Customer Reviews for

The Darlings: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely LOVED The Darlings!!

The Darlings is an incredible book - my favorite read in years!! I cannot recommend it enough. The characters were rich and complex. The narrative was wonderful; once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down.

posted by ckgaughan on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a work of non-fiction, not fiction. It's basically iden

This is a work of non-fiction, not fiction. It's basically identical to the story of Bernie Madoff, down to his East 64th Street address in Manhattan and Lily Pond Lane in East Hampton. His son-in-law Paul is basically the story of his sons, Mark and Andrew. Read abo...
This is a work of non-fiction, not fiction. It's basically identical to the story of Bernie Madoff, down to his East 64th Street address in Manhattan and Lily Pond Lane in East Hampton. His son-in-law Paul is basically the story of his sons, Mark and Andrew. Read about half and I'm done. It's yet another book about a Ponzi scheme. I can even figure out the referrals to real life characters -- including the shady accountant in Westchester, the law firm which resembles Irving Picard's firm and those at the SEC. Nothing fiction about this book!

posted by BagelsRule1 on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    cannot recommend

    A waste of my time, did not care about these people, hard to keep track of who was who. Read to about half way point, then gave up, was very disappointed, and once again, can not alway depemd on reviews.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Paul Ross is married to Merrill Darling, whose daddy just happen

    Paul Ross is married to Merrill Darling, whose daddy just happens to be Carter Darling a billionaire financier. When Paul loses his job his wife persuades him to take a position in her dad's company as the head of the legal team at Carter's hedge fund. 




    When an unexpected suicide of a dear friend of the Darlings puts a spot light on the hedge fund and a regulatory investigation begins. An old friend from the SEC meets with Paul with a chance to turn on the Darlings or go down with the ship. 




    The Darlings is an energized novel filled with characters, New York high society, and reminiscent of the 2008 financial crisis. 




    For me, this wasn't a book I could just sit down with and read right through. First there are so many characters to get straight and for awhile you don't see how one fits to the others. Once the story gets moving you really get a strong sense of who Paul is. I personally really liked him. And you felt for him. The more you read the more you will want to read! I really wasn't sure what was going to happen and like I said you really aren't sure who some of these people are and how they are going to play into the story line. But then they do...the big AHA moments start to happen. 




    I really thought The Darlings gave a really unique look at the Wall Street types we are always hearing about in the news. I guess you kind of expect them to have these amazing lives, but for me their lives seemed to be lacking. But don't confuse that with the book! I very much recommend The Darlings by Cristina Alger and it didn't lack anything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this novel expecting it to be a take on the Bernie Madoff

    I read this novel expecting it to be a take on the Bernie Madoff Ponzi scheme. To a certain extent it was, being about a family whose work and family lives were entangled in a financial scandal. Carter Darling employed both of his sons-in-laws, one of whom was just along for the ride and one, Paul, who just came aboard after losing his job as an attorney at the beginning of the recession.

    Not many of the wealthy characters are very likable in this book, except for Paul and Merrill. Although Carter came from a working-class background, he was now one of the 1%ers. He spoiled his wife and daughters, and lived a lifestyle to which most people cannot relate.

    While reading this book, I thought that there were too many tangential characters. They didn't seem to be moving the story along, I didn't know why they were there. By the end of the story, Alger had put all of the pieces of the puzzle together so cleverly I had to admire her skill. Every character leads to something important.

    I also enjoyed her descriptions of characters, like this one:
    "Theresa Frankel was a middle-aged woman who looked as though she resided permanently at the intersection of boredom and disinterest."
    One sentence and you knew immediately who Teresa was.

    The Darlings is a well-crafted story, and even if you don't like most of the characters, you'll want to see where this story is going. And Alger throws in a twist at the end that is a game-changer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Darlings is a very interesting read, and a look into the hig

    The Darlings is a very interesting read, and a look into the high society of New York. We learn about hedge funds and derivatives and the latest fashions. The author's work experience gives her the background into the legal and investment issues, I don't know about her position in society! One might think Madoff in reading this novel, but it would be a short-sighted thought, as the story is really on its won without Madoff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Check it out

    The Darlings by Christina Alger is about a family, a husband and wife and their two daughters and their husbands. The father and his two sons-in-law work for the Delphic Hedge Fund, a fund of funds which the father owns. The novel is set in the post September, 2008 world of New York financial institutions with flashbacks to the era pre-Lehman collapse. Even after the 2008 collapse of the markets, the Darlings live a very affluent, even opulent, life style. By page sixty-two, a Bernie Madoff type character with whom Delphic has invested jumps off the Tappan Zee Bridge, and the Darlings’ world falls into chaos.
    The rest of the novel concerns the effects the financial collapse of Delphic has on each of the family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good Read

    Read a review of The Darlings and it sounded good. I really enjoyed it and found it hard to put down. Reminiscent of the Bernie Madoff story. Great ending!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Recommended

    Fast read; interesting take on the bank crisis of a few years back and the mindset of the people who were committing the crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1