Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn

Average Rating 3.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

good book

I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save...
I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save myself some time and skimmed through a significant portion of the book since they felt the need to share so much. From what I did read, the characters were well developed. The book is thought provoking, well written and worth reading. A couple of sentences pretty well sums it up.

posted by 284752 on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Bad

The book was just not that good. Contrary to all the bought and paid for reviews by all the plot spoilers here who got their book for free then wrote a mini book about it revealing every detail, the book was just not that great. Bn needs to put a space limit on the revi...
The book was just not that good. Contrary to all the bought and paid for reviews by all the plot spoilers here who got their book for free then wrote a mini book about it revealing every detail, the book was just not that great. Bn needs to put a space limit on the review section to prevent these plot spoilers from rewriting these book. I think they are frustrated writers themselves, and since they cannot write a book for themselves, the rewrite a book in the review section. Anyway, this book was terrible and i would not recommend it, despite the many glowing bought reviews by the plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    good book

    I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save myself some time and skimmed through a significant portion of the book since they felt the need to share so much. From what I did read, the characters were well developed. The book is thought provoking, well written and worth reading. A couple of sentences pretty well sums it up.

    21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Shut up!!!

    If you want to write a book, write one. Don't write two chapters here. Go back to grade school and write some book reports. Do whatever you need to do to get it out of your system--ELSEWHERE. p.s. I'm giving this a 5 because it's not the author's fault that others rate it low because of you plot spoilers.

    13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Ok people

    I kniw i hate plot spoilers but in all fairness at least leave the aurthor more than one star its not there fault others like to leave long reviews and spoil it for the rest of us so give the author a break

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    loved it

    I would probably not have read this had it not been a free friday book. I really enjoyed the book, it is really well written, not boring at all. Thanks

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Bad

    The book was just not that good. Contrary to all the bought and paid for reviews by all the plot spoilers here who got their book for free then wrote a mini book about it revealing every detail, the book was just not that great. Bn needs to put a space limit on the review section to prevent these plot spoilers from rewriting these book. I think they are frustrated writers themselves, and since they cannot write a book for themselves, the rewrite a book in the review section. Anyway, this book was terrible and i would not recommend it, despite the many glowing bought reviews by the plot spoilers.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    On their anniversary Meg receives a phone call that changed her

    On their anniversary Meg receives a phone call that changed her life drastically. Her husband, Steve, was killed by a drunk driver, a teenager, who is a star athlete and the son of a prominent, high powered Judge. Meg begins to turn into a different woman, she is angry and wants revenge. She makes a plan to destroy this teens life. Hate consumes her and soon everyone avoids her, even those she loves. 




    This is a difficult book to read, Collins' description of the hatred inside Meg and the treatment she gets from those in the justice system is touching. The issue of drunk driving is a tough one and the way the case was handled with this teen was sad for Meg and himself. There were many times throughout the book I just had to stop and think how awful to be in this situation. Collins is a talented writer, I've read several of his books and loved them all. This is definitely a 5 star book! 




    I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    great book

    This story is about a senseless tragic loss and how a woman fought through her grief, anger and hate for the teen who caused it. Wonderful story, I think this should be mandatory reading in high school.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Too wordy

    The pages and pages used to get through one five minute timeline finally got on my nerves. I started speed reading but even gave up on that! Just too much non-essential information!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very well written, the author's choice of words really drew me in to the story. A little predictable, but it did get the message across. I think one part of the story was very unrealistic. There is no way some of these events would be aallowed to occur.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Do not read this book if you have anything else to do!! It was

    Do not read this book if you have anything else to do!! It was difficult to put down. Couldn't wait to see what the next scenario would be. I could relate to some of the anger and resentment she felt, as well as seeing God at work in the midst of dark circumstances.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    It was terrible! I couldn't even finish it, because it was so un

    It was terrible! I couldn't even finish it, because it was so unbelievable. An Emergency Room Dr. announces that the main character is pregnant? Really? No way. Ace, have you heard of HIPPA? MD's cannot be so cavalier about "announcing" their clients conditions.
    Barnes and Noble, I expect better fiction from you

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Book reports

    I used to enjoy the free books and the reviews. Not anymore all these self absorbed people who don't know the difference between a book review and a book report tend to ruin the book for me. Wish I could just read the book flap instead! It looks to me as if they are aspiring writers assigned to practice their craft by the companies that supply them with their books for free. Either way I have little desire to read a book once all the twists and turns and surprises are revealed.
    My apologies to the author. I will rate as a three hoping to be as neutral vote as possible. I doubt I will read reviews ever again as it has become a wastland of juveniles babbling nonsense and spoilers.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    good story

    good characters &story of revenge isn't always sweet

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Offensively trite

    The author is apparently very good at writing schlock, too bad an attempt wasn't made at writing a good book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Beyond cliche-ridden

    This was so formulaic, so sappy, and so predictable that I was able to skim through it quickly.

    To call it cliche-ridden is a disservice to cliches.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Did not like it

    I would not have read this book if I had known it would turn into a religious read. It was a Free Friday selection and is something I won't be reading again, so I will delete it. I couldn't wait for this story to end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    To all the people who complain about people who like to write a

    To all the people who complain about people who like to write a book too. Yes, these people are very annoying and they know that. That's why they keep doing it. Just scroll down to a short review and read that. Skip the long ones and that's that!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Well done

    I am not a reader of anything religious. This story was very haunting with the main characters anguish. It did get a little too much 'God is ever wonderful', but the story is overall very good.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    So far pretty poor writing

    On page 70or so and not sure i can finish. Very slow plot with awkward dialogue and no character development. Maybe it gets better because otherwise dont see how it ever got published. If it improves i will write a new review

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This book made me angry

    This book was 350 pages long. It could have been 200 pages less and told the same srory. The author could have used the time saved to edit. This is supposed to be a Christian book. I say suppossed because this book filled me with anger. There was a lot of preaching, Bible verses and how good it is to love and forgive, but the hate, vengence and mistreatment of others, filled me anger. The main chacter was so juvenile and just plain mean, I could not stand her. (For months on end).The in laws were completely written out of the story early on, which was unrealistic. I know I would have been at the trial of my child's killer. (not a plot spoiler, because others have retold this story in its entirety, numerous times in other reviews.) In the end, everything was all sweetness and light, but in real life this would not have been the case. I just plain did not like this book. My recommendation, skip this one.

    AD

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11