my nook everyplace for a chance to read this series. I finished all five books and would recommend to start with the first of the series as all the characters intertwine throughout the books. I am currently finishing series number 6 and waiting patiently for the next release.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    cant get enough

    im in love with this book, heck this series, i thought it couldnt get any better than the first but i was dead wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG... love this one!

    I agree with the other reviewer..."this one is my favorite" too. OMG, sooo well written. You can even start here in book five if you want. But, Styxx and Darcy's story is almost as good and seriously Styxx is hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't get enough

    I accidently got into Alexandra Ivy. Now I just cannot get enough of her books. I really like how she integrates all of her characters in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Jagr and Regan are my favorite couple out of this series. I can't wait Salvatore's story, he is so enticing. I love the fact things can't seem to go right with him. I really enjoyed Jagr's story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    GOOD book!

    Series puts a new twist on some of the paranormal comunity. Characters were exciting from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Alexandra Ivy has me hooked on the Guardians

    I have read all of her books and am never disapointed. I can never get enough and am always excited to read the next book. This book had a great story line and plot, the characters were never cheesy. I will read anything this woman writes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Alexandra Ivy has me hooked on this series, craving it like I would the finest chocolates."

    Alexandra Ivy created a winner with this combination of sexy, gorgeous hero, a courageous heroine who's more than a match for him, sly humor, action, magic and hot passion guaranteed to sizzle a page or two. There are lot of things I love about this book: strong heroine and her humor and the real issues Regan brought to the relationship, the way she grew and developed over the course of the story, the way Jagr opened up a bit about himself to Regan early on in the book, and the way Jagr oozed all those protective male testosterone... *melts* He's utterly yummy. There's also Levet, the comic relief, and I'm certain there was once or twice when he stole the scene completely from the main characters. Ms. Ivy has me absolutely hooked on this series. (Reviewed by Silver for The Raving Readers)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I loved the characters in this! I think Jagr is sexy and Regan reminds me of myself sometimes in the book..

    This was the best one of the series! I can't wait for the next one...! It was not like the others! Jagr was tough and stubborn and Regan was head strong! Salvatore is definately a pain in the rump but I have a funny feeling that he is next to fall in love.. Tane needs to fall in love so he can loosen up! He is too tightly wound!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great urban fantasy

    Darkness Unleashed
    Alexandra Ivy
    Zebra, Nov 2009, $6.99
    ISBN: 9781420102970

    After centuries of torture, vampire Jagr escaped, but now prefers being alone with his only companion being books. However, his superior amongst the Guardians of Eternity Chicago clan of warriors Anasso Styx assigns him a mission that Jagr would like to reject, but knows he cannot. He is to find and escort back to their haven recently discovered pureblood were-sisters of Styx's wife Darcy (see Darkness Everlasting).

    Regan Garrett spent a seeming lifetime being tortured by a nasty imp. Whereas she wants to enact vengeance she knows she also does not want to ever beholden to a male. Worse Regan recognizes her wannabe rescuer is not just a soul she lusts over, but much more. Meanwhile other folks want the pureblood for their nefarious schemes, forcing two tortured souls to decide between a loving team up or two solo acts.

    The latest Guardians of Eternity urban romantic fantasy stars two intriguing lead characters who have tasted the worst of the Darkness tale, but now face something even more horrific considering their respective pasts: love. Neither wants it nor welcomes it, but both cannot ignore it as each is used to being alone rather than have a mate, a sister or a friend. They make the tale as love devastates their hermit existence while a horde want the pureblood, but Jagr would die before he allows any of them to harm his soul mate.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11