Customer Reviews for

Darkness Before Dawn

Average Rating 3.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

good book

I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save...
I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save myself some time and skimmed through a significant portion of the book since they felt the need to share so much. From what I did read, the characters were well developed. The book is thought provoking, well written and worth reading. A couple of sentences pretty well sums it up.

posted by 284752 on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bad

The book was just not that good. Contrary to all the bought and paid for reviews by all the plot spoilers here who got their book for free then wrote a mini book about it revealing every detail, the book was just not that great. Bn needs to put a space limit on the revi...
The book was just not that good. Contrary to all the bought and paid for reviews by all the plot spoilers here who got their book for free then wrote a mini book about it revealing every detail, the book was just not that great. Bn needs to put a space limit on the review section to prevent these plot spoilers from rewriting these book. I think they are frustrated writers themselves, and since they cannot write a book for themselves, the rewrite a book in the review section. Anyway, this book was terrible and i would not recommend it, despite the many glowing bought reviews by the plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    good book

    I really should have used some common sense and not bothered to read the reviews. I guess most of the individuals writing these reviews are wanna be writers themselves since they felt the need to provide such long reviews and reveal every facet of the book. I did save myself some time and skimmed through a significant portion of the book since they felt the need to share so much. From what I did read, the characters were well developed. The book is thought provoking, well written and worth reading. A couple of sentences pretty well sums it up.

    21 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    great book

    This story is about a senseless tragic loss and how a woman fought through her grief, anger and hate for the teen who caused it. Wonderful story, I think this should be mandatory reading in high school.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    good story

    good characters &story of revenge isn't always sweet

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    To all the people who complain about people who like to write a

    To all the people who complain about people who like to write a book too. Yes, these people are very annoying and they know that. That's why they keep doing it. Just scroll down to a short review and read that. Skip the long ones and that's that!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well written and easy to read, this book tells the story of los

    Well written and easy to read, this book tells the story of losing a loved one and the grieving process. This particular book deals with drunk driving and the consequences of driving under the influence. Even more important, it deals with the subject of teen drunk driving, which is a problem in our society. Even though this book is Christian fiction, no doubt it is very real to many families.

    Meg Richards is the young woman whose husband is killed by a drunk teen driver. She is full of bitterness and basically turns her back on God. “How can a God of love allow such a thing to happen?” She makes it her personal goal to destroy the young man responsible for her husband’s death. In addition, she receives news that she is expecting their first child within just a few hours of her husband’s death. This only adds fuel to her bitter spirit.

    Ultimately she does destroy the young man. But God in His grace gives her an opportunity to save the young man and restore her own heart and faith in God. The author also introduces a character who is instrumental in Meg’s life. Nancy shows Meg that even though bad things happen, God is still on the throne and in control.

    While I felt that the author dwelt on the “bitterness” side a little long, the ending was good. I appreciated the spotlight being put on the subject of teen drunk driving and how the decision of someone to drink and drive can have devastating and irreversible consequences. This is a book that is easy to recommend for reading. DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for our honest review.

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    To posting 33

    You really need to seek god my heart goes out to you for what you are missing in life very sad you feel this way

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When asked to give a review I usually simply give my opinion of

    When asked to give a review I usually simply give my opinion of whether or not I enjoyed the FREE book, not a word for word, play by play of the plot.    That said, I was prepared for the 'preachiness' of the plot and DID enjoy the book. Yes, ?I would recommend it to someone looking for a quick, simply read for a beach day. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    check it out

    nice life story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Very nice read

    Although the author could probably have done a little better research into how the legal system operates, especially with the court scene, the plot and development of the story is a very interesting read into the working of the human mind and the intensity of revenge. I enjoyed the publication, it's just that the "operation of the courtroom" was not believeable, or at least disconcerting.
    Collins' book is worth the read ... it's a quick read and, for the general rule, well written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    A haunting book

    I'd read the reviews that others had written when I picked this up as a free Friday, and wasn't sure if I'd like it. I am so glad I read it.

    Even Christians have consequences for their behavior. When a High School senior causes the death of her husband, Meg vows revenge. The kid needed to understand that every action has a built in reaction. He drank, and in doing so he caused an irrevocable series of events.

    But revenge can eat you up too. Meg learns that the hard way.

    Through a patient with end stage carcinoma, Meg begins to heal in ways she never thought she could, and it turn, she heals others, even those she thought didn't deserve it.

    I will read anything this author has written, and will share it with others

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    dear plot spoilers

    I agree but you rated the book one star when you hadn't even read it. Isn't that what your review was about not being able to read a book cause you already know what happens? I dont see what having the plot spoiled has to do with the quality of a book. And by the way you seem like kind of an ass. Or your just a control freak... you could also be someone who is just mean to people writing reviews. And about having to read the reviews just read the description and then buy the book. Leave people who actually like writing reviews write them without your harassment haha you put the ass in harasment. BTW i know im spelling harrassment wrong both times.
    Bye
    J

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Bo

    (Umm im a WOLF not a cat sooooo.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    To WAVENIGHT

    Youre dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    True to life

    The book was hard to really get into at first then it became hard to put down. Makes you think about alot of things. Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Like it.

    I enjoyed this book. The ending was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Hello

    I like this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Good Read

    Poor Meg...first her husband is killed by a drunk driver, she discovers she's pregnant and then putting her husbands killer on trial. What a heart wrentching book, I couldn't put it down. With all that she went through, Meg still found it in her heart to forgive the young driver and be able to move forward with her life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great!

    Really good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good read

    The characters journeys make one look within'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Great story!

    I loved this story! For someone who has dealt with a great loss and gone through a lot of the emotions the main character does in this book, I have to say that this book caused me to examine myself and face some things I may not have been ready for. Very powerful book and I recommend it to anyone but mostly to lose who have lost someone close to them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2