Customer Reviews for

Star Wars: Darth Plagueis

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Prequel to the Phantom Menace

It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidio...
It's amazing how a single reference to Darth Plagueis in Episode III can lead to a tale of this magnitude. I've had this book on my radar for a while now and it does not disappoint-- for the most part.

Despite the title, this book is just as much about Darth Sidious as it is Darth Plagueis, delving into the backstory of their first meeting, upbringing as Master and Apprentice, and eventual falling out. Plagueis' story is truly a tragedy, for the Sith lord has the ambition, know-how, and financial means to set up the Grand Plan, but is unable to see it through. From Episode III, we know that Plagueis sought control over life and death, and in the end was able to save others, but not himself.

The biggest shortcoming of the book for me was the fact that not enough attention was paid to Plagueis' pursuit of immortality. By the time we are given any insight into Plagueis' experiments with midi-chlorian manipulation, the spotlight has turned in favor of Sidious. Much of what we are told is done through flashback, and brief ones at that. This is a shame since the power over life and death was central to the intrigue behind Darth Plagueis (and central to Anakin's fall to the dark side).

Fortunately, even if the pursuit of immortality where removed entirely from the book, we would still have a great story on our hands. Star Wars: Darth Plagueis is an amazing prequel to the Star Wars films, as we are able to see the full extent of careful planning and manipulation behind the series of events leading up to the Clone Wars and fall of the Republic. The cast of characters is broad with a number of memorable cameos, including Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Qui-Gon Jinn, Master Sifo-Dyas, Padme Amidala, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker, among others. Unlike a lot of Star Wars books, there aren't a whole lot of action-packed lightsaber duels, but when the action does come around, it is memorable.

In conclusion, this is a fun read for any Star Wars fan, particularly those with an interest in the backstory of Darth Sidious and the behind-the-scenes events taking place to set up the fall of the Jedi and the Republic in Episodes I-III.

posted by PhileasFogg on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Skip it.

Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to b...
Shallow character development, lack of detail, and overall shallow writing combine to make this novel a tedious chore to get through. The over-vilified character of Palpatine deserved more attention than Luceno spent on him and the actual namesake of the book seems to be forsaken half way through, relegated to a secondary character.

posted by Mattias on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!

    Very good book that brings the background of the Emperor into light. Shows us the origin of Darth Sidious and he came to power and manipulated events that led to the eventual Clone Wars and fall of Anakin Skywalker to Darth Vader. A must read for any Star Wars fan.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ohhhhhhh yeah

    You cant help but buy this

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Clarifying

    I found this book to fill alot of plot-holes from the movies and give a great explaintion of how all of the events unfolded. And it explains Syfo-dios

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Recommended Read

    I absolutely loved this book. I thought Luceno did a great job transitioning between the different time periods and combining it with other events taking place at the same time but from a different perspective. I loved that we got more of Palpatine's backstory.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the rise and fall of darth plagueis the wise

    this book is going to be amazing this will be the best stand alone novel ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    "Ranks up there {{"WHERE?"}} ┬┐*I'm GETTING TO THAT!!*┬┐Next to [ZAHN?]'s best stuff!!!"

    "I've been an admirer of J.L.'s since before I even knew I was reading his work!" •]|[• You Should Look Up His Pseudonym(sp?) To See What I"m Talkin' 'bout Here! •]|[• ………… Rogue al'Thor? @ X-BoxLive? …………

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A MUST READ FOR ANY STAR WARS FAN!!!

    This is The best Star Wars book I have read following the Thrwan Trilogy. The ability of James Luceno to write a back story about Darth Plagueis from a 2 minute segment from one of the movies is hands down phenomenal.
    I agree with those that have said that they would have liked to read more about how Plagueis was attempting to manipulate the midi-chlorians to create and sustain life, but I thought that everything was very well written. To see how Plagueis came to be a Sith master and succumb to Sidious at the end of his reign; the ability of the two of them to manipulate their way into greater power in the senate and the dark side; how Sidious overthrew The Rule of Two that Plagueis wanted to reestablish; all the plot lines, twists and turns had me riveted from cover to cover.
    Anyone who thinks that there wasn't enough character development in this story isn't a true Star Wars fan and wouldn't be able to follow along because they don't understand how these types of characters and the Star Wars universe is created.
    I would recommend this book to anyone that knows Star Wars or anyone else for that matter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    My favorite SW novel to date. Mr. Luceno is a phenomenal writer.

    My favorite SW novel to date. Mr. Luceno is a phenomenal writer. cloak of deception , labrynth of evil , phantom menace and dark lord : rise of darth vader were all phenomenal !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Great book, one of the best Star Wars books yet!

    Great book, one of the best Star Wars books yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Darth plaguies

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!!!!##########

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Great.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Fan since 7

    Those who want to know what happens in between movies willreally enjoy this one. Zahn and Luceno are two authors who know how to tie events together in ways that make sense and keep star wars story fans interested. After you read this you will wish phantom menace had included more parts of this book. This one is worth every minute. Give us some.more like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Excellent

    This was, in my opinion, an exccellent book. I was astonished at how, despite this being a book focused almost solely on politics, I actually enjoyed it, even though I normally have no patience for politicians, or politics in general, if I must be honest. There was a little bit of Sith history inside it, though, mentioning semi-regularly the "rise" of Darth Gravid to the Light Side.
    There were, however, a few fight scenes. They are few and far between, but nevertheless memorable.
    I also enjoyed having some insight into the psychology ofvthe Sith. I feel as though, at last, I understand their mindset, and it, in places, at least, seems that, in some perverse way, they genuinely believe that they are helping the galaxy, or at least trying to show the galaxy what they believe to be the truth.
    I was actually surprised, but nevertheless pleased, to see Luceno give so much attention to Palpatine, from his 'emancipation' to his swift fall to the Dark Side to his eventual and subtle seizing of power in the Senate and the similarly eventual, but brutal seizing of power from Plagueis.
    Overall, this is an excellent book, with a complex and intriguing plot. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in Star Wars, and, more specifically, its politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Worth buying

    Could b a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Have you ever heard the tragic of darth plaguis the wise?

    Great story the best from the author and this book is so mindblowing i suggust readding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Darth Plaguis was awesome, this book was devious yet exciting, n

    Darth Plaguis was awesome, this book was devious yet exciting, never knew what to expect, but it answered some of the mysteries of starwars classic era legend

    mikegreene2323

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Must read

    Every Star Wars fan must read this book. Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Test me

    Ask me any Star Wars question and I can probably answer it correctly. BTW, Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    To below

    Yo we geeks r bein allways made fun of. Dont know why cuz without us there wouldin be a NOOK! SO BACK OFF CUZ WE MADE COD o_O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7