BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Darkroom

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Xandra Carrick is a photographer following in the footsteps of h

    Xandra Carrick is a photographer following in the footsteps of her father. Peter Carrick is a Nobel Prize winning photo-journalist. His prize came for his photo essay on a massacre in a Vietnamese village during the war. The camera he’s used has been passed down to his daughter Xandra. It is this camera that is at the source of this surreal journey. It begins on a trip back to Vietnam that Xandra and her father take. The trip was to honor her late mother’s wishes and to release her ashes there. But strange things begin to happen when Xandra develops the film. What are those things? You’ll have to read Darkroom find out.

    The story is a thriller and a vivid retelling of historic events. Each chapter is seen in first person point of view. Mr. Graham alternates between characters from Grace, to Ian, to Xandra. Grace’s story is achieved through her diary entries. These diary entries really bring the Vietnam War to life in alarming detail. In Particular, Mr. Graham covers the fall of Saigon in a very realistic manner. I’d seen the videos of it happening, and he captured it very well in the pages of this story.

    If you like Thrillers, or the odd story you’d see on Twilight Zone, then grab this book when it’s released. You’ll enjoy every minute of it. Kudos to Mr. Graham on another job well done.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Edge of your seat excitement!!!!! I read this thriller in one si

    Edge of your seat excitement!!!!! I read this thriller in one sitting. This cross between historical fiction and supernatural thriller moves at a breakneck pace and will leave you breathless more than once. Other reviews have recapped the plot, so there is no reason to do it here. Suffice it to say that Darkroom should be your very next read. Do yourself a big favor - read this novel, and then check out other excellent works by Joshua Graham. Enjoy!


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Last year I was fortunate enough to read and review author Joshu

    Last year I was fortunate enough to read and review author Joshua Graham’s extraordinary freshman effort, Beyond Justice, which proved to be one of my favorite books of the year. I was impressed with his ability to take what could have been a stock storyline and mix things up, to make me really feel and connect with his characters. My literary luck continues this year as Mr. Graham’s follow up work, Darkroom, demonstrates that Beyond Justice was not a one-hit wonder and Joshua Graham is an author to watch out for. Darkroom is just as good as Beyond Justice, although in a very different vein.

    Rather than being told from the viewpoint of one central character, Darkroom introduces us to a handful of characters, all of whom will eventually come together for a heart pounding and thrilling conclusion. It is a slick and nuanced ensemble tale of a conspiracy that goes back decades. As the mystery unravels, it threatens to impact and/or destroy the lives of all the characters that Mr. Graham so deftly weaves throughout this tale. Writing a novel with a large cast of characters, a handful of whom are narrating the tale, is never an easy task but he seems to effortlessly intertwine their stories.

    I found heroine Xandra to be a strong, relevant character that I could relate to, and one that was, at times, painfully human and vulnerable. Her strength, along with portions of her grief, simply radiate from the pages. She will touch any reader who has lost a parent, or who is struggling to find a connection with a family member. I particularly liked how savvy and resourceful she was - - no shrinking violet here.

    I also found several of the supporting characters to be particularly praiseworthy and enjoyable. Even those characters that weren’t the nicest of the bunch were so well developed and interesting that I couldn’t wait to get back to them. Surprisingly, there wasn’t a weak character or plotline in the bunch, quite a feat when you’re dealing with an array of vastly different characters with very unique voices.

    As with Beyond Justice, a dash of the paranormal is thrown into the mix along with questions and uncertainty of faith. I hesitate to call Darkroom a work of Christian fiction, as I think the book is more than just a work on Christian beliefs and demonstrates the resiliency of the human spirit and most importantly, hope. As a reader who enjoys the paranormal/supernatural genre, I enjoyed those paranormal aspects of the book, as well as Mr. Graham choosing not to put forth a cut and dried explanation for all the events.

    Fans of historical fiction will appreciate Mr. Graham’s use of actual events to build and base his work, as he describes the realities and horrors of the Vietnam War and its aftermath. I knew only the basic facts of Vietnam prior to picking up this book and was shocked by some of the fictional recounting I read, knowing that Mr. Graham did use history as a basis.

    Fans of conspiracy theories will not be disappointed or find this book lacking in the least. At its core, Darkroom is a twisted tale of conspiracies and proves to be powerful and rewarding to the reader who likes their books with action, intrigue and secrecy.

    Mr. Graham’s writing is tight and seamless and he proves, once again, that he’s a gifted author with wonderful storytelling abilities. He has kept the chapters relatively short and by telling his tale with a handful of diverse voices, all done extremely well, Darkroom moves at a frantic and suspenseful pace.

    As he did with Beyond Justice, Mr. Graham immediately grabs hold of the reader with the tenacity of a pit bull and will not let go until you have read every last page and emerge exhausted and happily satiated from this astonishing ride. You will be so invested in these characters, so riveted by the story and events, that your life will be hijacked by Mr. Graham’s plot.

    Besides the superb plot, excellent writing and well fleshed out characters, Darkroom really excels in the plethora of twists and turns thrown at the reader. Don’t expect to know where Mr. Graham is going to take you on this journey because you are guaranteed to be thrown a curveball. Several times throughout the reading of this book I gasped out loud and uttered cries of “Oh no!” and “I can’t believe it!” For a book aficionado, especially a hardcore reader like myself who has likely read it all, this is absolute literary nirvana.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Darkroom without reservation to any book lover. You won’t be disappointed and you will find yourself anxiously awaiting Joshua Graham’s next foray into the literary world.

    Very well done, Mr. Graham.
    ©Psychotic State Book Reviews, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    VERY FAST READ. HOLDS YOUR INTERST AND KEEPS YOU GUESSING. REALLY ENJOY THIS AUTHOR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great thriller!

    I couldn't put it down and hated for the end to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    To me, Darkroom, is a very poignant and emotional read. I really

    To me, Darkroom, is a very poignant and emotional read. I really felt for Xandra Carrick, not only for her loss of her mother but also her secretive father. Darkroom is told in two different times, the present and during the Vietnam war. After going with her father Peter, to Vietnam, to scatter her mothers ashes. She had taken some pictures and when she got back home as she was developing these photos, she sees images that are disturbing to her. What she sees in these photo's takes her to a park in New York where she saw the body of a young woman floating in the water, dead. She soon finds herself arrested for the murder of the young woman because she knows things that only the murderer would know. Xandra is released on bail and flees to investigate why these things are happening to her. A Senator, running as an independent for president, is one of the men Xandra finds herself investigating. He had condoned the massacre that happened in Vietnam but does all he can to keep his involvement from coming out. What ensues is a story taken from the news at the time, an exciting, suspenseful thriller that had me eagerly turning the pages until the surprising ending. Political intrigue, atrocities of war and a bit of the supernatural makes Darkroom a very engrossing story. I highly recommend it. I intend to find more works by Joshua Graham to add to my increasing library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Wow

    I could not put this book down.Looks like found a new series .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark, deceptive, political intrigue and ghostly images...all thi

    Dark, deceptive, political intrigue and ghostly images...all this and more await the eager reader who loves a thriller and a mystery in "Darkroom." I lived through the Viet Nam War era, but don't recall having read a single suspense novel that has its focus around the Vietnam cross-culture that made its way to the US. This book is unique in many ways. It has a bit of everything to recommend it: love, mystery, conspiracy, family connections to ancient times and places, politics, terrorism and murder; not to mention the Viet Nam War and the vets that brought home not only images, but other baggage, and loved ones. A must read, this book is fast moving, intriguing and beautifully written to tantalize! Joshua Graham is a fantastic writer who knows when to dangle the carrot and when to pull it back. I loved the whole reading process! His characters are rich in detail, lovable, sad, frightening and strangely familiar. I was literally up all night reading "Darkroom" having such a good time in the process. I couldn't put it down... If you've ever been placed in the moral dilemma of wondering whether you should tell the truth and risk it all, you'll love this book. If you've ever wondered if there are conspiracies and cover ups in political arenas we aren't privy to, you'll love this book... I have to give it a solid...
    5 stars!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Darkroom is a very unique take on events from the Vietnam War an

    Darkroom is a very unique take on events from the Vietnam War and the impact decisions made have on the life of a photojournalist and his family. Darkroom is set in modern time but there are unique flashback that tell the story that occurred in Vietnam. Xandra is the main character who is following in her father footsteps of photojournalism. Darkroom is a story of love, loss and the ever need presence of faith in our lives. It is an extremely moving and haunting story. Darkroom was hard to put down and when not reading I was thinking about it. Few books succeed in consuming me in that way. Darkroom is by far the best written by Joshua Graham. Joshua has a fantastic way of telling a story that make you feel as if you are part of it. Darkroom by Joshua Graham is on its way to becoming a bestseller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Another amazing book by Joshua! Once I started reading, I could

    Another amazing book by Joshua! Once I started reading, I could not put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Her mother’s recent death, her father’s continuing e

    Her mother’s recent death, her father’s continuing estrangement, frightening visions associated with any photos she takes with her dad’s camera - photographer Xandra Carrick has a lot to deal with. On top of that, she’s wanted by the FBI for a murder she did not commit, while nefarious forces want her dead.
    Having recently arrived back from a trip to her mother’s birthplace, Vietnam, Xandra is troubled by her father’s reticence. And to make her life even more complicated, after taking several photos during her trip, she discovers images in her pictures that she did not see with her natural eyes. She’s having visions of a supernatural nature – visions that will blow the lid off a major conspiracy – if she lives long enough to have anyone believe her.
    Arrested for the murder of a local Julliard student, Xandra flees New York and heads to see her father in California, seeking answers to her visions concerning Vietnam. FBI agent Kyle Matthews teams up with her to find some answers of his own.
    Darkroom, by Joshua Graham, is a political thriller with a spiritual undercurrent, driven mostly by Xandra’s mother, Grace, a Vietnamese immigrant who married Xandra’s father, Peter Carrick, after a harrowing escape from Saigon when the US troops pulled out. We hear her voice through several journal entries - beginning when she first met Peter, a photojournalist embedded with a platoon in Vietnam; through the birth of Xandra, until her death. Her voice brought a depth to the story that certainly tied the themes of purpose, God-given gifts, and the freeing power of truth, together.
    Darkroom rips along rapidly, jumping from multiple points of view, from Xandra, her father, her mother, a presidential candidate, an FBI agent, and a hit man.
    And because of this, Darkroom’s pace is set at a very high shutter speed, swiftly shifting character Point of Views from chapter to chapter. Initially, I found this somewhat of an ADHD style – jumping from POV to POV in only a couple pages. Soon, however, I settled into Graham’s rapid rhythm, which kept me interested in what was going to develop next.
    Graham’s intricate weaving of truth and deceit keeps the pages turning, and with a wide-open ending hinting at the return of feisty and insightful heroine, Xandra Carrick, Darkroom is a novel you won’t regret being exposed to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A suspense lovers heaven in a must read novel!

    I am a huge Joshua Graham fan. I fell in love with his mind blowing work when I read his novel, Beyond Justice. He draws his readers into the heart of the story instantly and grips their hearts so strongly, you can't help but turn page after page and read late into the night. Darkroom is a thousand times better than Beyond Justice was, and Beyond Justice was fantastic! Darkroom takes you to the life of a young woman, working as a photojournalist who experiences paranormal visions. Desperate to find out the truth behind the visions, she confronts her father about them. What she finds out is so much more than she bargained for. Tangled in a web of secrets and conspiracies, Xandra's story becomes life. Her story unfolds before the reader as she uncovers the truths behind the happenings in Vietnam. But, one this is for sure, someone doesn't want her to reveal that truth, and sets out to stop her efforts. I don't want to give too much away. This is just too good of a book to reveal anything more. I want you to grab a copy of this book now, sit down, and get lost in the pages. They won't be light reading. After all, what conspiracy is ever light? But, you'll get sucked into the vortex of the story and where you'll end up.....well, lets just say that the ending is powerful and leaves you hungry for more!!! I definitely recommend this. It's so beyond 5000 stars worthy. The intensity and heart pounding thrills you'll feel as you read each page, each characters piece of the story will leave you breathless. Blending history with current events, Mr. Graham is a talented author who can wrap the reader in a cocoon of emotions from bitterness to redemption and leave the reader feeling as if they were the story, as if they were ones plotted against. A fantastic job, Mr. Graham! I can't wait for the next story! ~~~~~Molly Edwards, Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours ~~~~~Reviews By Molly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you love narrow escapes, deep secrets, on-the-edge-of-your-se

    If you love narrow escapes, deep secrets, on-the-edge-of-your-seat action, and murders, you will love this thriller.

    Dark Room begins with a scene during the Viet Nam war with Grace, a Vietnamese girl, being shot and Peter Carrick, a photo journalist, rescuing her. It then flashes forward to Peter and Xandra, Grace and Peter's daughter, spreading Grace's ashes in her childhood neighborhood in Viet Nam. The book then moves to present day in California and New York with Peter and Xandra, and the chilling ride begins. There are flashbacks to Viet Nam throughout the book, and these flashbacks play a major part in the story.

    As the book continues, Xandra questions....can this really be happening? How could developing pictures in a dark room and seeing visions as the pictures are being developed lead to clues in a murder investigation and subsequently her arrest for a murder she didn't commit and one that was contrived to cover up a crime from 30 years ago.

    The scenes are intense and very descriptive, and they will keep you turning the pages. You will learn about Viet Nam, political campaigns, political conspiracy, political deception, and lies that go unexposed, but you will mainly share the fears of Xandra as she experiences her visions, her struggle with trying to find out her father's secret from his past, and the horrors of being accused of numerous crimes and murders she didn't commit.

    You will also escape with Kyle and Xandra and be a part of their solving the mystery of why everyone in Echo Company during the Vietnam Nam war is either dying an unexplained death or being murdered. The book is action-packed until the last page.

    Graham is a commanding writer that will keep any lover of thrillers entertained with his non-stop action and unbelievable revelations of things that could easily happen. As you near the end, you realize there are very powerful messages being sent out to the reader. Dark Room can't be labeled anything but an excellent read. 5/5

    I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1