Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Darth Plagueis

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Prequel to the Phantom Menace

It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidio...
It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidious as it is Darth Plagueis, delving into the backstory of their first meeting, upbringing as Master and Apprentice, and eventual falling out. Plagueis' story is truly a tragedy, for the Sith lord has the ambition, know-how, and financial means to set up the Grand Plan, but is unable to see it through. From Episode III, we know that Plagueis sought control over life and death, and in the end was able to save others, but not himself.

The biggest shortcoming of the book for me was the fact that not enough attention was paid to Plagueis' pursuit of immortality. By the time we are given any insight into Plagueis' experiments with midi-chlorian manipulation, the spotlight has turned in favor of Sidious. Much of what we are told is done through flashback, and brief ones at that. This is a shame since the power over life and death was central to the intrigue behind Darth Plagueis (and central to Anakin's fall to the dark side).

Fortunately, even if the pursuit of immortality where removed entirely from the book, we would still have a great story on our hands. Star Wars: Darth Plagueis is an amazing prequel to the Star Wars films, as we are able to see the full extent of careful planning and manipulation behind the series of events leading up to the Clone Wars and fall of the Republic. The cast of characters is broad with a number of memorable cameos, including Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Qui-Gon Jinn, Master Sifo-Dyas, Padme Amidala, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker, among others. Unlike a lot of Star Wars books, there aren't a whole lot of action-packed lightsaber duels, but when the action does come around, it is memorable.

In conclusion, this is a fun read for any Star Wars fan, particularly those with an interest in the backstory of Darth Sidious and the behind-the-scenes events taking place to set up the fall of the Jedi and the Republic in Episodes I-III.

posted by PhileasFogg on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Skip it.

Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to b...
Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to be forsaken half way through, relegated to a secondary character.

posted by Mattias on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Excellent Prequel to the Phantom Menace

    It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

    Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidious as it is Darth Plagueis, delving into the backstory of their first meeting, upbringing as Master and Apprentice, and eventual falling out. Plagueis' story is truly a tragedy, for the Sith lord has the ambition, know-how, and financial means to set up the Grand Plan, but is unable to see it through. From Episode III, we know that Plagueis sought control over life and death, and in the end was able to save others, but not himself.

    The biggest shortcoming of the book for me was the fact that not enough attention was paid to Plagueis' pursuit of immortality. By the time we are given any insight into Plagueis' experiments with midi-chlorian manipulation, the spotlight has turned in favor of Sidious. Much of what we are told is done through flashback, and brief ones at that. This is a shame since the power over life and death was central to the intrigue behind Darth Plagueis (and central to Anakin's fall to the dark side).

    Fortunately, even if the pursuit of immortality where removed entirely from the book, we would still have a great story on our hands. Star Wars: Darth Plagueis is an amazing prequel to the Star Wars films, as we are able to see the full extent of careful planning and manipulation behind the series of events leading up to the Clone Wars and fall of the Republic. The cast of characters is broad with a number of memorable cameos, including Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Qui-Gon Jinn, Master Sifo-Dyas, Padme Amidala, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker, among others. Unlike a lot of Star Wars books, there aren't a whole lot of action-packed lightsaber duels, but when the action does come around, it is memorable.

    In conclusion, this is a fun read for any Star Wars fan, particularly those with an interest in the backstory of Darth Sidious and the behind-the-scenes events taking place to set up the fall of the Jedi and the Republic in Episodes I-III.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    It sounds great! but.....

    I read and loved the whole Darth Bane series and was looking forward to a Darth Plagueis book but I was under the impression that they would make a Darth Zannah book, then a book about her successor, etc. and work there way down to Darth Plagueis! Was I wrong? Why aren't they doing that?

    9 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Skip it.

    Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to be forsaken half way through, relegated to a secondary character.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    A so so star wars book.

    As soon as I knew this book was out I was excited about it. I read the Darth Bane series and I loved it and I was hoping the Darth Plagueis book would be similar. It was not. The story is more about political drama then anything and if you are not into that I would not read this book. The political drama makes the book more on the slow side. The title of the book is Darth Plagueis yet half way through the book they concentrate more on Darth Sidious then Plagueis, which is rather annoying. I think the book either needed to be a series or longer so the author could of gave more time into developing the character of Darth Plagueis and then moved on to Darth Sidioius slower then this book does. Over all die hard Star Wars fans will probably enjoy this book but if you do not like slow reads I would pass on it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great story

    How true Star Wars fans could not enjoy this is beyond me. When Palpatine utters those words "not from a jedi" I was dying for the backstory. Well here it is and it was very good. Parents please stop letting your 8 year old make reviews.
    4/5 1 star off for the whole force/Anakin lead in.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Could've been called "The Rise of Palpatine"

    Although the title of the book would have you thinking that it was mainly about Darth Plagueis, I feel he was really used in a supportive role. I was hoping for more info about the Force, and midi-chlorian manipulation, but it played a very small part. The book focuses mainly on Palpatine, and some on Darth Maul. Much of the book also focuses on the political world of the Galactic Senate. I think it spanned too many years, sometimes taking 10 "standard year" jumps between chapters. I feel it would have better been suited to keep to a smaller time-span, and maybe some follow up books would have been possible.

    In the end, it was an OK storyline, weaving some backstory into the prequel films.

    I thought Daniel Davis was a terrific narrator for this book, and je had me imagining the characters as they appeared and sounded in the movies.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!

    Very good book that brings the background of the Emperor into light. Shows us the origin of Darth Sidious and he came to power and manipulated events that led to the eventual Clone Wars and fall of Anakin Skywalker to Darth Vader. A must read for any Star Wars fan.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Very interesting-well placed events

    I can't imagine trying to fit events in with a movie (The Phantom Menace: Star Wars Episode 1) and with three books; Darth Maul: Saboteur, The Cloak of Deception, and Darth Maul: Shadow Hunter. James Luceno did an admirible job of keeping the originals in place and introducing the behind the scenes machinations implied in the opening paragraph of the episode one movie. Although at times the book seems more a political/economic story rather than Star Wars it does fill in blanks and hints at possible origins of Anakin. Another book perhaps in the works? Darth Plagueis in Exile???

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ohhhhhhh yeah

    You cant help but buy this

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Clarifying

    I found this book to fill alot of plot-holes from the movies and give a great explaintion of how all of the events unfolded. And it explains Syfo-dios

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Recommended Read

    I absolutely loved this book. I thought Luceno did a great job transitioning between the different time periods and combining it with other events taking place at the same time but from a different perspective. I loved that we got more of Palpatine's backstory.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the rise and fall of darth plagueis the wise

    this book is going to be amazing this will be the best stand alone novel ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Fantastic lead-up to Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. When this bo

    Fantastic lead-up to Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. When this book was first released I read it within a matter of days and have since been reading it again to re-live the intriguing story of Darth Plaguies the wise. I was really impressed with how well James Luceno incorporated material and cannon from previous books on the Sith (particularly the Darth Bane series) in order to give you a sense of continuity in the initial plan set in motion by Darth Bane himself. The intelligent writing and knowledge that Luceno has on the galaxy as a whole helps this novel have a real Star Wars 'feel' about it, where others before and after it have failed to capture that atmosphere.
    At times the book can be a little slow, and you may find yourself thinking, if only slightly, "Where is this going?", but ultimately it is all relevant in some way.
    The details matter a lot for me in this book and it does a fantastic job of tying up loose ends here and there in the periods set before and around the first three movies. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    "Ranks up there {{"WHERE?"}} ┬┐*I'm GETTING TO THAT!!*┬┐Next to [ZAHN?]'s best stuff!!!"

    "I've been an admirer of J.L.'s since before I even knew I was reading his work!" •]|[• You Should Look Up His Pseudonym(sp?) To See What I"m Talkin' 'bout Here! •]|[• ………… Rogue al'Thor? @ X-BoxLive? …………

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    It sounds o.k.

    Could be exciting who knows? Could be bad

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Too Much Politics, Not Enough Action

    “Somewhere a fan shouted ‘Give us more politics!’ and James Luceno listened.”

    It can’t be over emphasized enough that there is a lot of politics in this book. If Shadow Games was the mystery thriller of the EU, then Darth Plagueis is the political thriller. Never before have I read a Star Wars book that focused so much on politics. When it's said that nearly every group gets a political angle in this book, it's not far from the truth. Darth Plagueis includes Gran politics, Hutt politics, Muun politics, Naboo politics, Trade Federation politics, Senate politics, Outer Rim politics, Core politics, Jedi politics, and of course Sith politics. The book covers the time from Plagueis’ rise to Sith mastery all the way to the last scene in Episode I: The Phantom Menace. In between those points is a long build up of political maneuvering to place the Sith’s Grand Plan into its final stages.

    In between chapters of politics, there are a few moments of action in the book. Darth Plagueis and his apprentice Darth Sidious did not ascend to power without a few hiccups that required some slaughtering here and there. Yet these moments are like islands in a sea.

    The biggest flaw with this book is just how much time is spent on lore and politics. It all comes at an expense of action and there is a serious lack of exciting or even dramatic scenes. Small things like Sith powers don’t get much attention. Plagueis and Sidious do exhibit their Force powers in a few scenes, but it was a bit underwhelming. For Maul fans who saw the back cover, don’t expect to see him in action showing off how awesome he is. For fans who are expecting to see Plagueis in all his mythic glory, be prepared to see only a few moments of that glory, and a whole lot of mundane events. Sidious gets the same treatment. They each have their moments, and they each get overwhelmed in a lot of plotting.

    Darth Plagueis did a great job at filling in a huge gap leading up to The Phantom Menace. It filled in a ton of lore for the Expanded Universe. It would make a great ‘Essential Guide’ type book due to the huge amount of info in the novel. However, it doesn’t have the level of excitement, thrill, or drama to entertain a reader from cover to cover.

    If you’re looking for a thrilling Star Wars novel, this isn’t the book you’re looking for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Decent, but complicated.

    Great for learning the politics and economy of the Old Republic. Although a good book, i was sorely disappointed on how the author tried so hard to make the book more complicated than it had to be; not only by using words nobody knows the meaning of, but by also using references you wouldnt know about (unless by googling.)

    Through all that, i found the book good, but less enjoyable than it could have been; and instead found myself trying to hurry through it to learn about the story of the 2 Darths involved because of its complexity and fluff. If not for my Nook, it would have been unreadable. Recommended only if you truly want to learn pre-chancellor Palpatine.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Sdhgtdhjqndxvsnbdhwhajsbdhendyansdyd

    Sucked

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A MUST READ FOR ANY STAR WARS FAN!!!

    This is The best Star Wars book I have read following the Thrwan Trilogy. The ability of James Luceno to write a back story about Darth Plagueis from a 2 minute segment from one of the movies is hands down phenomenal.
    I agree with those that have said that they would have liked to read more about how Plagueis was attempting to manipulate the midi-chlorians to create and sustain life, but I thought that everything was very well written. To see how Plagueis came to be a Sith master and succumb to Sidious at the end of his reign; the ability of the two of them to manipulate their way into greater power in the senate and the dark side; how Sidious overthrew The Rule of Two that Plagueis wanted to reestablish; all the plot lines, twists and turns had me riveted from cover to cover.
    Anyone who thinks that there wasn't enough character development in this story isn't a true Star Wars fan and wouldn't be able to follow along because they don't understand how these types of characters and the Star Wars universe is created.
    I would recommend this book to anyone that knows Star Wars or anyone else for that matter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12