Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Darth Plagueis

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Prequel to the Phantom Menace

It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidio...
It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidious as it is Darth Plagueis, delving into the backstory of their first meeting, upbringing as Master and Apprentice, and eventual falling out. Plagueis' story is truly a tragedy, for the Sith lord has the ambition, know-how, and financial means to set up the Grand Plan, but is unable to see it through. From Episode III, we know that Plagueis sought control over life and death, and in the end was able to save others, but not himself.

The biggest shortcoming of the book for me was the fact that not enough attention was paid to Plagueis' pursuit of immortality. By the time we are given any insight into Plagueis' experiments with midi-chlorian manipulation, the spotlight has turned in favor of Sidious. Much of what we are told is done through flashback, and brief ones at that. This is a shame since the power over life and death was central to the intrigue behind Darth Plagueis (and central to Anakin's fall to the dark side).

Fortunately, even if the pursuit of immortality where removed entirely from the book, we would still have a great story on our hands. Star Wars: Darth Plagueis is an amazing prequel to the Star Wars films, as we are able to see the full extent of careful planning and manipulation behind the series of events leading up to the Clone Wars and fall of the Republic. The cast of characters is broad with a number of memorable cameos, including Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Qui-Gon Jinn, Master Sifo-Dyas, Padme Amidala, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker, among others. Unlike a lot of Star Wars books, there aren't a whole lot of action-packed lightsaber duels, but when the action does come around, it is memorable.

In conclusion, this is a fun read for any Star Wars fan, particularly those with an interest in the backstory of Darth Sidious and the behind-the-scenes events taking place to set up the fall of the Jedi and the Republic in Episodes I-III.

posted by PhileasFogg on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Skip it.

Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to b...
Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to be forsaken half way through, relegated to a secondary character.

posted by Mattias on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    To: to no way

    Man, he can like what he likes, and not like what he doesn't like. I myself dont like it either.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Alright

    I thought there would be more "Force" philosophy on how Plagueis was able to control life and death. It was more a story about Sidious and how he managed to work his way up the political ranks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    What were you smoking?

    This book was terrible, and you have to look past the fact that it is a Star Wars book. You learn absolutely nothing new, and it would be better if the Darth Plagueis story was left a mystery. I have read over 115 Star Wars books, and this was rhe most disappointing since Children of the Jedi and the other Barbara Humbley books. I am not sure how people are saying this was a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Darth plaguies

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!!!!##########

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Great book

    Starts of slow but gains pace. It is more a story of jealousy, intelligence, and the power of the dark side. Don't expect alot of lightsaber and blaster fights. Most of the deaths happen through the force. Darth Plagueis is very powerful but needed more cunning and thougt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Very good. Fills in some of the Prequels very well.

    This book has good action, but is a lot about the political and other bits of plotting by Plagueis and his apprentice, Sideous. Although having read a few books about the Sith, I'm getting tired of the word "machinations". They need a thesaurus. It is a good word and describes perfectly the plotting that the Sith use to achieve their power, but synonyms people! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Terrible

    I would of put one star on if i could, but its slow its confusing and darth plaguse is to nice of a sith lprd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Great.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One Busy Novel

    From start to finish Star Wars Darth Plagueis is filled with action, but not a lot of the lightsaber/blater bolts kind of action that all Star Wars novels have at least some amount of. This story is filled with the brilliant scheming, plotting and political maneuvering of the evil mastermind who is said to be the most powerful Sith Lord who ever lived.

    The origins of Darth Sidious are explored in this story and-despite the novel's title-I found myself even more engrossed in the development of young Sidious than Darth Plagueis.

    There turned out to be WAY more story in this book than I ever dreamed. Several characters from Star Wars The Clone Wars such as Onaconda Farr and Mother Talzin made appearances or where mentioned, lots of references to Darth Bane where included throughout the book (and although you can easily follow the story without having read the Darth Bane trilogy I am glad that I had already done so before reading this novel), and I was surprised to see that not only did this story take place before the events of The Phantom Menace but some of the story actually at the time of those events. Also I enjoyed a little more in depth info on the origins of Padme' Amidala whom was named Queen of Naboo in this novel.

    Among many surprises the one that shocked me most was discovering that Jabba the Hutt can speak basic. I never knew.

    Over all I would suggest this book to a Star Wars fan, especially one who particularly enjoyed titles like The Phantom Menace and Cloak Of Deception which are greatly more involved in the political side of the Star Wars universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great back story!

    This book was the great story of the dark lord who Palpatine speaks of in revenge of the sith. It does a good job of filling the gaps in an extremely entertaining fashion.
    It may not be a lasting piece of literature but it is definitely worth the read for any Star Wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Fan since 7

    Those who want to know what happens in between movies willreally enjoy this one. Zahn and Luceno are two authors who know how to tie events together in ways that make sense and keep star wars story fans interested. After you read this you will wish phantom menace had included more parts of this book. This one is worth every minute. Give us some.more like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Excellent

    This was, in my opinion, an exccellent book. I was astonished at how, despite this being a book focused almost solely on politics, I actually enjoyed it, even though I normally have no patience for politicians, or politics in general, if I must be honest. There was a little bit of Sith history inside it, though, mentioning semi-regularly the "rise" of Darth Gravid to the Light Side.
    There were, however, a few fight scenes. They are few and far between, but nevertheless memorable.
    I also enjoyed having some insight into the psychology ofvthe Sith. I feel as though, at last, I understand their mindset, and it, in places, at least, seems that, in some perverse way, they genuinely believe that they are helping the galaxy, or at least trying to show the galaxy what they believe to be the truth.
    I was actually surprised, but nevertheless pleased, to see Luceno give so much attention to Palpatine, from his 'emancipation' to his swift fall to the Dark Side to his eventual and subtle seizing of power in the Senate and the similarly eventual, but brutal seizing of power from Plagueis.
    Overall, this is an excellent book, with a complex and intriguing plot. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in Star Wars, and, more specifically, its politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Worth buying

    Could b a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    The best darkside book.

    This book explanes alot about the orgins of darth sidious, darth plaguis and also darth maul. Really good prequel to episode 1 the phantom menace. Trully recommand:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Darth Plaguis was awesome, this book was devious yet exciting, n

    Darth Plaguis was awesome, this book was devious yet exciting, never knew what to expect, but it answered some of the mysteries of starwars classic era legend

    mikegreene2323

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Must read

    Every Star Wars fan must read this book. Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Test me

    Ask me any Star Wars question and I can probably answer it correctly. BTW, Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    To below

    Yo we geeks r bein allways made fun of. Dont know why cuz without us there wouldin be a NOOK! SO BACK OFF CUZ WE MADE COD o_O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Booooooo!!!!!!!

    I cant stand star wars i dont see how you people read this crap. People who read these are geeks!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    It was a slow read. I thought it was boring. Where was the fight

    It was a slow read. I thought it was boring. Where was the fighting.? Just wished it could have had more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11